Pentium III GPU Folding?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby lambdapro » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:14 pm

Is anyone out there doing GPU folding on a Pentium III?
I was just given a 1GHz Dell Dimension 4100 with AGP 4x and am thinking about trying it with a 3850, 4650 or 4670 just to see how it does.
It has a PC Power & Cooling PSU.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby Nathan_P » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:19 pm

lambdapro wrote:Is anyone out there doing GPU folding on a Pentium III?
I was just given a 1GHz Dell Dimension 4100 with AGP 4x and am thinking about trying it with a 3850, 4650 or 4670 just to see how it does.
It has a PC Power & Cooling PSU.
David


Not sure if anyone has tried it witha cpu this old, there are alo some low end nvidia cards out there that fit into PCI slots that may be worth looking at
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby jrweiss » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:29 pm

The problem will be finding an AGP GPU at a reasonable price. When I looked for an X1950 several years ago, the AGP cards were more expensive than the equivalent PCIe cards.

Other than that, with the proper Environment Variables set, it should take less than 10% of the CPU...
i7-4770K/MSI GTX 1050ti, 388.43 driver
i7-3770S/MSI GTX 1050ti, 398.36 driver
Win7-64Pro
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby lambdapro » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:43 pm

I found an AGP 4650 for $70. Might go with that. I don't know about any PCI Nvidia cards that would fold. This computer does not have PCI Express, of course.
The computer is not useful for anything general purpose any longer because it is maxed out at 512 MB RAM. And that just barely runs XP nowadays.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby Zagen30 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:46 pm

There are a couple of manufacturers who make PCI 9500 GT's. I believe the Nvidia core stil requires SSE2 to be present on the CPU to run, so currently you couldn't use a P3 to feed one of them, but I think the ATI core only requires SSE1, so theoretically they should work.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby lambdapro » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:52 pm

I'll pull a 3850 from one of my other machines and just see if it will boot up with it.
TKS for the info. I'll keep you posted.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby bruce » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:34 am

By the way, check that your power supply is big enough.

Zagen30 wrote:I believe the Nvidia core stil requires SSE2 to be present on the CPU to run, so currently you couldn't use a P3 to feed one of them, but I think the ATI core only requires SSE1, so theoretically they should work.


I'm quite certain that this has been fixed . . . but let us know if it wasn't.
bruce
 
Posts: 22331
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby Zagen30 » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:40 am

Oh, it might very well have been fixed, and I don't run a P3\Nvidia combination, so I can't check it. I was just going on memory, and the last thing I recall was you telling someone that you would ask the higher-ups to change it.
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby jrweiss » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:03 pm

lambdapro wrote:I found an AGP 4650 for $70. Might go with that. I don't know about any PCI Nvidia cards that would fold. This computer does not have PCI Express, of course.
The computer is not useful for anything general purpose any longer because it is maxed out at 512 MB RAM. And that just barely runs XP nowadays.
David

I run a 4670 PCIe, and it Folds nicely. It draws significantly less power than my 3850. AGP versions exist, so shop around: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814131329
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby powerarmour » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:39 am

I GPU fold with a onboard VIA C7 1.5Ghz, which isn't much faster at all than a PIII... :)

I use one of these boards which has a PCI-E x16 slot :-

http://www.idot.com.tw/en/products/mb-pc3500g/

I've currently got a 9800GTX+ in there doing over 6k PPD, so it doesn't slow anything down (running Ubuntu 9.04 x86, and the GPU2 via Wine).

Image
Image
powerarmour
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby domboy » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:58 pm

How much does the CPU matter anyway? With the environmental variables in place for ATI or a new enough nVidia driver the CPU usage is only a couple percentages anyway, so does the speed of the CPU really affect GPU folding anymore??
domboy
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:42 pm
Location: Wilmington NC

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby toTOW » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:38 pm

For nVidia GPUs, you need to have a CPU that supports SSE2. And for ATI, only SSE is mandatory.

By the way, you need a powerful enough CPU to feed the GPU (especially on ATI that tends to use a bit more CPU time than NV), but I don't know the low limit for each platform.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8689
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby powerarmour » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:06 pm

Well in that case I'd probably say that a VIA C7 is the slowest CPU you can get that supports SSE2 and Nvidia folding, and that's easily enough to do it in my experience without affecting the GPU2 output of the card.

The C7 1.5Ghz I have runs at about ~30% usage in system monitor, but this is running Wine also which has a bit more overhead, so it's a fair bit less in Vista/Win7. I reckon you could get away with a 1Ghz PIII with ATI GPU2 folding, but I think you'd need the windows environment tweaks.
powerarmour
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby lambdapro » Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:02 pm

Long story short, I could not get the 4670 AGP to work in my Dell Dimension 4100. I tried a variety of drivers, HIS, hotfix, ....
At best the display driver would simply not install. At worst, the driver would install and then go to a blank screen after rebooting into Windows XP Pro.
I put that 4670 into my other AGP system and got it to work with the HIS driver.
I then took the 3850 out of the other AGP system, used the current 9.12 ATI driver and got it to work in the 4100. The system is working on its first WU now. Will report on the performance after I tune it a bit.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Pentium III GPU Folding?

Postby lambdapro » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:30 pm

My 4100 finished its first WU. It looks like it is going to be about an 1100 ppd computer. Not too bad for a 1 GHz PIII. It is running at just over 75% of GPU capacity. I have looked at adjusting the environment variables to get the best performance. I ended up with FLUSH_INTERVAL=96, CAL_PRE_FLUSH=1, CAL_NO_FLUSH=1, and it did not matter how BROOK_YIELD was set. I don't do anything else on it and it sits at 100% no matter how BROOK_YIELD is set.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Next

Return to General GPU client issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron