0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Postby Yavanius » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:08 am

NVS4200M Chipset with i5 2nd Generation (mobile)

After GPU processing is paused and then attempting to restart it later. Folding@home crashes with a 0xc0000142 error box. At this point, there is no way to close the client, access the Advanced Client, or restart the core.

If you attempt to access the Advanced Client I see in Task Manager that a 2nd instance briefly loads and then drops out. The only way to exit out is do an End task from the Task Manager.

I had this occur twice. The first time I lost 3 hours of work and the second 2.64 hrs, based on the difference paused ETA and then the ETA (which was longer) again when I get it restarted and running again. (The difference x 24 hours)
User avatar
Yavanius
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:55 am
Location: 92408

Re: 0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Postby Yavanius » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:20 am

Hrm, since I can't figure how to post an image...

FAHCoreWrapper.exe - Application Error

O This application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142). Click OK to
x close the application.
User avatar
Yavanius
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:55 am
Location: 92408

Re: 0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Postby toTOW » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:17 pm

Logs ?

OS ? Drivers version ?
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 8846
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: 0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Postby bruce » Fri Nov 11, 2016 7:58 pm

Just a guess: Have you added or removed GPUs since you originally installed FAH? If you have, a reinstall of FAH is the only way to cure the sort of things you're reporting.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20911
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 0xc0000142 Error on Core Restart

Postby Yavanius » Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:09 am

toTOW wrote:OS ? Drivers version ?


Windows 10.

V21.21.13.6909

Couldn't determine if the log had a record of the crash or not but I noticed this part where you can see that part of the previous progress is lost on restart:

13:16:37:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 1925000 out of 2500000 steps (77%)
******************************* Date: 2016-11-11 *******************************
14:08:55:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 1950000 out of 2500000 steps (78%)
14:31:33:FS01:Shutting core down
14:31:33:WU01:FS01:0x21:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 3948
14:31:33:WU01:FS01:0x21:Exiting, please wait. . .
14:31:34:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home Core Shutdown: INTERRUPTED
14:31:49:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
14:32:27:Removing old file 'configs/config-20161107-155911.xml'
14:32:27:Saving configuration to config.xml
14:32:27:<config>
14:32:27: <!-- Folding Core -->
14:32:27: <checkpoint v='14'/>
14:32:27:
14:32:27: <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
14:32:27: <cause v='CANCER'/>
14:32:27:
14:32:27: <!-- Network -->
14:32:27: <proxy v=':8080'/>
14:32:27:
14:32:27: <!-- User Information -->
14:32:27: <passkey v='********************************'/>
14:32:27: <team v='11'/>
14:32:27: <user v='Runestar007'/>
14:32:27:
14:32:27: <!-- Work Unit Control -->
14:32:27: <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>
14:32:27:
14:32:27: <!-- Folding Slots -->
14:32:27: <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
14:32:27:</config>
User avatar
Yavanius
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:55 am
Location: 92408


Return to General GPU client issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron