Dual Nvidia/Radeon Setup with an issue...

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

Dual Nvidia/Radeon Setup with an issue...

Postby avenger09123 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:30 pm

So I am having a bit of a hardware issue on mine and have a question. I am not new to F@H but now that I have rig that can actually put down some decent numbers, I figured it's time to put out the issues and see if I can get those numbers higher:

Gigabyte G1 Gaming Mobo
FX-8350 (4.0 w/ 4.2 Turbo)
4x4GB 1866 DDR3 RAM
Liquid cooled Gigabyte RX-470
Air Cooled EVGA 750Ti SC
SSD as main HD with 2x paired (striped) 500gb HDD and 1x 1TB HDD (all with page files on them)
So I have done all the updating of all the devices and the individual firmware bios settings, windows is good to go (fresh install 2 months ago etc.) and can run F@H without an issue and all drivers are updated with the latest.

However I run into something interesting. If I turn OFF my RX470 (as in remove it from the GPU slot), my EVGA 750Ti SC will get upwards of 250,000 PPD. If I have only my RX470 and turn off the 750, I get upwards of 250,000PPD. If I put them together, I have to enable OpenCL (turning it to zero) in the individual GPU settings for the RX470 to work and enable CUDA for the 750Ti (by turning it to zero) I find that the RX470 will stay at approx 250,000PPD but the 750Ti drops to around 70,000PPD.

Am I doing something wrong? Or am I not doing something I should be?

Thanks guys. I am new to this new setup though, I was using F@H back when I was a 19y/o but this is the first real power rig I've built.
avenger09123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:15 pm

Re: Dual Nvidia/Radeon Setup with an issue...

Postby Foxbat » Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:56 am

It's been awhile since I Folded with an AMD card, but if I remember, the CPU requirements for the AMD card are nothing (a few percent of a core) compared to the NVIDIA card (close to 100%). You might need to knock your CPU down to use 6 cores in the CPU slot (if you have one). Others with more experience should chime in as I'm sure I'm missing something obvious.
Image
Foxbat
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Location: Michiana, USA

Re: Dual Nvidia/Radeon Setup with an issue...

Postby HayesK » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:17 am

My overclocked 750Ti make ~80K ppd with linux client. Suspect that the 250K observed on 750Ti was the cached value from wu previously running on the RX470. When the card was removed, the wu was moved to the remaining slot and the last known ppd value will be reported at startup until enough steps (several %) have been completed to calculate current ppd.
Image
<- 20-GPUs -> folding for OCF T32 as HayesK
User avatar
HayesK
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: LaPorte, Texas

Re: Dual Nvidia/Radeon Setup with an issue...

Postby GPU timpster » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:13 pm

HayesK wrote:My overclocked 750Ti make ~80K ppd with linux client. Suspect that the 250K observed on 750Ti was the cached value from wu previously running on the RX470. When the card was removed, the wu was moved to the remaining slot and the last known ppd value will be reported at startup until enough steps (several %) have been completed to calculate current ppd.


If you leave both up, and you click back and forth, it will also update the points, and the software seems to also mix up (reverse) the list of cards. It's a very common issue, just click on both and see what each one says.
GPU timpster
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:57 am


Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron