The Titan Folds

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

The Titan Folds

Postby noobfikt » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:19 am

Screen shot of a Evga 690 and a Evga Titan Superclocked Signature.

Image

I'll update this post with more stats when I compile them.

Rough power draw numbers:
690: 350w on a 7624
Titan: 270w on a 7624
Last edited by noobfikt on Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
noobfikt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:11 pm

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby proteneer » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:36 am

Awesome!
He who has a why to live for can bear almost any how

www.proteneer.com
User avatar
proteneer
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby proteneer » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:37 am

now go run FAHBench on it !
User avatar
proteneer
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby P5-133XL » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:44 am

That is a VERY good PPD for a P7624. I am impressed how much better than the Telsa's.
Image
P5-133XL
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby Qinsp » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:38 am

Congrats!

Amazing! :cool:
Quality Inspection - Corona, CA, USA
Dimensional Inspection Laboratory
Pat McSwain, President
Qinsp
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:34 pm

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby Qinsp » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:44 am

Do they compile the FAH CPU cores with Tesla core switches?
Qinsp
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:34 pm

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby Quisarious » Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:35 am

The difference is in the drivers.
Quisarious
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:16 pm

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby noobfikt » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:01 am

proteneer wrote:now go run FAHBench on it !


It keeps crashing...

With both the 690 and titan in the computer just crashed and rebooted
With just the titan just the driver crashed 313.9
Command prompt shows:
Checking for accuracy...Error downloading array force: clEnqueueReadBuffer (-36)

I was able to get it to run for my 680 and 690

PNY GTX 680 @ Stock
Explicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
17.0189 ns/day
Implicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
88.6154 ns/day

PNY GTX 680 @ 1200
Explicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
17.0189 ns/day
Implicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
88.6154 ns/day

EVGA GTX 690 (Processor 1) @ 1058
Explicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
16.6017 ns/day
Implicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
84.2927 ns/day

EVGA GTX 690 (Processor 2) @ 1058
Explicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
16.6428 ns/day
Implicit:
Checking for accuracy...done
84.4693 ns/day
noobfikt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:11 pm

My Titan won't fold

Postby telecentricity » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:11 pm

noobfikt,
What brand of Titan did you buy? I received my Asus-branded Titan yesterday but I can't get FAH to recognize it. I assume it must be some driver problem. I am running NVidia 314.09 on Win8x64. When I type fahclient --lspci the GPU shows up, but FAHControl keeps giving me a "no more GPUs" error when I try to add it. My system was previously running a GTX 570 without any problems. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Gary
telecentricity
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:40 am

Re: My Titan won't fold

Postby Jesse_V » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:27 pm

telecentricity wrote:noobfikt,
What brand of Titan did you buy? I received my Asus-branded Titan yesterday but I can't get FAH to recognize it. I assume it must be some driver problem. I am running NVidia 314.09 on Win8x64. When I type fahclient --lspci the GPU shows up, but FAHControl keeps giving me a "no more GPUs" error when I try to add it. My system was previously running a GTX 570 without any problems. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Gary

It may need to be added to the whitelist. What's the output of --lspci? Please paste the results here in between Code tags ([code][/code]).
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2761
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: Logan, Utah, USA

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby telecentricity » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:32 pm

Jesse_V,
Thanks for the reply. I've attached the --lspci output below. I checked the whitelist and it is listed. noobfikt posted above that he is able to run it.
Gary

Code: Select all
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>fahclient --lspci
VendorID:DeviceID:Vendor Name:Description
0x8086:0x1c16:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 4 - 1C16
0x10b5:0x8608:PLX Technology, Inc.:PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
0x10b5:0x8608:PLX Technology, Inc.:PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
0x8086:0x1c1c:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 7 - 1C1C
0x8086:0x1c10:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 1 - 1C10
0x8086:0x1c18:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 5 - 1C18
0x8086:0x1c22:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMB
us Controller - 1C22
0x8086:0x1c44:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Z68 Express Chipset Family LPC Interfac
e Controller - 1C44
0x1033:0x0194:NEC Corporation:USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller
0x8086:0x150c:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 82583V Gigabit Network Connection
0x8086:0x1c02:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Desktop/Workstation/Server Express Chip
set SATA AHCI Controller
0x8086:0x1c12:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 2 - 1C12
0x197b:0x2362:JMicron Technology Corp.:JMicron JMB36X Controller
0x8086:0x0101:Intel Corporation:Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Intel(R) Core(TM) Pr
ocessor Family PCI Express Root Port - 0101
0x8086:0x1503:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
0x1033:0x0194:NEC Corporation:USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller
0x8086:0x1c20:Intel Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x8086:0x1c2d:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB
 Enhanced Host Controller - 1C2D
0x10de:0x1005:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN
0x10b5:0x8608:PLX Technology, Inc.:PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
0x1b4b:0x9182:Marvell Technology Group Ltd.:Marvell 91xx SATA 6G Controller
0x8086:0x1c14:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI
 Express Root Port 3 - 1C14
0x10de:0x0e1a:NVIDIA Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x8086:0x1c26:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB
 Enhanced Host Controller - 1C26
0x8086:0x1c3a:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Management Engine Interface
0x10b5:0x8608:PLX Technology, Inc.:PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
0x8086:0x0100:Intel Corporation:2nd Generation Intel(R) Core(TM) Processor Famil
y DRAM Controller - 0100
0x8086:0x0122:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
0x10b5:0x8608:PLX Technology, Inc.:PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge

C:\Windows\system32>
telecentricity
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:40 am

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby telecentricity » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:41 pm

I noticed that the --lspci is listed as "GeForce GTX TITAN" while the whitelist is "GeForce GTX Titan". Is the whitelist case sensitive?
telecentricity
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:40 am

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby Joe_H » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:11 pm

The whitelist is looking for a matching device ID, as I understand it the name listed is only informational. Does the GPU show up in the client log as present and supported? If not, you will need to update the GPUs.txt file. The newest versions of V7 do update it automatically, but only once a month. You can update it manually by downloading the newest one from PG, GPUs.txt and using it to replace the one in your directory. Then restart the client.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook 2.4 C2D 4 GB smp2, PowerMac G4 dual 1.73 1.5 GB (ret.)
Joe_H
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby P5-133XL » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:59 pm

Are you running your folding client as a service? Microsoft in its infinite wisdom has declared that services will not have access to the video subsystem because of security concerns. If you are running folding as a service the clients will not be able to see any GPU regardless of the content of the white-list.
P5-133XL
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: The Titan Folds

Postby bruce » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:06 pm

telecentricity wrote:I noticed that the --lspci is listed as "GeForce GTX TITAN" while the whitelist is "GeForce GTX Titan". Is the whitelist case sensitive?


The information in brackets is strictly for the human to read; the computer copies it but ignores it. The functional information is the set of numbers on the left. Change the text string to "My favorite Titan" and you'll see than in the log, but it'll still work exactly the same way.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16872
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Next

Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest