Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:44 pm

I have a 4P folder and the cores are not running at 100%. Any tips on how to bump it up from 60% to 100%?

System: Supermicro H8QGi-F
CPU: Opteron 6276 x 4, 64 cores total (no overclock)
Mem: 32GB
OS: Fedora 17
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby 7im » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:13 pm

-smp 64
-bigadv
and set WU size to big.
Last edited by 7im on Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby bollix47 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:38 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum WhitehawkEQ.

Have you tried setting the cpus parameter to 64? If you have FAHControl working you can configure/edit the cpu slot with it or if you don't have FAHControl you can edit your config.xml so that the cpu slot section looks similar to:

<slot id='0' type='CPU'>
<cpus v='64'/>
</slot>

plus any other options you may wish to use. If you're using client-type bigadv then you should also add:

Name: max-packet-size
Value: big
Image
bollix47
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby PantherX » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:00 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum WhitehawkEQ,

Please note that if the suggestion by bollix47 doesn't work, then please post the log file here (within the Code Tags in Full Editor) so we can get further information about your system and F@H settings.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6616
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:44 pm

WhitehawkEQ wrote:I have a 4P folder and the cores are not running at 100%. Any tips on how to bump it up from 60% to 100%?

System: Supermicro H8QGi-F
CPU: Opteron 6276 x 4, 64 cores total (no overclock)
Mem: 32GB
OS: Fedora 17


Umm client is 6.34 not V7
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby bollix47 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:50 pm

Sorry :oops: I should have noticed we were in the v6 forum ... my similar system is using v7.

Your command line options for bigadv would be:

-smp 64 -bigadv -verbosity 9

The packet size is changed using the -configonly or -config command line option and is found in the advanced section.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:00 pm

bollix47 wrote:Sorry :oops: I should have noticed we were in the v6 forum ... my similar system is using v7.

Your command line options for bigadv would be:

-smp 64 -bigadv -verbosity 9

The packet size is changed using the -configonly or -config option in the advanced section.


Code: Select all
thekraken: The Kraken 0.7-pre15 (compiled Thu Feb 20 20:05:13 CST 2014 by root@FAHServer)
thekraken: Processor affinity wrapper for Folding@Home
thekraken: The Kraken comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; licensed under GPLv2
thekraken: PID: 5092
thekraken: Logging to thekraken.log
[11:20:37] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[11:20:37] Cleaning up work directory
[11:20:37] + Attempting to get work packet
[11:20:37] Passkey found
[11:20:37] - Connecting to assignment server
[11:20:38] - Successful: assigned to (128.143.231.201).
[11:20:38] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[11:20:38] Loaded queue successfully.
[11:20:55] + Closed connections
[11:20:55]
[11:20:55] + Processing work unit
[11:20:55] Core required: FahCore_a5.exe
[11:20:55] Core found.
[11:20:55] Working on queue slot 09 [February 24 11:20:55 UTC]
[11:20:55] + Working ...
thekraken: The Kraken 0.7-pre15 (compiled Thu Feb 20 20:05:13 CST 2014 by root@FAHServer)
thekraken: Processor affinity wrapper for Folding@Home
thekraken: The Kraken comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; licensed under GPLv2
thekraken: PID: 5096
thekraken: Logging to thekraken.log
[11:20:55]
[11:20:55] *------------------------------*
[11:20:55] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[11:20:55] Version 2.27 (Thu Feb 10 09:46:40 PST 2011)
[11:20:55]
[11:20:55] Preparing to commence simulation
[11:20:55] - Looking at optimizations...
[11:20:55] - Created dyn
[11:20:55] - Files status OK
[11:21:00] - Expanded 30313168 -> 33130012 (decompressed 109.2 percent)
[11:21:00] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=30313168 data_size=33130012, decompressed_data_size=33130012 diff=0
[11:21:01] - Digital signature verified
[11:21:01]
[11:21:01] Project: 8105 (Run 0, Clone 1, Gen 330)
[11:21:01]
[11:21:01] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[11:21:01] Entering M.D.
                         :-)  G  R  O  M  A  C  S  (-:

                   Groningen Machine for Chemical Simulation

                            :-)  VERSION 4.5.3  (-:

        Written by Emile Apol, Rossen Apostolov, Herman J.C. Berendsen,
      Aldert van Buuren, Pär Bjelkmar, Rudi van Drunen, Anton Feenstra,
        Gerrit Groenhof, Peter Kasson, Per Larsson, Pieter Meulenhoff,
           Teemu Murtola, Szilard Pall, Sander Pronk, Roland Schulz,
                Michael Shirts, Alfons Sijbers, Peter Tieleman,

               Berk Hess, David van der Spoel, and Erik Lindahl.

       Copyright (c) 1991-2000, University of Groningen, The Netherlands.
            Copyright (c) 2001-2010, The GROMACS development team at
        Uppsala University & The Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden.
            check out http://www.gromacs.org for more information.


                               :-)  Gromacs  (-:

Reading file work/wudata_09.tpr, VERSION 4.5.5-dev-20120903-d64b9e3 (single precision)
[11:21:08] Mapping NT from 64 to 64
Starting 64 threads
Making 2D domain decomposition 8 x 8 x 1
starting mdrun 'FP_membrane in water'
82750000 steps, 331000.0 ps (continuing from step 82500000, 330000.0 ps).
[11:21:16] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps  (0%)

NOTE: Turning on dynamic load balancing

[11:38:38] Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps  (1%)
[11:55:01] Completed 5000 out of 250000 steps  (2%)
[12:10:13] Completed 7500 out of 250000 steps  (3%)
[12:25:17] Completed 10000 out of 250000 steps  (4%)
[12:40:37] Completed 12500 out of 250000 steps  (5%)
[12:56:03] Completed 15000 out of 250000 steps  (6%)
[13:11:35] Completed 17500 out of 250000 steps  (7%)
[13:29:44] Completed 20000 out of 250000 steps  (8%)
[13:45:12] Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps  (9%)
[14:00:36] Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps  (10%)
[14:16:26] Completed 27500 out of 250000 steps  (11%)
[14:31:39] Completed 30000 out of 250000 steps  (12%)
[14:46:50] Completed 32500 out of 250000 steps  (13%)
[15:02:19] Completed 35000 out of 250000 steps  (14%)
[15:17:22] Completed 37500 out of 250000 steps  (15%)
[15:33:41] Completed 40000 out of 250000 steps  (16%)
[15:49:28] Completed 42500 out of 250000 steps  (17%)
[16:06:13] Completed 45000 out of 250000 steps  (18%)
[16:22:35] Completed 47500 out of 250000 steps  (19%)
[16:38:58] Completed 50000 out of 250000 steps  (20%)
[16:54:37] Completed 52500 out of 250000 steps  (21%)


config file
Code: Select all
[settings]
username=WhitehawkEQ
team=32
passkey=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
asknet=no
machineid=1
bigpackets=big
extra_parms=-smp 64 -bigadv
local=3

[http]
active=no
host=localhost
port=8080

[core]
priority=96

[clienttype]
type=3
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:20 pm

How did you get V7 to work in Linux? or are you using Linux? :)
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby bollix47 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:28 pm

It looks like your configuration is setup correctly but your frame times are a bit high for P8105. I'm getting just under 11 minutes on a quad 6274 so your times should be lower than that since your cpu(s) are all running 100Mhz faster.

According to the log the client is using all 64 cores. Is there anything else running at the same time?

Can you take a look at your system using top in a terminal to see what's using your cpu? It should report thekraken-FahCo using around 6390 in the %cpu column.

I'm using Ubuntu Desktop ... anything 12.04 or later should work: http://folding.stanford.edu/home/guide/ ... all-guide/
v7 works fine with it but there are reports on this forum that suggest some had to do a little extra for fedora: viewtopic.php?p=247190#p247190
bollix47
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby Jesse_V » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:28 pm

WhitehawkEQ wrote:How did you get V7 to work in Linux? or are you using Linux? :)

There's an RPM bundle for Fedora. V7 works just fine in Linux: Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, Redhat, CentOS, and Fedora are all officially supported.
GPU folding is supported in Linux for Nvidia cards only at the moment, but the latest kernels and the newer drivers may have significantly improved the situation for AMD so that may change at some point.
If you have further questions about V7, please use the V7 sections of the forum so that this can stay on-topic. :)
Pen tester at Cigital/Synopsys
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2894
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:50 pm

bollix47 wrote:It looks like your configuration is setup correctly but your frame times are a bit high for P8105. I'm getting just under 11 minutes on a quad 6274 so your times should be lower than that since your cpu(s) are all running 100Mhz faster.

According to the log the client is using all 64 cores. Is there anything else running at the same time?

Can you take a look at your system using top in a terminal to see what's using your cpu? It should report thekraken-FahCo using around 6390 in the %cpu column.

I'm using Ubuntu Desktop ... anything 12.04 or later should work: http://folding.stanford.edu/home/guide/ ... all-guide/
v7 works fine with it but there are reports on this forum that suggest some had to do a little extra for fedora: viewtopic.php?p=247190#p247190


I am using 6276 ES chips, would that effect anything?
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby bollix47 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:18 pm

I'm not familiar with those chips but think they should be faster that my 6274s.

Did you disable PowerNow/CPB/Turbo in the bios? Perhaps your system is trying to save power and not running at top speed?
bollix47
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:26 pm

bollix47 wrote:I'm not familiar with those chips but think they should be faster that my 6274s.

Did you disable PowerNow/CPB/Turbo in the bios? Perhaps your system is trying to save power and not running at top speed?


Would a newer version of TheKraken work?
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby bollix47 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:36 pm

I'm using the same version you are so I doubt that's a problem unless it wasn't installed correctly and top or another system monitor would show you whether it's being used or not because FahCore_a5 would be listed with thekraken- in front and your log does indicate it has been installed correctly.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fedora 17, client 6.34 and cores not at 100%

Postby WhitehawkEQ » Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:27 pm

I don't know if anyone knows this already but here goes, I have found out that if I stop the client then re-start it, I will end up having 2 instances of thekraken running and they fight causing frame times of 1 hour or more. So re-boot before re-starting the client.
WhitehawkEQ
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:50 pm


Return to Linux CPU V6 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron