50% of CPU

This client will only use a single CPU

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

50% of CPU

Postby mryamz » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:14 pm

I am running a few clients on older Pentium4 (single core) machines. These machines do nothing else other than run FAH, yet the only ever use at most 50% (usually about 47%) of the CPU.

Is there a way to have them run at or near 100%?
mryamz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: 50% of CPU

Postby Napoleon » Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:13 pm

Welcome to the forum, mryamz.

Those are hyperthreaded single core CPUs, so 50% utilization is normal. You could run two uniprocessor clients per machine, or install v7 beta client and set up two uniprocessor slots to reach 100% utilization. However, FAH Wiki explains why PG actually prefers just one classic client or slot per physical core, see http://fahwiki.net/index.php/FAH_%26_SMP#Hyper-Threading. Ultimately it's up to you to decide if slightly higher PPD (Points Per Day) is worth it to you, though.
The recommended procedure is to run a single instance of the Folding@home client per physical CPU, because this will finish a Work Unit (WU) in the shortest time. This is more valuable to the science of Folding@home, since the data from processed WUs is used to generate new ones.
Win7 64bit, FAH v7, OC'd
2C/4T Atom330 3x667MHz - GT430 2x832.5MHz - ION iGPU 3x466.7MHz
NaCl - Core_15 - display
User avatar
Napoleon
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:31 pm
Location: Finland

Re: 50% of CPU

Postby mryamz » Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:20 pm

Thanks! :)

What about dual core machines? I've noticed that the one machine that I am running with 2 core utilizes one core at 100% and the other at 0%. Would it be advisable to run 2 clients on this machine? or does the same idea apply?
mryamz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: 50% of CPU

Postby Napoleon » Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:33 pm

Sounds like that one is a true dual core CPU without hyperthreading. In that case, Best Practices FAQ recommends two classical clients (or slots in v7) for 100% CPU utilization.
User avatar
Napoleon
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:31 pm
Location: Finland

Re: 50% of CPU

Postby nogginthenog » Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:22 pm

I had a similar problem with one laptop (of several) I fold on, I made a copy of the installation folder and gave it a different ID. Going at 100% since.
nogginthenog
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:42 pm


Return to Windows Classic V6.23 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron