Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby andrewheredia » Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:29 am

JohnChodera wrote:Thanks for the report!

The relevant errors are these:
Code: Select all
02:37:25:WU02:FS01:0x22:ERROR:exception: Error compiling kernel:

and one I haven't seen before:
Code: Select all
00:39:26:WU02:FS01:0x22:ERROR:exception: Error uploading array numGroupTiles: clEnqueueWriteBuffer (-5)

The OpenCL -5 error is CL_OUT_OF_RESOURCES. Most likely that means you don't have enough video memory for this project (keeping in mind that it has to be shared with all other applications that are running).

Any chance something else is running at the same time that could be taking up a substantial chunk of memory?

~ John Chodera // MSKCC


Hi John,

I only have a 3cx server running which is hardly graphics intensive and no other programs. It is essentially just a background PC running my telephones.

Thanks
andrewheredia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 3:39 am

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby toTOW » Sun Aug 23, 2020 11:47 am

Is GPUZ showing a proper support of OpenCL ?

Is the GPU able to run some stress test (OCCT GPU, Furmark, ...) ?
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby andrewheredia » Sun Aug 23, 2020 11:28 pm

ill check gpuz etc and post info.

its the weekend and this is a pc at work
andrewheredia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 3:39 am

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby PantherX » Mon Aug 24, 2020 6:47 am

andrewheredia wrote:...its the weekend and this is a pc at work

Since it is a work computer which you don't own, please ensure that you have permission (generally written) from the person who's authorized to make decisions on what applications you can run on the work system. This is done to comply with the EULA and to prevent issues at work (i.e. in some cases, running software without correct authorization has led to job loss).
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby andrewheredia » Tue Aug 25, 2020 12:48 am

PantherX wrote:
andrewheredia wrote:...its the weekend and this is a pc at work

Since it is a work computer which you don't own, please ensure that you have permission (generally written) from the person who's authorized to make decisions on what applications you can run on the work system. This is done to comply with the EULA and to prevent issues at work (i.e. in some cases, running software without correct authorization has led to job loss).



Hehehe

It is my workplace so its my computer and i'm the owner. But I appreciate the double check
andrewheredia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 3:39 am

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby PantherX » Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:36 am

andrewheredia wrote:...Hehehe

It is my workplace so its my computer and i'm the owner. But I appreciate the double check

:lol:

That's wicked! It is way more common for us to encounter an employee rather than an employer on the forums. You're the second person that I have dealt with here who owns their own business and choose to contribute the system for F@H 8-)
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby andrewheredia » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:11 am

I ran OCCT

3d test had thousands of errors
Power test was fine
Mem test crashed

Im guessing my GPU is fkked?

I have a server PC that has 2 xeons, 1x RTX 1660 and a RX550 all F@H
I have my 3cx PC which has a low level Ryzen 5 with the failing GPU in this forum which I will probably change now to another rx550 or a GTX 550 which i also have spare.
I also have my personal work PC that is a Ryzen 5 2600 with a GTX 1070 and an RX550 all F@H

I have other PCs at work, but haven't gotten them to fold as yet as I usually power them off at night (does F@H prevent automatic shutdowns?)

Thanks
andrewheredia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 3:39 am

Re: Gefore GTX 970 Bad work unit

Postby PantherX » Fri Aug 28, 2020 4:54 am

andrewheredia wrote:...I have other PCs at work, but haven't gotten them to fold as yet as I usually power them off at night (does F@H prevent automatic shutdowns?)...

AFAIK, by default, F@H will not interfere with a shutdown schedule but it does mean that science is slowing down. Not sure how you have scheduled your shutdown. If it based on idle activity, then with CPU/GPU folding, I don't think that it will be triggered as F@H would be running. Maybe you can test it on a single system and see what happens :)
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Previous

Return to Issues with a specific WU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sogou [Spider] and 1 guest

cron