CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby foldy » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:56 pm

It really may be the GPU clock speed going down because of heat.
e.g. base clock of gtx 1080 may be 1500 Mhz but overclocked boost clock could be 2000 Mhz.
So this is a 30% difference.
foldy
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Aurum » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:37 pm

ComputerGenie wrote:
Aurum wrote:...
The downside of this MB is that they placed the M.2 SSD socket under GPU1 and it chronically overheats. I've got a 120 mm fan sitting on top of the cards blowing down but it's not enough. I have a wall of three 120 mm fans across the back of the cards as well. I'm going to try adding a fan on the side.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8YS122 << I have an "open air" rig, but I use 1 of those (plugged into MB and blowing "front to back") to cool 2 1080s in a room that sometimes hits above 90°F.
I've got some of those old AntMiner fans collecting dust, they sure were noisy. I'm thinking of something like this, a thermoelectric cooler :lol:
https://www.amazon.com/TEC1-12706-Thermoelectric-Peltier-Cooler-Volt/dp/B002UQQ3Q2/ref=sr_1_9?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1490800861&sr=1-9&keywords=thermoelectric+cooler
I cut the slats out of the mounting bracket between cards and put a second 120 mm fan on top. Problem seems to be getting air flow into the blackbody cavity where the M.2 SSD sits. So many fans may just be creating turbulence. I'm thinking maybe a fish tank air pump with the Tygon tube pointing at the SSD.
Maybe I'll wrap the M.2SSD with 12 gauge copper wire and then wrap the Cu wire around the cooling pipes of the EVO 212 :roll:
The Folding Farm Image is a member of the Image team.
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Aurum » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:58 pm

foldy wrote:It really may be the GPU clock speed going down because of heat.
e.g. base clock of gtx 1080 may be 1500 Mhz but overclocked boost clock could be 2000 Mhz.
So this is a 30% difference.
I think you're right but it's hard to monitor with GPU-Z reporting a different GPU frequency than Gigabyte Xtreme Gaming control shows, I'm going with the latter since I can see a change quickly when I apply a change.

EVGA Precision XOC is really nice because it shows all cards on a single GPU frequency graph with color-coded lines. Gigabyte shows a single screen at a time with only one card displayed.

Right now the overheating problem is so bad it turns off the rig. That's what you get with a $124 X99 mb.
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby foldy » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:43 pm

Mega folder PS3EdOlkkola recommended to build only 3 GPU PC with X99 mainboards having extra space between the pcie slots
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=28847&start=105#p292607
I don't know if you can switch your mainboard?

Did you try to set all fans to 100% or is noise a problem for you?
foldy
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby foldinghomealone » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:46 pm

Are you using the M2 SSD via PCIE although all 40 lanes are used by GPUs?
Sorry, if I don't understand properly
foldinghomealone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:07 pm

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby ComputerGenie » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:48 pm

A question that I may have missed the answer to: Is this a box rig or "open air"?
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Aurum » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:56 pm

foldy wrote:Mega folder PS3EdOlkkola recommended to build only 3 GPU PC with X99 mainboards having extra space between the pcie slots
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=28847&start=105#p292607
I don't know if you can switch your mainboard?

Did you try to set all fans to 100% or is noise a problem for you?
Mega Ed can afford to splurge, he also uses Titan X Pascal cards. I was trying to get as much PPD/rig$ as possible.
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Aurum » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:19 pm

foldinghomealone wrote:Are you using the M2 SSD via PCIE although all 40 lanes are used by GPUs?
Sorry, if I don't understand properly
The photo to right of the following description looks just like my rig but I also have a Coolmaster Hyper T4 on the CPU.
http://uk.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-X99-SLI-rev-10#ov
"3-Way / 4-Way Graphics with Premium PCIe x16 Lane Up to *320Gb/s Bandwidth
GIGABYTE X99 motherboards feature a unique PCI Express design that utilizes 100% of all 40 lanes from the CPU when in a 4-Way or 3-Way graphics configuration. Standard designs limit all 4 main PCIe lanes to x8 (64Gb/s) bandwidth, but thanks to the onboard external clock generator combined with the direct connection of one of the x16 lanes to the CPU (switchless design), GIGABYTE X99 motherboards can unlock the full bandwidth available and provide the best graphics bandwidth possible to the user."
The manual has a block diagram explaining it in more detail.

When I said "turbulence" it gave me an idea. I had the T4 fan pushing on the cooling fins but sitting in the front (front to me is the business end where you plug in cables since I do NOT use cases). I have three 120 mm fans on back of the tray blowing forward so it just made a turbulent mess back there and the card (GPU0) sitting next to the CPU was the one overheating. I just reversed the T4 fan to be a pulling fan going in the same direction as the rear fans. The temperature of the M.2SSD (still at 61C) dropped 10C :D :D :D
The CPU & MB temps dropped as well as GPU0 (which is still running 82C).
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Aurum » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:23 pm

ComputerGenie wrote:A question that I may have missed the answer to: Is this a box rig or "open air"?

I use old Lian Li MB trays to build my open-air headless multi-GPU rigs. This photo shows one mounted on top of Lian Li test bed:
https://images.bjorn3d.com/Material/revimages/case/LianLi_PCQ06/pic12.jpg
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby ComputerGenie » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:18 pm

Aurum wrote:I use old Lian Li MB trays to build my open-air headless multi-GPU rigs. This photo shows one mounted on top of Lian Li test bed:

Then are you sure that the fan on "top of the cards blowing down" isn't adding to the issue (all of my 1080s blow exhaust up sitting in that position).
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby Nathan_P » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:43 pm

ComputerGenie wrote:
Aurum wrote:I use old Lian Li MB trays to build my open-air headless multi-GPU rigs. This photo shows one mounted on top of Lian Li test bed:

Then are you sure that the fan on "top of the cards blowing down" isn't adding to the issue (all of my 1080s blow exhaust up sitting in that position).


I have to agree, after much experimentation I found that sitting a 120mm fan on top of the gpu's sucking air up from between the cards and exhausting into the open was much better.
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: CPU requirement for GPU folding (NV)

Postby foldy » Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:16 pm

As you have 4 GPUs in a row maybe a very big 230mm fan could cover all?
http://www.xoxide.com/250mm-case-fans.html
e.g. http://www.xoxide.com/bitfenix-spectrep ... black.html
(Did not try this myself)
foldy
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Previous

Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron