vista -> ram optimize

This client will only use a single CPU

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: vista -> ram optimize

Postby k_madsen » Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:07 am

Hi
I use 1 core for my self, so some one else have to fold those Wu's.

:(
To Beleave is something but to know is 1000 times better.
Image
User avatar
k_madsen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Esbjerg 6705 Denmark

Re: vista -> ram optimize

Postby P5-133XL » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:55 am

Hopefully you realize that reserving a core for yourself does not get you anything. All that does is harm folding and your PPD. Folding runs at a very low priority and the Windows priority system forces Folding to suspend itself when confronted with another process with a higher priority. So effectively whenever you want to run something for yourself, folding won't interfere with it but rather you will just stop folding till you are not using the CPU anymore whereupon folding will start back up keeping the CPU usage at 100%.

Don't believe me -- Try running folding with all your cores and see if you can detect any difference in your application...

Just as a note, the priority system does not apply to GPU folding for there is no GPU priority subsystem.

Also, if you are GPU folding with SMP folding you should set the GPU folding at the slightly higher setting otherwise they will be the same priority so the smp will not get out of the way and thus the GPU will be starved of its needed CPU access
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: vista -> ram optimize

Postby k_madsen » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:29 am

done

ppd is 12169 -> 24-09-2011

:shock: :D

Code: Select all

Launch directory: C:\foldingsmp
Service: C:\foldingsmp\fah.exe
Arguments: -svcstart -d C:\foldingsmp -smp 6

Launched as a service.
Entered C:\foldingsmp to do work.

[11:22:51] - Ask before connecting: No
[11:22:51] - User name: k_madsen (Team 34688)
[11:22:51] - User ID:
[11:22:51] - Machine ID: 8
[11:22:51]
[11:22:51] Loaded queue successfully.
[11:22:51]
[11:22:51] + Processing work unit
[11:22:51] Core required: FahCore_a3.exe
[11:22:51] Core found.
[11:22:51] Working on queue slot 05 [September 24 11:22:51 UTC]
[11:22:51] + Working ...
[11:22:51]
[11:22:51] *------------------------------*
[11:22:51] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[11:22:51] Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
[11:22:51]
[11:22:51] Preparing to commence simulation
[11:22:51] - Looking at optimizations...
[11:22:51] - Files status OK
[11:22:52] - Expanded 1767720 -> 1952212 (decompressed 110.4 percent)
[11:22:52] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=1767720 data_size=1952212, decompressed_data_size=1952212 diff=0
[11:22:52] - Digital signature verified
[11:22:52]
[11:22:52] Project: 6996 (Run 0, Clone 15, Gen 205)
[11:22:52]
[11:22:52] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[11:22:52] Entering M.D.
[11:22:58] Using Gromacs checkpoints
[11:22:58] Mapping NT from 6 to 6
[11:22:58] Resuming from checkpoint
[11:22:58] Verified work/wudata_05.log
[11:22:58] Verified work/wudata_05.trr
[11:22:58] Verified work/wudata_05.edr
[11:22:58] Completed 189757 out of 500000 steps  (37%)
[11:23:15] Completed 190000 out of 500000 steps  (38%)
User avatar
k_madsen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Esbjerg 6705 Denmark

Previous

Return to Windows Classic V6.23 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron