New RTX3xxx cards

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby JohnChodera » Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:41 pm

> Hopefully the developers figure out a way to multitask large work units on large GPUs in the folding core so we won't have to manually use virtualization for that. They've already started discussing it on the OpenMM GitHub.

We're indeed looking into this!

~ John Chodera // MSKCC
User avatar
JohnChodera
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby MeeLee » Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:28 pm

John, the 3090 has a out 2,5x the core count of a 2080Ti, and about 7x the core count of a 1660Ti.
Nvidia isn't finished yet, they announced in their video they want to see holograms possible in a few years. That means, they're going to up the tensor core counts drastically, using a matrix design.. I know fah doesn't use tensor cores (half precision), however, if those matrices can still somehow be used in fah, they could seriously speed up folding.
Perhaps using tensor cores to calculate relative position of atoms that matter least in a folding process, and focus full or double precision calculations on the areas of interest of the cluster?
I don't know.. but I think those tensor cores contain massive computational power, and it would be nice if fah was able to harvest it!
MeeLee
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby markdotgooley » Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:42 pm

I was under the impression that Ampere tensor hardware has some FP32 and FP64 units. Or am I confused?
markdotgooley
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:46 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby ap1978 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:22 am

ap1978
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:53 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby MeeLee » Tue Sep 08, 2020 8:53 pm

markdotgooley wrote:I was under the impression that Ampere tensor hardware has some FP32 and FP64 units. Or am I confused?

They have. And they're rated as such (30Tflops on a 3080).
However, that same 3080, produces almost 240 Tops on the Tensor cores (163 Tops on the 3070).
The 3090, being only 6Tflops faster than the 3080 at 36 Tflops, delivers a whopping 285 Tensor Tops.
It seems Nvidia keeps their tensor cores at a ratio of 8:1 with FP32 cores on those RTX 3000 series GPUs.

If you could compare the workload that can be done on a single 3090, to a modern day 1060, the 3090 is faster than 8x 1060 GPUs.
If you'd just use the 3090's Tensor cores, it's faster than 65x 1060 GPUs using only cuda cores.
And that's without their regular CUDA cores active!

I have never even seen a bitcoin mining farm of 65x 1060 GPUs!

I know FAH said they don't use 8 and 16 bit (half and quarter precision), but I'm wondering if 32 and 64 bit precision is really necessary for an entire molecule, running only a fraction of a second of video footage.
Like with COVID, researchers were only interested in a few specific focal points of the virus.
All the rest is just blobbing around, and could easily be calculated at a lower precision IMHO...
MeeLee
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:09 am

MeeLee wrote:...but I'm wondering if 32 and 64 bit precision is really necessary for an entire molecule, running only a fraction of a second of video footage.
Like with COVID, researchers were only interested in a few specific focal points of the virus.
All the rest is just blobbing around, and could easily be calculated at a lower precision IMHO...

I would actually argue that we need more precision as that's a more realistic simulation. In the early days, F@H used single precision as that was "good enough" for their work. As time moved on, using double precision was too costly since consumer GPUs don't have that level of performance and professional GPUs are too expensive. Thus, a balance was struck between the single and double to ensure that we get the best of both worlds, i.e. consumer GPUs can be used while still maintaining the scientific accuracy required (https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 5512003098).

Of course, I am not a researcher but that's an educated guess based on what I have read so far and my understanding (happy to be corrected and learn more about it).
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6591
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby gunnarre » Tue Sep 15, 2020 4:38 pm

gunnarre wrote:Ryan Smith of AnandTech reports that all GA10x processors have SR-IOV enabled. If that's correct, then all 3000 series GPUs will actually support vGPU. In other words, you'll be able to segment the GPU into several virtual machines - not just pass through the whole card to a virtual machine.

Unfortunately, while the RTX-3000 cards support SR-IOV in hardware, it will be disabled in the driver. They had enabled SR-IOV by mistake. Nvidia will only support vGPU in the enterprise cards. Source https://twitter.com/RyanSmithAT/status/ ... 0140964864

Passing through the whole GPU will still work though.
Image
gunnarre
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby markdotgooley » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:32 pm

Is anyone here buying a 3080 early on? What would be needed to get it to fold?
markdotgooley
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:46 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby gunnarre » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:48 pm

It needs driver support, and it has to be added to GPUS.txt by the developers/server managers after we find out what the device IDs for the 3080 cards are. Presumably Nvidia already has support for the card in the drivers. If we're lucky enough that the developers have a 3080 under Non Disclosure Agreement then you'd just have to delete the GPUS.txt file and restart the client. If not, please find the device ID for your new 3080 like this:

viewtopic.php?f=83&t=26208#p262894

and submit a whitelist request here:

viewforum.php?f=83

For the 3080 to become an efficent folder, though, the OpenMM project needs to figure out a way to run several WUs on the same card in some way. Otherwise the 3080 is going to be under-utilized on lower atom count molecules. If you want to play CP2077 and fold at the same time that should work fine though.
Last edited by gunnarre on Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gunnarre
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby rickoic » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:49 pm

markdotgooley wrote:Is anyone here buying a 3080 early on? What would be needed to get it to fold?



Get it added to the whitelist.
I'm folding because Dec 2005 I had radical prostate surgery.
Lost brother to spinal cancer, brother-in-law to prostate cancer.
Several 1st cousins lost and a few who have survived.
rickoic
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby ajm » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:51 pm

viewtopic.php?p=342723#p342723

toTOW wrote:
rbpeake wrote:Off topic, but how long will it take to whitelist the GeForce RTX 3080 Ampere after it is released on September 17th?

I already got the required data from NV, but they requested that FAH follows the same NDA as reviews, so the new GPUs will be supported by FAH on release. :)
ajm
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby toTOW » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:09 pm

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby MeeLee » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:56 am

Question is if there will be good WUs available for that GPU.

And if we can predict Nvidia's next move is either a minor optimization (kind of like the Super GPUs were on the 2000 series), and after that, 33-45% higher performance/core count when they drop to 7nm or 6nm.
MeeLee
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby Mxyzptlk » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:43 am

Well... I dabbled at trying to get a 3080 ordered this morning. Yeah, that didn't work out with the websites crashing and apparently low supply... o-well TIme is on my side for getting one at some point.
(2) Amd 2700X’s / (1) AMD 3900X / 2060 Super / 2060 / (2) 2070 Super
Mxyzptlk
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:55 pm
Location: California

Re: New RTX3xxx cards

Postby HaloJones » Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:05 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJBggUfYozY

very good video explaining how the capability of a core and therefore what can be called a core has changed since Fermi.

basically in the beginning a CUDA core could do either INT or FP, then it could sort of do both, now the INT path can also do FP so each core has two FP paths, so NVidia have called what used to be one core two cores. This is not SMT. Each physical core has two separate parallel paths which can now both do FP32 hence why they are being double counted.

I can't wait to see if this is actually beneficial and whether FAH can make use of the immensely wide chip that Ampere appears to be.
1x Titan X, 5x 1070, 1x 970, 1 x Ryzen 3600

Image
HaloJones
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

PreviousNext

Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron