First time folder - GTX 1080 ti PPD

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.
Liquid51

First time folder - GTX 1080 ti PPD

Post by Liquid51 »

Hey all, I'm brand new to folding - something I've been wanting to do for a while, but the current COVID-19 situation brought it to the forefront again so I finally jumped in. I do have some questions on the PPD I'm seeing with this card though.

Paragon put together an excellent GTX 1080ti folding review (thank you!) that really excited me for what this card should be capable of. However, I'm not getting similar results compared to the article, or similar results to anything else I've seen online either. My PPD is actually averaging higher and I'm trying to figure out why. Are others with 1080 ti's getting similar results and not reporting it? Could this be due to recent fahcore optimizations? Or am I just fortunate with my current configuration?

i7-5930k @ 4.3 GHz
32GB DDR4 @ 2800 MHz
Evga 1080 ti Hybrid +103 MHz
Windows 7 - 7601 (I know I know - please don't turn this into an OS thread. There's many reasons I'm not happy with Windows 10 - working up the courage to face the change :). In any event, it's certainly not hurting PPD)

davidcoton

Re: First time folder - GTX 1080 ti PPD

Post by davidcoton »

PPD varies a bit between projects, as drivers and cores are updated, and with the exact hardware version you have. You would need to go through all those details (and possibly others) between your system and Paragon's to find an explanation.
kiore

Post by kiore »

I run a GTX1080ti in win7 as well. The PPD you are seeing on this is at the high end of what expected on Windows but yes seems to be running well.
i7 7800x RTX 3070 OS= win10. AMD 3700x RTX 2080ti OS= win10 .

Team page: http://www.rationalskepticism.org
Liquid51

Post by Liquid51 »