Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

This client will only use a single CPU

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby John Naylor » Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:06 pm

A client goes to sleep after 5 UNSTABLE_MACHINES, but I don't think EUEs force the client to sleep. I think that results returned from a UM are discarded as they possibly cannot be trusted, whereas EUEs return data whenever possible. I don't know about the two at the end of your message.
Folding whatever I'm sent since March 2006 :) Beta testing since October 2006. www.FAH-Addict.net Administrator since August 2009.
User avatar
John Naylor
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: University of Birmingham, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Forseti » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:20 am

I am running a vista dual core machine but the systray client appears to only use one as the cpu usage monitor never beats 50% unless I am doing other things at the time.
I am quite illiterate at pc stuff so is there something simple I am missing?
thanks
Forseti
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:11 am

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby John Naylor » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:37 am

Welcome to the forums.

That is the intended operation of the systray client - if you wish for it to use the second core you need to install a second client.
User avatar
John Naylor
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: University of Birmingham, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Forseti » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:44 am

John Naylor wrote:Welcome to the forums.

That is the intended operation of the systray client - if you wish for it to use the second core you need to install a second client.


So can I install another systray client or do I need to install a different client. Like I said I am not very computer literate.
Forseti
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:11 am

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby John Naylor » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:57 am

To install a second client you would need to use the console client, and change its Machine ID to 2. Chances are if I explained it I'd go into a load of technical guff so there's a guide here lol.
User avatar
John Naylor
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: University of Birmingham, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Forseti » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:06 am

John Naylor wrote:To install a second client you would need to use the console client, and change its Machine ID to 2. Chances are if I explained it I'd go into a load of technical guff so there's a guide here lol.


Ummm.. Thanks. :? I think... I will have a look to see if it is something I am "qualified" to do. :lol:
Forseti
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:11 am

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Forseti » Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:40 am

Well.. lol I guess I will just stick with using the one core.
Being a user and not anything more I figure I will just mess up my machine if I go to use the other client...
So until y'all come up with something plug and play this will have to do.

Thanks anyhow.
Forseti
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:11 am

Previous

Return to Windows Classic V6.23 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron