A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:08 pm

I've been seeing some interesting results for which it's not entirely clear whether I'm seeing an effect of the ATI GPU hardware or the ATI OpenCL runtime. I hate to take resources away from real folding, but if you've got spare cores (hah) and are willing to run MemtestCL on your CPU, that'd be great too.
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:19 pm

My CPU will be idle for ~2.5 hours so I won't mind running it but can you please tell me how to do so? (Step-by-Step instructions would be appreciated)
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:19 pm

If you have the ATI Stream SDK installed, then when you run memtestCL with no -p or -g flag, it will prompt you to select an OpenCL platform and device. You'll want to pick the ATI Stream platform and your CPU as the device. Once you know the numbers associated with those two options, you can pass them to the -p (platform) and -g (device) command line options to have those selected automatically.
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:20 pm

Well, I tried to experiment but it results in the Application crashing. Here is what I did:
Code: Select all
C:\Users\PantherX\Desktop\memtestCL-1.00-windows>memtestCL -p 1
     -------------------------------------------------------------
     |                       MemtestCL v1.00                     |
     |                                                           |
     | Usage: memtestCL [flags] [MB GPU RAM to test] [# iters]   |
     |                                                           |
     | Defaults: GPU 0, 128MB RAM, 50 test iterations            |
     | Amount of tested RAM will be rounded up to nearest 2MB    |
     -------------------------------------------------------------

      Available flags:
        --platform N ,-p N   : run test on the Nth (from 0) OpenCL platform
        --gpu N ,-g N        : run test on the Nth (from 0) OpenCL device
                               on selected platform
        --license ,-l        : show license terms for this build
        --forcecomm, -f      : DO send test results to Stanford  (don't prompt)
        --bancomm, -b        : DO NOT send test results to Stanford  (don't prom
pt)
        --ramclock X , -r X  : Specify RAM clock speed (for returned results) as
 X MHz
        --coreclock X , -c X : Specify core/ROP clock speed (for returned result
s) as X MHz

Available OpenCL platforms:
         0: NVIDIA CUDA
Available OpenCL devices on selected platform:
         0: NVIDIA CUDA

C:\Users\PantherX\Desktop\memtestCL-1.00-windows>

Thought that if the GPU is p 0 then the CPU might be 1 but it doesn't work. Can anyone please tell me how to run it on the CPU?
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:26 pm

Thanks for the procedure Dr. Imran but I have an Nvidia GPU not not ATI so does it mean that I can't run it on my system?
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:33 pm

Oh, sorry. You can still run it - but you have to install the ATI Stream SDK (NVIDIA's OpenCL runtime doesn't include CPU support but AMD's does). I've had no problems having both runtimes installed on the same machine - it just means that you have to choose a platform at program runtime.

http://developer.amd.com/gpu/atistreams ... fault.aspx
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:58 pm

Thanks for the information. I will try my best to do it.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby PantherX » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 pm

I have finished the first run of the application and it doesn't cause any problems when I am folding on the Nvidia GTX 260.

For the RAM Speed and GPU Core Speed, I was unsure what values to enter so I entered zero (0), hope that is fine.

BTW the software runs relatively slow when compared to my GPU :e?: Any thoughts :eugeek:

Also I have updated the post on my teams forum so hopefully, more people will submit data.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:37 pm

PantherX wrote:For the RAM Speed and GPU Core Speed, I was unsure what values to enter so I entered zero (0), hope that is fine.


That's fine.

PantherX wrote:BTW the software runs relatively slow when compared to my GPU :e?: Any thoughts :eugeek:


That's normal.
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby k1wi » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:30 pm

Just saw your request, I'll run it on the CPU as well - I did manage to do it quite easily in the past on I think a quarter of my 12GB of ram.

Just a quick question, I note that on my GPU if I run the memory size between 128MB but and 136MB, it fails to properly display the memory bandwidth... Is this an issue (I can set it to run at 128) or is the main interest any errors that occur?

k1wi
Image
k1wi
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:36 pm

k1wi wrote:Just a quick question, I note that on my GPU if I run the memory size between 128MB but and 136MB, it fails to properly display the memory bandwidth... Is this an issue (I can set it to run at 128) or is the main interest any errors that occur?


Don't worry about the memory bandwidth. That measurement actually isn't particularly well-written, and the number it emits is only vaguely meaningful. I'm not looking at it.
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby k1wi » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:56 am

Okay, I'm running it on the CPU (using 1.2GB of memory) concurrently with the GPU.

Running it on the CPU is maxing out my i7 @100% CPU utilisation over 8 threads (with just the two memtests running) and a hitting memory bandwidth of 10GB/s.
k1wi
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby #64-Lux » Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:51 pm

I'm running both GPU (4870) and CPU (Q9550) memtest with 128 MB. Priorities of both are reduced to Idle by AffinityChanger.
SMP client is also running (for additional heating ;)).
#64-Lux
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby WhiteLion » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:50 pm

I let my i7-980 and my HD5850 run.

Also I posted the request in my team forum, to find more tester. :)
Image
Image
User avatar
WhiteLion
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 9:56 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: A special request for ATI 4xxx/5xxx owners (memory testing)

Postby ihaque » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:28 pm

I see lots of data coming in - thanks, all!
User avatar
ihaque
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:20 am
Location: Stanford

PreviousNext

Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron