Gpu client not folding.

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Gpu client not folding.

Postby Osmonde » Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:58 pm

I'm running windows 7 64 bit, and I'm trying to run the gpu client, but it just sits there and doesn't do anything. I'm not sure if it's even downloading a work unit. When I open up the viewer in the "Donor" section it says "core is not running now", and the current work unit name says "test protein A" and the progress always starts from 0 everytime I open up the viewer. I've had the client running for several days and it just sits there not doing anything. And while it's running the gpu activity sits at zero. I have tried the tray, and the console version. Neither work.
Osmonde
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby RAH » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:16 am

What video card, drivers? The console is easier to me, just don't install it in program files.
Create a folder on C:/ like FOLDING and put it in there. Create a shortcut (send to desktop)
and add " -configonly " to the target line under properties. OK! Double click and set up.
Should work fine.
Image
User avatar
RAH
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:29 am
Location: Florida

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby PantherX » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:17 am

Welcome to the Forum Osmonde,

It is advices not to use the Viewer that is with the Client to monitor the Progress. I recommend that you read my Guide (in sig) and if you have any problems, please tell us and we will help you. I recommend that you use HFM.NET for monitoring the F@H Client.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby Osmonde » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:38 am

I'm having the same problem with the console version as I am with the tray version. It's just sitting there not doing anything. My gpu activity is sitting at 0. It seems to get stuck at
[00:26:30] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr: 2986397016 540139608 1486619925 2539110657 267248769

My video card is the ATI 4670
My video drivers are: Catalyst version 10.3
Osmonde
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby PantherX » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:57 am

I maybe you should try out the latest Drivers. Use the use this flag -forcegpu ati_r700 also read this article about Environment Variables: (http://en.fah-addict.net/articles/articles-1-3+gpu-environment-variables.php) If you are still having problems, please post the FAHLog here by using the Code Button.
Code: Select all
FAHLog appears like this.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby Osmonde » Fri Jun 25, 2010 1:36 am

I think the problem may be Surround View. It comes with the ati 800 series chipset, and allows you to use the display ports of your gpu, and the onboard grapics to allow upto 4 displays. This is the only thing I can think of that would mess up the gpu client, because I was running it successfully about 6 monthes ago when I was only using 2 monitors.
Osmonde
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby sillyshitt » Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:47 am

OK. This sounds exactly like what I had, and all I had to do was "run as administrator".
Under Win7 Folding@home don't have the privilege to save it's settings in the "Program Files" folder.
So basically no user data is created or saved.

Hope this helps.
sillyshitt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:22 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby bruce » Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:53 am

Folding@home should not be creating data files in "Program Files"

You're supposed to be using a shortcut that has a "Start in" setting pointing to a place where the data files can be stored.

Which client are you running, and how did you install it?
bruce
 
Posts: 20837
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby sillyshitt » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:09 am

I downloaded the "Folding@home-systray-632.msi" from the "High Performance Windows Clients page" the first choice.
It installs in Program files (unless I specify something else) and saves some user data when started for the first time.

MyFolding.html; queue.dat; client.cfg and some more. Nothing strange with that.
sillyshitt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:22 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby gwildperson » Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:01 pm

Yes FAH installs the programs in "Program files" but if you use the right shortcut settings it will not save the data there. Didn't you notice that the .msi created a shortcut for you? Apparently you did not use it.
gwildperson
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:36 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby sillyshitt » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:23 am

It created one in the start menu and one on the desktop. Could You be a little bit more specific?
And since I have a ATI 5870 I had to create my own "shortcut" with the special flag for ATI 5xxx series.
sillyshitt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:22 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby Shadowjump » Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:43 pm

I have exactly 100% the same problem with a 4890.

I tried both GPU2 and GPU3 clients.

Isn't there a fix for that? Which client is advised for an HD4xxx series card?
Shadowjump
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby Shadowjump » Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:46 pm

Exactly the same problem here as the original poster. It says something about a protein and core not working now and the progress starts from 0...
Which client is suggested for HD4xxx series cards?

I have the latest drivers 10.11 (?).
Shadowjump
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby gahram » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:26 am

I got a similar issue. Although the client IS folding, it don't show on the display. it does exactly that. Is always test protein A and always starts from 0. However, putting the cursor on the task bar icon it says "working 8600/10000" (example) and it does keep going up. Checking the log it is working, it is sending, it IS receiving, it is sending. It just don't show in the viewer window. I'm now using version 6.41 r42 after trying all others and having the same issue. at first i had the "graphics card not supported" error and used the -forcegpu ati_r800 string to get it to work. could that be it?
gahram
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Gpu client not folding.

Postby PantherX » Tue Apr 26, 2011 12:48 am

The viewer that is present in the v6 is known to be buggy/resource hog. Please avoid using it.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Next

Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron