Help setting up remote access

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Help setting up remote access

Postby th4t9uy » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:36 pm

I've poked Google but haven't found an answer.

I have the FAH client (FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz) installed on my server (Xubuntu 13.04) and I'm trying to set up FAHControl on my Win7 desktop. But it just hangs on connecting. I also installed FAHControl on the server but that just hangs on connecting to localhost.

I've probably missed some really simply but how can I set up my desktop to remote monitor/control folding on my server?
th4t9uy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:35 pm

Re: Help setting up remote access

Postby bollix47 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:57 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum th4t9uy.

You need to update the client from v6 to v7. You cannot control a v6 client using FAHControl.

https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... oteClients
bollix47
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Help setting up remote access

Postby Joe_H » Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:26 pm

In addition all clients need to be at the same version of the V7 release. Some features are sufficiently different between the different releases of V7 that using a different version of FAHControl can cause problems both minor and major.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4556
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Help setting up remote access

Postby th4t9uy » Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:17 pm

Hey guys, thanks for the quick replies. Got them all on the same version so they're happily talking to each other now. Thanks guys
th4t9uy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:35 pm


Return to Linux CPU V6 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron