Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

A forum for discussing FAH-related hardware choices and info on actual products (not speculation).

Moderator: Site Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting.

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby rickoic » Mon Jun 22, 2020 4:01 pm

I suspect FAHclient has the gpu's mixed up and that's really the 960. And the difference between the 1070's is due to the x16 x8 slot they are in.
After moving folding to my M.2 card yesterday here are some new numbers. Plus it's been in use for a couple of years and I've noticed the rear fan having problems, so probably ready to be replaced.
CPU 12 P14631 52,798
2080 x16 slot P16600 1,871,921
1070 x16 slot p16600 759,026
1070 x8 slot p14467 187,074
960 x8 slot P14459 118,023

Est PPD 3,001,139
Duel 2.8 3 250's Quad 2.4 285. 260, Quad 2.4 3 250 , i7 2.27 2 250 GPU's, i7 2.24 2 250 GPU's, i7 3.06 bigadv, duel Xeon 2.27 bigadv, AMD Phenom ][ 3 250 GPU's, Laptop GT 130M.
I'm folding because Dec 2005 I had radical prostrate surgery.
rickoic
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby HaloJones » Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:33 pm

There shouldn't be that much difference just from x16 to x8. I've got a 1070 in an x4 Gen 3 slot and it's currently at >1m on a P16600. It is typically only around 10% slower than the TitanX in an x16 above it.
1x Titan X, 5x 1070, 1x 970, 1 x Ryzen 3600

Image
HaloJones
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby rickoic » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:08 pm

Looks like that 1070 is going south on me and will probably be quitting on me soon.
rickoic
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby Neil-B » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:26 pm

… would it be worth switching the two 1070s around in your rig to check it is a difference in the cards rather than a difference in the rig slots? … though I guess you might well have already done that
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby markdotgooley » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:43 pm

HaloJones wrote:There shouldn't be that much difference just from x16 to x8. I've got a 1070 in an x4 Gen 3 slot and it's currently at >1m on a P16600. It is typically only around 10% slower than the TitanX in an x16 above it.


For a while I had a WiFi card on an x1-wide PCIe slot. For this motherboard, that lowers all but the principal PCIe 3.0 x16 slot to x1. Then I got a USB dongle for WiFi. I changed BIOS settings so that one RTX 2060 is on PCIe 3.0 x8 rather than x16 and the other is on PCIe 2.0 x4 (the motherboard can do no better).

Going from PCIe 3.0 x16 to PCIe 3.0 x8 makes almost no difference. Speeding up the other card from PCIe 2.0 x1 to PCIe 2.0 x4 helps a lot but it’s still a bit throttled at some times.

Perhaps a faster card would suffer from x8 rather than x16. I don’t know. Ethereum miners and such claim that x1 connections don’t slow the GPU cards down but in my experience they certainly do slow down folding...
markdotgooley
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:46 pm

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby HaloJones » Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:08 pm

I've seen no speed impact from gen3x4 upwards. I'e got another board which delivers 2 gen2x16 slots via a mux (Gigabyte G1 Sniper) and both cards perform the same.

x1 I can see as a problem but >x4 and it won't suffer.
HaloJones
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby MeeLee » Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:25 pm

HaloJones wrote:There shouldn't be that much difference just from x16 to x8. I've got a 1070 in an x4 Gen 3 slot and it's currently at >1m on a P16600. It is typically only around 10% slower than the TitanX in an x16 above it.

If it's a Gen 2 slot x8 it could be under Windows.
Should be OK for Linux though.

The M.2 slots (if PCIE 2.0) should be even slower, and probably not recommended to fold on, as they're only x4.
If they're PCIE 3.0, you could still use them for most GTX GPUs in Linux.
The RTX 2060 is already seeing a serious drop in performance in Linux, let alone Windows.
MeeLee
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby rickoic » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:53 pm

Moved my gpu's around and now have this:
5,167,541 PPD
CPU 12 P14630 46,531 PPD
2080 X16 Slot P13414 1,723,074 PPD
2070S X16 Slot P13414 1,660,455 PPD
1080 X8 Slot P13414 947,044 PPD
1070 X8 Slot P14457 783,701 PPD

Moved suspected bad 1070 and 960 to a computer by themselves and getting this:
1070 P11760 785,916 PPD big improvement
960 P16600 214,656 PPD
rickoic
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: Building a dedicated rig with 3 GPUs

Postby HaloJones » Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:21 pm

More computers adds redundancy :)
HaloJones
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

Previous

Return to FAH Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron