Running FAH on a Raspberry Pi [No]

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Running FAH on a Raspberry Pi [No]

Postby Dominic » Fri May 25, 2012 2:41 pm

Hi all,

Although I've been using the GPU Windows client for a couple of years now, I've recently placed my order to get a

Raspberry Pi and wondered if it would be possible to run FAH on that instead.

Mostly I'll be getting a Pi just to play about with it, but once I know what's what with Linux (something I have zero experience in right now) then I'll probably use the Pi for IRC and, hopefully, FAH as well.

So does anyone know if it would be possible to run FAH on the Pi? It comes with Debian Linux (although I believe it can run other Linux distributions) so I've posted this thread in the Linux forum, but apologies if it should have gone elsewhere.

Anyone have any thoughts? TIA.

:) :)
Dominic

Re: Running FAH on a Raspberry Pi

Postby iceman1992 » Fri May 25, 2012 2:45 pm

IMO, no it's too weak. It has an ARM SoC, it's designed for mobile, and the floating point performance is just not nearly powerful enough.
iceman1992

Postby Dominic » Fri May 25, 2012 2:50 pm

Ah, OK. Thanks for the reply.

I hadn't really thought much about the processing power of the Pi. Of course, I would never have expected it to perform at the same level as my PC, but I did think it might be useful in addition to it, perhaps. I doubt I'd use the Pi for much else from day to day.

Aside from the fact that it's not particularly powerful, is it still possible to run FAH on the Pi do you think? If it's technically possible, I might just try it to see what happens (seeing as that's why I bought it in the first place) but obviously if it's not technically possible, that idea goes out the window.
Dominic

Postby iceman1992 » Fri May 25, 2012 3:09 pm