folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:34 pm

Hi

I've been running FAH for six months without any problem. Since 08/25/2020 the client doesn't run. I tried to uninstall and install FAH but with no success.
I use Windows 10 Enterprise. I think (fear) a Windows update may be the problem.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby PantherX » Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:30 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum Attila1415,

Can you please post the log file? Ensure you include the first 100 lines which will inform us of what the system configuration is and what the client settings are. If you require guidance, please view this topic: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=26036

The most likely issue caused by Windows Update would be the GPU Slot failing to fold. The solution would be to download the latest drivers from AMD/Nvidia (depending on your GPU Model) and then you should be able to fold again.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:34 pm

Thank you to reply to my question. I try to find the log file.
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:41 pm

This is my log file:

*********************** Log Started 2020-08-28T18:36:29Z ***********************
18:36:29:Trying to access database...
18:36:29:Successfully acquired database lock
18:36:29:Read GPUs.txt
18:36:29:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:1 (not configured)
18:36:30:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Gen9/GT2 [HD Graphics 520] 346 (not configured)
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:48 pm

Please pardon me for my poor knowledge, but how can I update the drivers from AMD/Nvidia?
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby PantherX » Fri Aug 28, 2020 8:12 pm

Okay, the log file shows that the client is "waiting" for you to configure it. You can do that by either opening up Advanced Control (AKA FAHControl) or Web Control (https://client.foldingathome.org/)

In this particular case, your system doesn't have a dedicated GPU from AMD or Nvidia. It has an integrated GPU which is made by Intel (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/h ... -520.c2783). Thus, you will not be able to fold on that GPU right now. Currently, development is investigating the feasibility to use integrated GPU but no decision has been reached nor is there an ETA for that.

For your GPU Slot, you will need to ensure that it doesn't start folding by following these instructions:
Opening up Advanced Control (AKA FAHControl)
Clicking on Configure
Click on Slots tab
Selecting the GPU slot
Clicking on Edit
Add the following Extra slot options:
Name is "pause-on-start" and the value is "true"
Clicking on OK
Clicking on Save

The reason your client has detected that GPU even though it won't fold right now is because the existing system being used doesn't have a development environment so only a handful of those were enabled for development to test which unfortunately had an impact on existing donors. Apologies for the inconvenience :(
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 8:32 pm

Thank you very much for your thorough explanation. I try to follow it.
I opened Advanced Control (FAHControl.lnk) but under Configure I see only this: "Client: local Connection Inactive" and a "Connection" tab only. I don't see the Stots tab.
I think the client is running, because in Task Manager I see a "FAHClient.exe".
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby PantherX » Fri Aug 28, 2020 8:42 pm

What happens when you click on the link above for Web Control?

If you can see FAHClient.exe then FAHControl should be able to connect to it unless, you have some firewall application preventing it.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:45 pm

When I click Web Control (https://client.foldingathome.org), I see this:
"Connecting to your Folding@home client
Need help?"
etc.
I tried to shut down the firewall:
Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Windows Defender Firewall:
Domain networks: off
Private networks: off
Guest or public networks: off
But it doesn't help, under Advanced Control/Configure I see only this: "Client: local Connection Inactive"
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby PantherX » Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:50 pm

Humm.. would it be possible for you to uninstall the client and during the process, select the option to delete the data files. Then perform a fresh installation with all the defaults using the latest installer from here: https://foldingathome.org/#downloads
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Knish » Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:52 pm

can you double check control panel > System and Security
under Windows Defender Firewall click on 'Allow an App through Windows Firewall'
and make sure the entry for 'fahclient' has checkmarks for both public and private
Knish
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:20 am

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 11:14 pm

I see the the followings:

Allow apps to communicate through Windows Defender Firewall:
fahclient (checked): Domain=checked, Private=checked, Public=checked, Group Policy=No
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Knish » Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:53 am

another detail that gets a few people is that every once in a while, your system must be connected to the internet when FAH starts otherwise you run into similar looking connectivity symptoms. I have a rig on wifi, so this gets me about every month after a windows update. This week I was able to just right click and terminate fah, connect my wifi, then restart fah and all was good again.
Knish
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:20 am

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby Attila1415 » Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:44 am

Thank you.
I don't say that my wifi is absolute stable but I do have connection when I try to start FAH.
Another thing: In Advanced Control/Configure there is not much to alter but the Port is editable. Might the Port=36330 be wrong here?
Attila1415
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:09 pm

Re: folding@home client doesn't run on windows 10

Postby PantherX » Mon Aug 31, 2020 9:06 am

Attila1415 wrote:... Might the Port=36330 be wrong here?

That's the default port.

Have you tried to fully uninstall (including the step to select the option to delete the data) and then a fresh installation with the default settings?

Also, how many user accounts do you have on your system?
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Next

Return to Issues with a specific WU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron