website down

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: website down

Postby davidcoton » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:08 pm

Here's my trace (Windows)
Code: Select all
C:\Users\David>tracert folding.stanford.edu

Tracing route to www-v6.stanford.edu [171.67.215.200]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  fritz.box [192.168.1.1]
  2    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  85-210-160-1.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com [85.210.160.
1]
  3    18 ms    18 ms    17 ms  85-210-251-128.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com [85.210.25
1.128]
  4    19 ms    18 ms    19 ms  85-210-251-153.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com [85.210.25
1.153]
  5    20 ms    22 ms    22 ms  host-78-144-1-10.as13285.net [78.144.1.10]
  6    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  host-78-144-0-166.as13285.net [78.144.0.166]
  7    23 ms    24 ms    25 ms  v209.core1.lon1.he.net [216.66.84.213]
  8    22 ms    24 ms    24 ms  10ge3-1.core1.lon2.he.net [72.52.92.222]
  9    93 ms    84 ms    90 ms  100ge1-1.core1.nyc4.he.net [72.52.92.166]
 10   103 ms   101 ms   110 ms  100ge7-2.core1.chi1.he.net [184.105.223.161]
 11   165 ms   154 ms   153 ms  10ge11-4.core1.pao1.he.net [184.105.222.173]
 12   155 ms   153 ms   154 ms  stanford-university.10gigabitethernet1-4.core1.p
ao1.he.net [216.218.209.118]
 13   157 ms   157 ms   157 ms  boundarya-rtr.Stanford.EDU [68.65.168.33]
 14   157 ms   157 ms   157 ms  west-rtr-vlan8.SUNet [171.64.255.193]
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16   158 ms   157 ms   157 ms  www.Stanford.EDU [171.67.215.200]

Trace complete.


David
Image
davidcoton
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: website down

Postby davidcoton » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:12 pm

And here's Linux (where connection works)
Code: Select all
david@david-Ubuntu:~$ traceroute folding.stanford.edu
traceroute to folding.stanford.edu (171.67.215.200), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  fritz.box (192.168.1.1)  0.688 ms  0.770 ms  0.871 ms
 2  85-210-160-1.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com (85.210.160.1)  16.871 ms  17.779 ms  20.255 ms
 3  85-210-251-128.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com (85.210.251.128)  23.246 ms  24.187 ms  26.041 ms
 4  85-210-251-145.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com (85.210.251.145)  27.516 ms  28.837 ms 85-210-251-129.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com (85.210.251.129)  30.033 ms
 5  host-78-144-1-22.as13285.net (78.144.1.22)  34.859 ms host-78-144-1-44.as13285.net (78.144.1.44)  33.484 ms host-78-144-1-24.as13285.net (78.144.1.24)  35.337 ms
 6  host-78-144-10-229.as13285.net (78.144.10.229)  38.777 ms host-78-144-11-11.as13285.net (78.144.11.11)  29.736 ms host-78-144-10-229.as13285.net (78.144.10.229)  33.455 ms
 7  v209.core1.lon1.he.net (216.66.84.213)  43.253 ms host-78-144-10-62.as13285.net (78.144.10.62)  21.843 ms host-78-144-10-58.as13285.net (78.144.10.58)  22.747 ms
 8  v209.core1.lon1.he.net (216.66.84.213)  22.171 ms  27.620 ms  27.627 ms
 9  100ge1-1.core1.nyc4.he.net (72.52.92.166)  99.190 ms  89.159 ms 10ge3-1.core1.lon2.he.net (72.52.92.222)  19.274 ms
10  100ge1-1.core1.nyc4.he.net (72.52.92.166)  85.299 ms  88.410 ms 100ge7-2.core1.chi1.he.net (184.105.223.161)  109.747 ms
11  100ge7-2.core1.chi1.he.net (184.105.223.161)  109.758 ms 10ge11-4.core1.pao1.he.net (184.105.222.173)  167.276 ms 100ge7-2.core1.chi1.he.net (184.105.223.161)  110.401 ms
12  stanford-university.10gigabitethernet1-4.core1.pao1.he.net (216.218.209.118)  163.695 ms  168.261 ms 10ge11-4.core1.pao1.he.net (184.105.222.173)  167.264 ms
13  stanford-university.10gigabitethernet1-4.core1.pao1.he.net (216.218.209.118)  167.241 ms boundarya-rtr.Stanford.EDU (68.65.168.33)  160.804 ms  162.699 ms
14  boundarya-rtr.Stanford.EDU (68.65.168.33)  160.997 ms  162.525 ms west-rtr-vlan8.SUNet (171.64.255.193)  166.825 ms
15  * * *
16  www.Stanford.EDU (171.67.215.200)  160.081 ms  157.792 ms  161.769 ms

I hope someone can see a significant difference :?

David
davidcoton
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: website down

Postby 7im » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:19 pm

You are getting to the same place on both computers.

www.Stanford.EDU [171.67.215.200]

No network problems between you and Stanford. Seems like a browser issue.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: website down

Postby Justin » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:31 pm

David,

I am using Firefox and just did a Ctrl + F5 to refresh the browser window when it failed yesterday !
Justin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: website down

Postby davidcoton » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:46 pm

Justin wrote:David,

I am using Firefox and just did a Ctrl + F5 to refresh the browser window when it failed yesterday !


That worked for me too (also Firefox).
Some issue on Windows Firefox (Vista 32bit in my case)?
Did anyone have problems with anything else?
Did anyone NOT have a problem with Firefox on Windows?

David
davidcoton
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: website down

Postby Justin » Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:02 pm

Windows 7 here.
Justin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: website down

Postby k1wi » Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:31 am

It was working in IE, ctrl-F5 took two goes to fix it in FF (looked like the css was still broken after the first refresh).

Weird.
k1wi
 
Posts: 1322
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Previous

Return to Issues with this forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron