No appropriate work server was found

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

No appropriate work server was found

Postby Jesse_V » Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:29 pm

Code: Select all
[11:35:53] + Attempting to send results [December 3 11:35:53 UTC]
[11:35:53] Gpu type=2 species=11.
[11:35:53] + Results successfully sent
[11:35:53] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
[11:35:53] + Number of Units Completed: 592

[11:35:57] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[11:35:57] Cleaning up work directory
[11:35:57] + Attempting to get work packet
[11:35:57] Passkey found
[11:35:57] Gpu type=2 species=11.
[11:35:57] - Connecting to assignment server
[11:35:58] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[11:35:58] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[11:35:58] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[11:36:06] + Attempting to get work packet
[11:36:06] Passkey found
[11:36:06] Gpu type=2 species=11.
[11:36:06] - Connecting to assignment server
[11:36:06] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[11:36:06] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[11:36:06] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[11:36:17] + Attempting to get work packet
[11:36:17] Passkey found
[11:36:17] Gpu type=2 species=11.
[11:36:17] - Connecting to assignment server
[11:36:17] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[11:36:17] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[11:36:17] - Attempt #3  to get work failed, and no other work to do.

The end for pre-Fermi cards is near, but if there's still WUs to be processed then hopefully they can fix this.
This is in Linux, but it looks like Windows to the server.
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Joe_H » Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:08 pm

Well both WS's with Core_11 projects are listed as up and assigning WU's on the server stats page. Hopefully you will get an assignment soon.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:20 am

Joe_H wrote:Well both WS's with Core_11 projects are listed as up and assigning WU's on the server stats page. Hopefully you will get an assignment soon.

Thanks for checking. Still the same error though.
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby ArVee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:53 am

I know you said Linux, but in Windows and pre Ver 7 and Core 11 when this happens, I delete queue.dat and the work directory and then receive work again next try.
ArVee
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:25 am

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:30 am

ArVee wrote:I know you said Linux, but in Windows and pre Ver 7 and Core 11 when this happens, I delete queue.dat and the work directory and then receive work again next try.

This is in Linux through Wine, using the v6 GPU3 client on my GT 240m, it's just a modified install. I have a queue.dat file and everything. I'll try that, thanks.
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby 7im » Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:46 pm

Have you checked the core_11 Work Servers? How manu WUs in the Avail column on the SS page?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Joe_H » Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:00 pm

171.67.108.11 over 67,000 is the number listed, nearly 200K on 171.67.108.21. Both show as having assigned WU's in the last few update periods in the logs, and both show WU's received and waiting to upload to the stats.
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Jesse_V » Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:46 pm

ArVee wrote:I know you said Linux, but in Windows and pre Ver 7 and Core 11 when this happens, I delete queue.dat and the work directory and then receive work again next try.

You win the prize here. That did the trick.

I'm up and running again. Good to know that the servers are still handing out work.
The few pre-Fermi cards left will just keep running these projects out as far as they can before it's closed down.
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Assimilator1 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:30 pm

Hmm, can't get any WUs for my GTX 260.

18:00:09:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
18:02:16:WU03:FS01:0xa4:Completed 37500 out of 250000 steps (15%)
18:03:59:WU01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:5769 run:6 clone:304 gen:5302 core:0x11 unit:0x64b46ea7530e774614b6013000061689
18:03:59:WU01:Uploading 97.40KiB to 171.67.108.11
18:03:59:WU01:Connecting to 171.67.108.11:8080
18:04:02:WARNING:WU01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Transfer failed
18:04:02:WU01:Trying to send results to collection server
18:04:02:WU01:Uploading 97.40KiB to 171.67.108.25
18:04:02:WU01:Connecting to 171.67.108.25:8080
18:04:05:ERROR:WU01:Exception: Transfer failed
18:06:59:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
18:07:00:WU00:FS00:News:
18:07:00:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
18:07:00:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
18:07:00:WU00:FS00:News:
18:07:00:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
18:07:00:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

Same problem?
Main rig - i7 4820k @3.9 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 1866, HD 7950
2nd rig - Q9550 @3.6GHz, 424MHz FSB, tRD8, 4GB DDR2 1066, HD 5850 1GB
Assimilator1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 5:15 pm
Location: UK, Surrey, Guildford

Re: No appropriate work server was found

Postby Joe_H » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:45 pm

No, you revived a year old topic. As referred to in the last post before yours, the Core_11 work for pre-Fermi cards was announced end of life over a year ago and the WU's were going to be assigned until they stopped assigning them. That happened in August when the server with that work failed and could not be revived. The WS 171.67.108.11 can not accept your job, and the CS also being contacted has not been active for years. The assignment server could not connect your system to any WS with work appropriate for your GTX 260. The full, very long topic discussing the failures of this WS and the connected Core_11 projects is here - viewtopic.php?f=18&t=26481.

At this time the best way to proceed is to remove the GPU folding slot for your GTX 260. That will also clear out the WU that is trying to upload to the failed server.
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to General GPU client issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron