Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby simon389 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:19 am

I use the Linux v6 command console, and was wondering if there is a way for me to download a bunch of WUs because my internet is really bad and I have to manually reconnect to send units each time. Ideas?

UPDATE:
After a lot of work, I've realized that the connectivity was really bad because of the default wireless driver in 11.10 (My Realtek 8185 card defaults to the rtl8180 driver). I tried over and over to get the wireless to work well in 64-bit, but I don't think its going to happen. I tried the Linux drivers off Realtek's website, but could not get them to compile for 64-bit (full of errors, some I fixed using post #8 from http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1514691) I tried Ndiswrapper with Realtek windows drivers, but it wouldn't work. Finally I threw up my hands and installed a 32-bit 11.10 distro and recompiled the Realtek Linux drivers, and it works like a charm, currently running rtl8185b :).

Question: I have an Athlon64 2ghz machine. I don't think SMP is supported using the 32-bit Folding@home client. Is my 64-bit proc going to be a lot slower running Linux 6.02? (Folding@home 6.34 vs 6.02) Will my Nvidia CUDA still work in 6.02? If I find I'm folding 20% slower, I would be inclined to purchase a wireless card that has good 64-bit drivers.
Last edited by simon389 on Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:24 am, edited 6 times in total.
simon389
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:17 am

Re: downloading multiple units

Postby ChasR » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:47 am

There is no queuing in FAH. The WU are serial in nature and it would drastically slow the science for donors to download and queue multiple WUs.
User avatar
ChasR
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: downloading multiple units

Postby P5-133XL » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:53 am

At one time there were deadline-free WU's but they are long gone. At one time, there were also queue forming 3rd party utilities that may still exist on the internet. So it may be possible to arrange but still it is a bad idea.

It is strongly discouraged by Stanford. Queue's of WU's cause problems for Stanford because need timely return. Having a queue would slow down the science and thus harms it! Further your PPD would suffer because the clock starts running upon download.

The real solution is to fix your internet connection...
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: downloading multiple units

Postby simon389 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:57 pm

bummer.

thanks guys. you rock.
simon389
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit (wireless problems) UPDATE

Postby simon389 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:04 pm

Also, if anybody has any advice about how to run this headless, I would appreciate it. I am booting off a USB live-cd, and have only a pci wireless card connected to the mobo with pwer supply and ram. Yes, I understand the LiveCD USB key isn't designed to work this way, but its actually gone really well so far (besides the 64-bit wireless driver fiasco). Any issues I should be aware of with a headless linux v6 setup? (especially wireless)
simon389
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby simon389 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:24 am

anybody?
simon389
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby Hyperlife » Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:49 am

I run two Linux rigs headless, but mine have wired Ethernet connections. As long as you can ssh into your system, you should be OK.

I'm actually running v7 at the moment, but I had no problems with v6.
Image
User avatar
Hyperlife
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:38 am

Re: Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby simon389 » Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:02 pm

So do you know if 32-bit or 64-bit makes a big difference?
simon389
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby bruce » Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:34 am

Some projects require 64-bit. If you have 32-bit, they won't be assigned to you. That can make a big difference.

You're probably really asking about speed. If we assume that the hardware is the same and the only difference is the OS and we assume that a project that will run on a 32-bit system happens to be assigned to a 64-bit system, they will run a the essentially the same speed.
bruce
 
Posts: 21413
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Folding with Linux 32-bit vs 64-bit

Postby Hyperlife » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:46 pm

There's no difference between the two with regards to folding, other than SMP requiring 64-bit Linux. If your Athlon 64 is a single core CPU, then you can use either 32-bit or 64-bit Linux without any differences in folding speed.

GPU folding should not be affected, either (if you're using Wine to run the Windows GPU client).
User avatar
Hyperlife
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:38 am


Return to Linux CPU V6 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron