Big Projects

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Big Projects

Postby Spitfire19 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:40 pm

I have noticed that big projects ">10MB" option is available under the Connections tab in GPU2. What sizes of projects (in MBs) can I expect if I click the box. (on average)
AMD 965 + Radeon HD 6950 + Win7 Home(x64) + V7.1.52

Currently Working On: Finishing the summer semester.
User avatar
Spitfire19
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:27 pm

Re: Big Projects

Postby P5-133XL » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:46 pm

The big option is not used for GPU projects. At least to my knowledge.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Big Projects

Postby 7im » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:04 pm

Not yet, but they are growing in size. ;)

Also, the downloaded work unit is small. Only the results file would be large.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Big Projects

Postby Jesse_V » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:28 am

I have that checkbox enabled on my clients. I run SMP and GPU3. I have a relatively slow Internet connection, but uploading/downloading have never taken longer than a minute or so. I have not seen my RAM being consumed that much either. Unless you have a really materialistic machine, I'd enable it. You'd probably get WUs that are worth more points anyway, but I'm not sure about that. AFAIK, its not that big of a deal.
Pen tester at Cigital/Synopsys
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2894
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA


Return to General GPU client issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron