Page 1 of 1

"Could not get assignment"

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:29 am
by Bullifreund
My Laptop (Centrino 1,7GHz - hm, not quite up to date...) ran fine under WinXP. Few weeks ago it stopped folding, log file said "could not get assigment", while CPU stayed "ready", highlighted in blue. Uninstall/reinstall did not help.
Last week I changed the system to Linux (Pinguy 12) and installed FaH again: same result, same error "could not get assignment". What's wrong?
Could it be a problem, that I've got another PC running with same identity?

Assistance welcome...
Reinhard

Re: "Could not get assignment"

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:51 am
by bollix47
Welcome to the folding@home support forum Bullifreund.

There appears to be a shortage of work for that hardware configuration at the present time. See this post. You could shut it down for now and check back occasionally to see if the situation has improved.

Having multiple PCs with the same username, team number etc. is not a problem and is how most people run folding.

Re: "Could not get assignment"

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:28 pm
by bruce
FAH is aware of the problem in assigning to your Dothan based Centrino 390 (with SSE2 SIMD support). There's no prediction when the fix will be delivered, though.