6.29 has libc problems (symptom: Could not CosmHTTPOpen)

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

6.29 has libc problems (symptom: Could not CosmHTTPOpen)

Postby torswin » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:02 pm

I am running Fedora 12 and I tried to upgrade my client to 6.29, however 6.29 has the "Could not CosmHTTPOpen" problem and will not be able to download work units.

Just wanted to give those who want to update their client, but are unsure if this problem is fixed or not a tip.
torswin
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:02 pm

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby kasson » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:26 pm

Please post a log; that will assist us.
User avatar
kasson
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 9:37 pm

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby torswin » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm

This will continue in all infinity. It happened in 6.24 as well, but not in the dynamicaly linked version. I believe it is also a problem in Fedora 11.

Code: Select all
[torstein@Destor CPU12]$ ./fah6 -smp -verbosity 9

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

4 cores detected


--- Opening Log file [January 25 16:32:57 UTC]


# Linux SMP Console Edition ###################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.29

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /home/torstein/foldingathome/CPU12
Executable: ./fah6
Arguments: -smp -verbosity 9

[16:32:57] - Ask before connecting: No
[16:32:57] - User name: Torstein_Winterseth (Team 37651)
[16:32:57] - User ID: 55CAC16549BABCAC
[16:32:57] - Machine ID: 1
[16:32:57]
[16:32:57] Work directory not found. Creating...
[16:32:57] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[16:32:57] - Autosending finished units... [January 25 16:32:57 UTC]
[16:32:57] Trying to send all finished work units
[16:32:57] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[16:32:57] - Autosend completed
[16:32:57] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[16:32:57] Cleaning up work directory
[16:32:57] + Attempting to get work packet
[16:32:57] Passkey found
[16:32:57] - Will indicate memory of 3962 MB
[16:32:57] - Connecting to assignment server
[16:32:57] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[16:32:57] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[16:32:57] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[16:32:57] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[16:32:57] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[16:32:57] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[16:32:57] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[16:32:57] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[16:33:12] + Attempting to get work packet
[16:33:12] Passkey found
[16:33:12] - Will indicate memory of 3962 MB
[16:33:12] - Connecting to assignment server
[16:33:12] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[16:33:12] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[16:33:12] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[16:33:12] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[16:33:12] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[16:33:12] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[16:33:12] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[16:33:12] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.

torswin
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:02 pm

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby goodyca » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:34 pm

I can verify this problem with Fedora 12. Here is my log file.

Code: Select all
# Linux SMP Console Edition ###################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.29

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /home/craig/folding/1
Executable: ./fah6
Arguments: -smp 4 -advmethods -verbosity 9

[19:20:33] - Ask before connecting: No
[19:20:33] - User name: goodyca (Team 439)
[19:20:33] - User ID: 412ECA3B32B4409E
[19:20:33] - Machine ID: 1
[19:20:33]
[19:20:33] Loaded queue successfully.
[19:20:33] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[19:20:33] - Autosending finished units... [19:20:33]
[19:20:33] Cleaning up work directory
[19:20:33] Trying to send all finished work units
[19:20:33] Project: 2669 (Run 13, Clone 32, Gen 139)


[19:20:33] + Attempting to send results [January 25 19:20:33 UTC]
[19:20:33] - Reading file work/wuresults_02.dat from core
[19:20:33]   (Read 25868117 bytes from disk)
[19:20:33] Connecting to http://171.64.65.56:8080/
[19:20:33] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:20:33] Passkey found
[19:20:33] - Will indicate memory of 3964 MB
[19:20:33] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:20:33] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:20:33] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:20:33] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[19:20:33] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[19:20:33] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:20:33] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[19:20:33] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:20:33] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:20:33] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[19:20:33]   (Got status 503)
[19:20:33] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[19:20:33]     (171.64.65.56:8080)
[19:20:33] + Retrying using alternative port
[19:20:33] Connecting to http://171.64.65.56:80/
[19:20:34] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[19:20:34]   (Got status 503)
[19:20:34] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[19:20:34]     (171.64.65.56:80)
[19:20:34] - Error: Could not transmit unit 02 (completed January 25) to work server.
[19:20:34] - 3 failed uploads of this unit.


[19:20:34] + Attempting to send results [January 25 19:20:34 UTC]
[19:20:34] - Reading file work/wuresults_02.dat from core
[19:20:34]   (Read 25868117 bytes from disk)
[19:20:34] Connecting to http://171.67.108.25:8080/
[19:20:34] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[19:20:34]   (Got status 503)
[19:20:34] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[19:20:34]     (171.67.108.25:8080)
[19:20:34] + Retrying using alternative port
[19:20:34] Connecting to http://171.67.108.25:80/
[19:20:34] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[19:20:34]   (Got status 503)
[19:20:34] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[19:20:34]     (171.67.108.25:80)
[19:20:34]   Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
[19:20:34] + Sent 0 of 1 completed units to the server
[19:20:34] - Autosend completed
[19:20:47] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:20:47] Passkey found
[19:20:47] - Will indicate memory of 3964 MB
[19:20:47] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:20:47] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:20:47] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:20:47] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[19:20:47] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[19:20:47] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:20:47] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[19:20:47] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:20:47] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:21:00] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:21:00] Passkey found
[19:21:00] - Will indicate memory of 3964 MB
[19:21:00] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:21:00] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:21:00] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:21:00] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[19:21:00] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[19:21:00] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:21:00] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[19:21:00] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:21:00] - Attempt #3  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:21:30] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:21:30] Passkey found
[19:21:30] - Will indicate memory of 3964 MB
[19:21:30] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:21:30] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:21:30] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:21:30] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[19:21:30] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[19:21:30] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:21:30] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[19:21:30] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:21:30] - Attempt #4  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:22:10] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:22:10] Passkey found
[19:22:10] - Will indicate memory of 3964 MB
[19:22:10] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:22:10] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:22:10] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:22:10] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
[19:22:10] Connecting to http://assign2.stanford.edu:80/
[19:22:10] - Could not CosmHTTPOpen
[19:22:10] + Could not connect to Assignment Server 2
[19:22:10] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:22:10] - Attempt #5  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:22:34] ***** Got an Activate signal (2)
[19:22:34] Killing all core threads

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

goodyca
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby 7im » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:39 pm

How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby tear » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:05 pm

Yes, all calls to resolver ultimately fail on F11 and F12 as the binary is not _truly_ static.

More info here:
viewtopic.php?f=44&t=11566&start=15#p123795
and here:
http://people.redhat.com/drepper/no_static_linking.html (esp. bullet starting with "all kinds of features")

Peter, why can't 6.29 be a dynamic binary just like 6.02 is? Any special reason for that?


tear
One man's ceiling is another man's floor.
Image
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby stanmc » Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:15 am

Which x86_64 versions of Linux are currently capable of running 6.29? I am willing to take my three folding computers to whichever version of Linux will run this. Currently I am running Fedora 12 using fah6_alt. I have been running Fedora/Redhat since 4.5 (i believe) but I am not a Fedora Fanatic :wink: . Ubuntu or Debian etc would be fine with me.
stanmc
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:54 am

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby tear » Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:17 am

6.29 works fine on my F8, F9, F10, current RHEL5 and Centos5 machines; dunno about Debian-like systems.

tear
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby LinuxDonald » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:00 am

For me it is not working too Fedora 12 64 bit :(
LinuxDonald
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby ikerekes » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:59 am

I am running quite a few Ubuntu 8.04-sp3 and one 9.04 64-bit linux smp's, fine with 6.29 client, and mostly a3 wu's (I belive 2 of my really slow AMD Athlon X2 4200+ still didn't finish the A2 core they currently running, so they didn't have the chance to pick up an a3 wu')
Stay away from the "current" 9.10 release, it has a kernel with major slowdown (although I didn't try yet with the a3 core).
Image
ikerekes
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby Pick2 » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:22 am

I run 14 Debian boxes , most of them minimal installs , and seem to have less problems then some others I read about here. I've used Ubuntu and even Knoppix live boot for a while ! Try a live Ubuntu CD , it worked good for me back then :)
Pick2
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby chrisretusn » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:39 am

6.29 running fine on Slackware64 13.0.
Image
Folding on Slackware Linux.
chrisretusn
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:12 am
Location: Philippines

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby parkut » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:41 am

6.29 works perfectly on Centos5.4 on Quad, Core2 and i920
User avatar
parkut
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:33 am
Location: SE Michigan, USA

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby stanmc » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:02 am

Pick2 wrote:I run 14 Debian boxes , most of them minimal installs , and seem to have less problems then some others I read about here. I've used Ubuntu and even Knoppix live boot for a while ! Try a live Ubuntu CD , it worked good for me back then :)
Thanks for the reply. Have you tried the knew FAH version 6.29 on Debian?
stanmc
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:54 am

Re: 6.29 has Could not CosmHTTPOpen problem.

Postby tear » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:47 am

I've twiddled a little bit with all that (F12) and reached the point when linker is doing exactly this: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=12824&start=0

At this time I have no incentive to continue the work -- let's see what project heads come up with, shall we?


tear
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Next

Return to Linux CPU V6 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron