Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

This client will only use a single CPU

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby codysluder » Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:23 pm

GoryanskyAleksey wrote:SET APPDATA=c:\Progra~1\Foldin~1\Foldin~1


I don't think that the SET command is required.
codysluder
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Veix » Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:29 pm

Is there a way to lock CPU client so specific core ? Because when WU completes then affinity changes (i think) to both cores and my GPU client (on second core) slows down a bit.
Veix
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 7:59 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia, EU

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby codysluder » Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:42 pm

Veix wrote:Is there a way to lock CPU client so specific core ? Because when WU completes then affinity changes (i think) to both cores and my GPU client (on second core) slows down a bit.


Yes. Set affinity for the client as well as for the FahCore. Then the next time a Fahcore starts, it will inherit the setting from the client.

There also are some programs that you can download that will set affinity every time a certain program starts up, but you don't need that for FAH except for those who run smp and mpi.
codysluder
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby GoryanskyAleksey » Wed Aug 06, 2008 5:58 am

codysluder wrote:
GoryanskyAleksey wrote:SET APPDATA=c:\Progra~1\Foldin~1\Foldin~1


I don't think that the SET command is required.


Can you argue? This command is used to change %APPDATA% for only FAH executable environment, not for entire system...
May all beings be happy...

Image
GoryanskyAleksey
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:35 am

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby uncle_fungus » Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:17 pm

GoryanskyAleksey wrote:
codysluder wrote:
GoryanskyAleksey wrote:SET APPDATA=c:\Progra~1\Foldin~1\Foldin~1


I don't think that the SET command is required.


Can you argue?


Yup, sure can ;)

Setting the value of APPDATA is unnecessary because the client doesn't read this value. The only time it is used is at install time.
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby GoryanskyAleksey » Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:45 am

uncle_fungus wrote:
Yup, sure can ;)
Setting the value of APPDATA is unnecessary because the client doesn't read this value. The only time it is used is at install time.


If so, how does it work on my PC? Why? How does FAH determine where to read and store data?
GoryanskyAleksey
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:35 am

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:14 pm

May i know in perhaps more detail how the service installation in the client has changed?

In the past i used to build my own installer files to install FAH on my computers, with the installer manually creating a service to run the console client.

All worked fine in 5.04, but when i used the 6.20 console file in the installer, it instead used a non-default working directory:
Code: Select all

--- Opening Log file [August 7 13:12:15 UTC]


# Windows CPU Console Edition #################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.20

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: C:\Windows\system32
Service: C:\Program Files (x86)\Folding@Home #01\Folding@Home #02\FAH-Console.exe
Arguments: -forceasm -local -svcstart

Launched as a service.
Could not enter C:\Windows\system32! Working in launch directory.

Warning:
 By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
 safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
 do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
 If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
 if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
 use of the flag.

[13:12:15] - Ask before connecting: No
[13:12:15] - User name: Anonymous (Team 0)
[13:12:15] - User ID: 20DD7202279BF4DD
[13:12:15] - Machine ID: 1
[13:12:15]
[13:12:15] Loaded queue successfully.
[13:12:15] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[13:12:15] + Attempting to get work packet
[13:12:15] - Connecting to assignment server
[13:12:16] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.65.111).
[13:12:16] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[13:12:16] Loaded queue successfully.


With the 5.04 client, it was:
Code: Select all

--- Opening Log file [August 7 13:08:39]


# Windows Console Edition #####################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.04beta

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Folding@Home #01\Folding@Home #01
Service: C:\Program Files (x86)\Folding@Home #01\Folding@Home #01\FAH-Console.exe
Arguments: -forceasm -local -svcstart

Launched as a service.
Entered C:\Program Files (x86)\Folding@Home #01\Folding@Home #01 to do work.

Warning:
 By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
 safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
 do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
 If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
 if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
 use of the flag.

[13:08:39] - Ask before connecting: No
[13:08:39] - User name: Trivolve (Team 134888)
[13:08:39] - User ID: 20DD7202279BF4DD
[13:08:39] - Machine ID: 1
[13:08:39]
[13:08:39] Work directory not found. Creating...
[13:08:39] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[13:08:39] + Benchmarking ...
[13:08:41] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[13:08:41] + Attempting to get work packet
[13:08:41] - Connecting to assignment server
[13:08:42] - Successful: assigned to (171.65.103.160).
[13:08:42] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[13:08:42] Loaded queue successfully.
[13:08:45] + Closed connections
[13:08:45]
[13:08:45] + Processing work unit
[13:08:45] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
Team 134888 - Team Trivolve.
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby uncle_fungus » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:51 pm

GoryanskyAleksey wrote:
uncle_fungus wrote:
Yup, sure can ;)
Setting the value of APPDATA is unnecessary because the client doesn't read this value. The only time it is used is at install time.


If so, how does it work on my PC? Why? How does FAH determine where to read and store data?


Because in your batch file, you're changing to the working directory already. The client will use whatever working directory it is given to store all its configuration and data files.
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby uncle_fungus » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:53 pm

Trivolve wrote:May i know in perhaps more detail how the service installation in the client has changed?

In the past i used to build my own installer files to install FAH on my computers, with the installer manually creating a service to run the console client.

All worked fine in 5.04, but when i used the 6.20 console file in the installer, it instead used a non-default working directory


The service installation requires that you specify a working directory for the client through the use of the "-d" switch. This only works when the client runs as a service and you simply pass the working directory (in quotes) to this switch.
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:11 pm

[Edit] Nvm. Got it.
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm

Isn't there an option to use the local working directory? the old -local flag doesn't seem to work here...
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby gwildperson » Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:03 pm

Trivolve wrote:Isn't there an option to use the local working directory? the old -local flag doesn't seem to work here...


I'm not sure about the service, but the client now always uses the local directory. The old client used the value from the registry by default (except when -local was specified). Now it ignores the installation directory from the registry and always uses the current working directory. (-local is now the default and therefore no longer useful.)
gwildperson
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:36 pm

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:27 pm

gwildperson wrote:
Trivolve wrote:Isn't there an option to use the local working directory? the old -local flag doesn't seem to work here...


I'm not sure about the service, but the client now always uses the local directory. The old client used the value from the registry by default (except when -local was specified). Now it ignores the installation directory from the registry and always uses the current working directory. (-local is now the default and therefore no longer useful.)


Well according to uncle_fungus,
uncle_fungus wrote:The service installation requires that you specify a working directory for the client through the use of the "-d" switch. This only works when the client runs as a service and you simply pass the working directory (in quotes) to this switch.


Yup so specifically to the service, i think by default it must have a work directory stated and -local can't work :(
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:05 am

What if for the service i want the -d to use the local directory?
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Windows 6.20 CPU Client release notes

Postby Trivolve » Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:00 pm

What's the difference between UNSTABLE_MACHINE and EARLY_UNIT_END? Both do send data back to the assignment servers, right?

Does the CPU client go to sleep after too many EUE/UNSTABLE_MACHINEs? How many EUEs or UNSTABLE_MACHINEs does it take before the CPU client goes to sleep?


Also, are there under circumstances under which the client also sends back the WU data? Like Error Writing Local Files or Unknown Core Error? Do they cause the client to send back results too?
User avatar
Trivolve
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Singapore

PreviousNext

Return to Windows Classic V6.23 Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron