New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby scorpuk » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:44 am

I tried my 1080Ti in my linux server 1st, but would not recognise it to fold. So switched my Titan X Pascal to the linux server and put 1080Ti in my windows machine.

Hopefully its just a GPUs.txt problem as I am loosing ~300K PPD not being able to fold on the GTX970 in the same machine as the 1080Ti. :|



On a side note FAH on my linux box with driver 378.13 is reporting the information to the wrong card. I.e. Its saying my GTX1070 is producing ~1.3m PPD and my Titan X Pascal is producing ~600K PPD. Hmmmm :shock:
Image
scorpuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:30 pm

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby scorpuk » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:48 pm

Cheers 7im for GPUs.txt.

However still having problems.

Added the new GPUs.txt
Did a clean install of driver 378.78 with a reboot. (Just wanted to make sure)


I removed and readded my GPU's with no extra options and got the following screen:

Image


I am still folding on one card and its not telling me the correct card :!: :!: :!:


Says its folding on GTX970, but getting approx 1m PPD. I think that's the 1080Ti. :!:



Installed in my machine from device manager:
Image



Will remove the GTX970 and see what happens...


Let me know if you need any other info.


Tnx.
scorpuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:30 pm

Re: New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:46 pm

GPUs.txt got updated ... @OP: should work once your local copy of that file got refreshed ...

Option 1: stop the folding client, delete the local copy and start folding client again, that will refresh the file
Option 2: delete the software complete and reinstall. That should give the automatic hardware detection the full picture of your hardware

Viel Glück

And for your English: don't worry, I prepared them with my (lack of) English skills, they will not be shocked anymore :lol:
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:55 pm

scorpuk wrote:I tried my 1080Ti in my linux server 1st, but would not recognise it to fold. So switched my Titan X Pascal to the linux server and put 1080Ti in my windows machine.

Hopefully its just a GPUs.txt problem as I am loosing ~300K PPD not being able to fold on the GTX970 in the same machine as the 1080Ti. :|



On a side note FAH on my linux box with driver 378.13 is reporting the information to the wrong card. I.e. Its saying my GTX1070 is producing ~1.3m PPD and my Titan X Pascal is producing ~600K PPD. Hmmmm :shock:



Stop the client, delete the GPUs.txt file from /var/lib/fahclient folder and start client again, that will reload the correct file. Else you could reinstall the folding software. I have now on Linux with the new driver one 980ti and one 1080ti running.
Same process you can use on windows, I just don't know the file location by heart (somewhere in AppData)
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby bruce » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:37 pm

ChristianVirtual wrote:Same process you can use on windows, I just don't know the file location by heart (somewhere in AppData)

Yes, it's in appdata, but when FAHClient is installed on Windows, it adds a shortcut to the FAH Data Directory so you don't have to remember it.
bruce
 
Posts: 21420
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

Postby runningdodo » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:58 pm

Thanks, both of my cards are now detected and can work on workunits.

The only little bug:
"21:44:54: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
21:44:54: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
21:44:54: CPUs: 8
21:44:54: Memory: 15.96GiB
21:44:54: Free Memory: 14.15GiB
21:44:54: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
21:44:54: OS Version: 6.1
21:44:54: Has Battery: false
21:44:54: On Battery: false
21:44:54: UTC Offset: 1
21:44:54: PID: 4520
21:44:54: CWD: C:/Users/Dodo/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
21:44:54: OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
21:44:54: OS Arch: AMD64
21:44:54: GPUs: 2
21:44:54: GPU 0: NVIDIA:5 GM200 [GeForce GTX 980 Ti]
21:44:54: GPU 1: NVIDIA:5 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti]
21:44:54: CUDA: 6.1
21:44:54: CUDA Driver: 8000"

The GTX 1080 Ti works with GP102 as the Nvidia Titan X (Pascal).
runningdodo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:42 pm

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby scorpuk » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:32 pm

Now working. :D


After removing the GTX970 FAH still wasn't reporting the correct card.


After an uninstall / reinstall (removal of all data - shame was at 75%) It then recognised the 1080Ti.


Shut down and added the GTX970 back in and all looking good:

Image

:mrgreen:
scorpuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:30 pm

Re: New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

Postby 7im » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:54 pm

Yes it does. Cosmetic error only, now corrected.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby FldngForGrandparents » Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:14 am

foldy wrote:Recommend to not go over 2000 Mhz then you have enough Mhz room so the PC does not crash tomorrow, next week or next month.
2050 Mhz vs 2000 Mhz is only 2.5% difference.


But that extra 50Mhz equals out to 192700 more Mhz across the 3854 cores. That not worth it?
Image

Dedicated to my grandparents who have passed away from Alzheimer's

Dedicated folding rig on Ubuntu 14.04:
2 - GTX 980 OC +200
1 - GTX 980 Ti OC +20
4 - GTX 1070 FE OC +200
1 - GTX 1080 OC +140
1 - GTX 1080Ti OC +120
FldngForGrandparents
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:06 pm

Re: New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

Postby runningdodo » Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:19 am

Just saw that:
ChristianVirtual wrote:And for your English: don't worry, I prepared them with my (lack of) English skills, they will not be shocked anymore :lol:
:lol:
You´re giving me strength!

@7im & bruce:
Good job -- FAH Control now indicates my GTX 1080 Ti correctly.

I´m honestly impressed about the quickness of your patching/bugfixing work.
Respect :!:
runningdodo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:42 pm

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby runningdodo » Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:32 am

FldngForGrandparents wrote:
foldy wrote:Recommend to not go over 2000 Mhz then you have enough Mhz room so the PC does not crash tomorrow, next week or next month.
2050 Mhz vs 2000 Mhz is only 2.5% difference.


But that extra 50Mhz equals out to 192700 more Mhz across the 3854 cores. That not worth it?
I you´re loosing only one WU/month by overclocking a little too high, the gain of your oc will be destroyed.

If you don´t overclock @max, but a little more in the save area, i estimate, the risk of minor errors in the folded work units, the error correction routine can not detect, is far lesser.
runningdodo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:42 pm

Re: New GTX 1080 Ti folds as misdetected GTX 980 Ti

Postby bruce » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:25 pm

As I implied earlier, FAH categorizes GPUs into fairly large functional groups. If you change one GPU to two GPUs and they're in the same group, FAH will resume the active GPU with whichever one is now seen as the first GPU. Reinstalling should reconfigure everything, as it has done for you ... but you should consider the choice to FINISH the active WU before you delete everything.

FAH wasn't designed to manage changes to your hardware Sometimes it works and sometimes it needs to repeat the initial configuration processes.
bruce
 
Posts: 21420
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby 7im » Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:20 pm

FldngForGrandparents wrote:
foldy wrote:Recommend to not go over 2000 Mhz then you have enough Mhz room so the PC does not crash tomorrow, next week or next month.
2050 Mhz vs 2000 Mhz is only 2.5% difference.


But that extra 50Mhz equals out to 192700 more Mhz across the 3854 cores. That not worth it?


If you have a bus load of kids (a very long bus with 3854 seats) and you go 5 miles an hour faster to school, do you get to school 19270 times faster, or just a little bit faster?
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby FldngForGrandparents » Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:50 pm

7im wrote:
FldngForGrandparents wrote:
foldy wrote:Recommend to not go over 2000 Mhz then you have enough Mhz room so the PC does not crash tomorrow, next week or next month.
2050 Mhz vs 2000 Mhz is only 2.5% difference.


But that extra 50Mhz equals out to 192700 more Mhz across the 3854 cores. That not worth it?


If you have a bus load of kids (a very long bus with 3854 seats) and you go 5 miles an hour faster to school, do you get to school 19270 times faster, or just a little bit faster?


If you are driving 38540 miles to school yes you would.
FldngForGrandparents
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:06 pm

Re: GTX 1080 Ti

Postby ComputerGenie » Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:31 pm

FldngForGrandparents wrote:If you are driving 38540 miles to school yes you would.
Methinks the ocean creates 2.5% drag on the 3854 seat bus and makes it arrive .0002 seconds sooner.
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

PreviousNext

Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron