CPU Usage

Post here if you have issues with the Linux 5.0x client.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

CPU Usage

Postby mbmajo » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:00 am

Hey everbody,

just a little question from a noob like me.
I just started running folding@home on ubuntu gutsy. I have an Centrino duo notebook. When I look on the system-monitor I see one CPU at almost 100% and the other is at a very low level. What is suspicious for me too is, that the process fahcore_81.exe is running 4 times, but only one is working, the 3 others are sleeping. Thanks for your support.

mbmajo
mbmajo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:49 am

Re: CPU Usage

Postby Ivoshiee » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:22 am

Do not worry, everything is fine.
Ivoshiee
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Estonia

Re: CPU Usage

Postby mbmajo » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:43 am

Well, I hope you are right. It's working now for one and a half hour and has not even finished a singe percent. Why are 3 fahcore_81 processes sleeping and only one is working? Isn't that a waste of computing ressources???
From the psychological point of view. I participated in Seti@home a few years ago and there I could see much more progress! That made me keen on getting more. Just for the marketing: That little progress here is a bit frustrating!!! :?
mbmajo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:49 am

Re: CPU Usage

Postby toTOW » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:08 pm

That's strange ... you should only see one core process ... :?

If you want to fully utilize your CPU, run two consoles, or run a v6 console with -smp flag ...

edit : if you want us to tell if your progress is normal, give us the project number of your WU and your CPU specs.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8500
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: CPU Usage

Postby Ivoshiee » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:14 pm

There are no FAH Cores what have only one thread - all these other non-working cores are actually a threads of one FAH Core.
Code: Select all
[ivo@ragana ~]$ /etc/init.d/folding status 1

['folding' ver. 5.9]

Status of running FAH client(s) on 4 processor(s):
Status on all possible FAH client(s):
fah6 (pid 2120 2140 2175 2223) is running
Status on all possible FAH cores (FahCore_82.exe FahCore_81.exe FahCore_80.exe FahCore_79.exe FahCore_78.exe):
FahCore_82.exe is stopped
FahCore_81.exe (pid 5643 5644 5645 5646 6424 6425 6426 6427 6474 6475 6476 6477 32283 32284 32285 32286) is running
FahCore_80.exe is stopped
FahCore_79.exe is stopped
FahCore_78.exe is stopped
Status on all possible 'FaH' scripts:
FaH (pid 2080 2127 2174 2221) is running


Processes running from /home/ivo/folding2/foldingathome/CPU1 directory:
FAH client pids: 2120
FAH core pids: 32283 32284 32285 32286
FaH pids: 2080

FAH client flags: '-forceasm -verbosity 9'

 Index 8: folding now 343.00 pts (7.591 pt/hr) 51 X min speed; 86% complete
  server: 171.64.122.82:8080; project: 3620, "p3620_Seq26_Amber03_Extended"
  Folding: run 28, clone 19, generation 6; benchmark 0; misc: 500, 102
  issue: Wed Feb 20 23:12:02 2008; begin: Wed Feb 20 23:12:06 2008
  expect: Fri Feb 22 20:23:21 2008; due: Tue May 27 00:12:06 2008 (96 days)
  preferred: Fri Apr 25 00:12:06 2008 (64 days)
  core URL: http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/x86/Core_81.fah (V1.00)
  CPU: 1,0 x86; OS: 4,0 Linux
  tag: P3620R28C19F6
  assignment info (le): Wed Feb 20 23:11:57 2008; A41669B0
  CS: 171.64.122.76; P limit: 10484736
  user: ivo@vendomar.ee; team: 0; ID: B89F3914442CDE12; mach ID: 1
  work/wudata_08.dat file size: 365946; WU type: Folding@Home
Results successfully sent: Mon Feb  4 00:14:01 2008
Average download rate 101.118 KB/s (u=4); upload rate 86.975 KB/s (u=4)
Performance fraction 0.985993 (u=4)
Average pph: 8.232, ppd: 197.57, ppw: 1383.0, ppy: 72161



Status of FAH client(s): OK
[ivo@ragana ~]$
Ivoshiee
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Estonia

Re: CPU Usage

Postby mbmajo » Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:11 pm

There are 4 processes with the identifiers 11507, 11514, 11515 and 11516. only 11515 is working with on average 45% and the other 3 are sleeping. I am running project 3643 run 106 clone 9 gene 8. My machine is a Intel T2350 @1,86 GHz and 1 GB Ram.

After 1 hour and 5 Minutes it has finished his first percentage. lol, and after that it has shut down. :lol:
mbmajo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:49 am

Re: CPU Usage

Postby Ivoshiee » Fri Feb 22, 2008 3:22 pm

mbmajo wrote:There are 4 processes with the identifiers 11507, 11514, 11515 and 11516. only 11515 is working with on average 45% and the other 3 are sleeping. I am running project 3643 run 106 clone 9 gene 8. My machine is a Intel T2350 @1,86 GHz and 1 GB Ram.

After 1 hour and 5 Minutes it has finished his first percentage. lol, and after that it has shut down. :lol:

Everything is OK, it does work that way.
If you want to get more FAH Cores running then install the SMP client.
Ivoshiee
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Estonia

Re: CPU Usage

Postby bruce » Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:19 pm

toTOW wrote:That's strange ... you should only see one core process ... :?

That's true for Windows but not in Linux. What Windows shows as one process is actually one very busy process plus three other processes that rarely need the CPU.

Like Ivoshiee said, everything is normal.

If you want to fully utilize your CPU, run two consoles, or run a v6 console with -smp flag ...


True. Running two console clients will cause two very busy processes to be run (plus other mostly idle ones) and both CPU-Core's will be working. Running with the -smp flag will produce four very busy process, each taking about half of a CPU-Core on a dual-core machine.
bruce
 
Posts: 21686
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Linux Uniprocessor Client v5.0x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron