Radeon pre-4999 Unsupported. (Very few WUs left)

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Radeon pre-4999 Unsupported. (Very few WUs left)

Postby p24601 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:32 pm

Hi, I have installed the new V7 client for Win7 and my ATI 4850 card.
All works fine and dandy.

But the client only downloads one new WU per day. I've checked the logs and it states that there are no new WU available.
The old GPU client used to download them for fun! (One every few hours. The new client, it takes one to two hours to complete)

Is there still testing being done on V7, is that way there are no WU available?

Thanks
P24601

EDIT:
I've completed my first WU today which was done in one hour, I've just received my second of the day, ETA four hours.
It seems to me Folding@home are still doing some testing?
cross/'kros/ n: a thing they nail people to.
I Am The Way To A Forsaken People...
Image
p24601
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby bruce » Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:03 pm

Welcome to foldingforum.org, p24601.

Unfortunately, I have bad news for you. The software that supports the HD 4850 is being gradually deprecated so you may or may not be able to get work at any particular time.

Most new projects for ATI GPUs are restricted to HD5xxx or later because they require OpenCL 1.1 or better. There are a limited number of older projects that use Brook support rather than OpenCL and when all of the WUs for those projects have been assigned to someone to work on, you won't be able to get work. (New WUs are generated when existing work is completed, so you may be able to get work at any time. I also believe that all of that type of work is now on a single server, so if that server is having troubles, you'll have to wait for it to be fixed -- though that's not a common event.

Testing for V7 is continuing, but the latest Windows version is in pretty good shape. Unfortunately it won't change the assignments you can get for a HD 4850.
bruce
 
Posts: 21286
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby p24601 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:31 pm

Damn. So if I wish to continue I have to upgrade... HD5xxx or better, lets see what amazon as got.
p24601
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby Robby_Firefox » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:26 pm

Is there any additional info on the downgrade of the older GPU clients? Is this for all of the GPU or does it matter if you have Windows XP, 7, etc.? Are there any additional settings (like including -advmethods) in the new client. Don't see where to put the 'advanced' settings... :?

The video card that was doing mighty fine until late. Now I get may be one GPU folding job per day; when I used to get 4-7 per day (that was on version 6.23). Given the slim pickings, I recently upgraded the Folding client to 7.1.52 which has the CPU doing 'work' again for the first time in a while. Doing some research a year or so ago, it will be tough to put a 5000 series or greater video card on this system. Have been entertaining the idea of upgrading to a faster system; though this system is fine for what we do. I already have brought Windows 7, just have not installed it yet.

Windows XP Pro
CPU: a 1st generation AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core at 4200
3 Gig of RAM, and
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4600

Thanks,
Robby - Team Firefox
Image
Robby_Firefox
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Madison, AL

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby P5-133XL » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:11 pm

I don't think the client matters but the client-type will. Since you are generally dealing with old projects, you will want to get work from the standard servers (i.e. don't use advanced or beta client-types). Brand new projects start out in beta and move to advanced followed by general release. Since all the projects you are competing for are old, you should only strive to get projects that are in general release. If you choose beta or advanced there will be far fewer projects available.

The client defaults to general release. to change, first you need to set the v7 client into expert mode. Then click the configure button and move to the expert tab. There you will click "add" to the extra client options adding the parameter "client-type" with a value of "advanced" or "beta".
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby Zagen30 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:36 pm

P5-133XL wrote:I don't think the client matters but the client-type will. Since you are generally dealing with old projects, you will want to get work from the standard servers (i.e. don't use advanced or beta client-types). Brand new projects start out in beta and move to advanced followed by general release. Since all the projects you are competing for are old, you should only strive to get projects that are in general release. If you choose beta or advanced there will be far fewer projects available.

The client defaults to general release. to change, first you need to set the v7 client into expert mode. Then click the configure button and move to the expert tab. There you will click "add" to the extra client options adding the parameter "client-type" with a value of "advanced" or "beta".


Wouldn't the small pool of projects that a 4850 can run make client-type a moot point? If he does have the client-type set to advanced, and there's no advanced-earmarked core_11 projects, wouldn't the assignment servers just pick from the pool of regular core_11 WUs anyway? I find it unlikely that the AS's would get hung up trying to assign a 4850 work it can't do in the first place.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby P5-133XL » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:01 pm

Nice theory, but from previous depreciated clients, the client-type mattered a lot. The client-type variable determines which server will service the client. It becomes a question of getting some WU's or never getting any because one server says I don't have any to give while a different server may say I do have some to give. Theoretically, the beta server should pass the request to the advanced and the advanced servers pass the request to the general release servers but I've not seen that happen. Rather if you look at the logs, you just get assigned to one server and if it is out, you're done.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby 7im » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:18 pm

Is this failure to roll over to the next server V7 related or not?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby P5-133XL » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 pm

I don't believe so. I noticed it way before v7. I think It's in the server code.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby Robby_Firefox » Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:42 am

Thanks for the advice. Have given the client the ability to accept beta projects. This does not affect keep the client from accepting "regular" jobs if they are available, or does it? If so, will set it back to default. What were those settings anyway?

From Jim's post, it may be a moot point anyway if the 'now old' GPU jobs will soon be history. Before I got more seriously involved with FAH, do remember support for the 1xxx GPU was phased out, thus never had a chance to let my old card do any folding. I suppose this is happening again ~ to cards older than 4xxx?

- Robby of Team Firefox
Robby_Firefox
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Madison, AL

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby Zagen30 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 1:31 am

Yes, the 2000 and 3000 series will also be deprecated. The current AMD GPU core is written in OpenCL; neither the 2000 nor 3000 series support OpenCL at all, and the 4000 series doesn't support all the features that the core uses.
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Only 1 WU per day?

Postby p24601 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:58 pm

I've upgraded to a Sapphire HD 6570 now, so I can start folding again. Yey.
Thanks for the help. :-)
p24601
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:17 pm

No more W/Us for Radeon 4xxx

Postby AndrewDixon » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:59 pm

Just wondering if there has been either an issue with GPU work servers, or whether support for Radeon 4xxx series has now stopped, as have not received any Work Units for a couple of days now.

Have attached my fahlog below, card is a Radeon 4830, running GPU2 Client 6.23. Have also tried the v7 Client to see whether I could get any work units with that, but same problem. My SMP client running on the same machine as no problems.

Thanks,
Andrew

Code: Select all
[19:44:59] Loaded queue successfully.
[19:44:59] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[19:44:59] - Autosending finished units... [April 21 19:44:59 UTC]
[19:44:59] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:44:59] Trying to send all finished work units
[19:44:59] - Will indicate memory of 2148 MB
[19:44:59] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[19:44:59] - Detect CPU.[19:44:59] - Autosend completed
 Vendor: GenuineIntel, Family: 6, Model: 7, Stepping: 6
[19:44:59] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:44:59] Connecting to http://assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:45:00] Posted data.
[19:45:00] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[19:45:00] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:45:00] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[19:45:18] + Attempting to get work packet
[19:45:18] - Will indicate memory of 2148 MB
[19:45:18] - Connecting to assignment server
[19:45:18] Connecting to http://assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080/
[19:45:19] Posted data.
[19:45:19] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[19:45:19] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[19:45:19] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
AndrewDixon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: No more W/Us for Radeon 4xxx

Postby verlyol » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:30 pm

V7 work only with fahcore_16 for ATI/AMD, fahcore_16 is compatible only with Radeon hd5xxx and above
Image


I dedicate my participation to my grandmother died in 1992 because of Parkinson's disease
and to my friend Benoit died of leukemia February 18 2012 ...he was 40 years old.
User avatar
verlyol
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:54 am
Location: Brabant-Wallon, Belgium

Re: No more W/Us for Radeon 4xxx

Postby Nathan_P » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:35 pm

WU for the older AMD cards are slowly coming to an end. PG announced a while ago that support for the old brook programming language was be stopped and focus moved to opencl. There are still some wu around but there are a fair few users chasing only a few WU.

As verlyol said though your best bet for getting work is the v6 client.
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Next

Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron