folding with a HD 6900

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

folding with a HD 6900

Postby ganymede » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:34 pm

Hi All

I installed the have tried using the GPU software however it simply says my card is not support?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.

Peter
ganymede
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:32 pm

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby PantherX » Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:15 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum ganymede,

Can you please give us some more details like:
What OS (Operating System) you are using?
Which F@H Client have you installed?
What Drivers have you installed on your system?
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby GreyWhiskers » Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:38 pm

Re: FAHClient V7.1.33 released (3rd Open-Beta)
by 7im » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:06 pm

Open a command line.
Change directories to where the fahclient.exe is located.
Run the command: FAHClient.exe --lspci

Then post the output of that command to this forum.


If you are running the v7 software, try the following and post it to the forum also. Folding at Home v7 software has a "whitelist" explicitly enumerating which GPUs will run - and many of the newest cards aren't on the white list yet.

GW.
User avatar
GreyWhiskers
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:57 am
Location: Saratoga, California USA

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby 7im » Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:13 pm

If using v6, the install guide suggests using a forcegpu switch.

But I recommend you switch to V7, which supports a newer fahcore for ATI cards, i.e. More science and points.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby ganymede » Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:40 pm

Hi

sorry im quite new to this, i downloaded:

Windows XP/2003/Vista/7 GPU3 (required for Fermi) System tray client with special viewer for NVIDIA GPU's (installer msi). 6.41

and get an unsupported card error. I am currently running the CPU client but believe the GPU client would run better.

I tried GPU2 and GPU3 based installs both give me the same issue.

I am using driver version:8.881.0.0 for the card which is dated 2011/07.

My OS is Windows Server 64bit 2008, R2 Enterprise, Build 7601.

tried this on V7.

Thanks a Lot

Peter
ganymede
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:32 pm

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby 7im » Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:53 am

As I noted above, please review the Systray GPU install guide on the FAH website. http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGPUGuide#ntoc2

Note the Additional Parameters field on the Advanced tab. You will want to add this text: -forcegpu ati_r800
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby ganymede » Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:18 am

Thanks a lot working now.
ganymede
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:32 pm

Re: folding with a HD 6900

Postby toTOW » Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:56 pm

The performance of the old client/core is awful on the HD6900 cards.

I highly recommend upgrading to the v7 client.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8329
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France


Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron