Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby gigajeff » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:13 pm

Hi, I'm running 6.41 on windows 7,

Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-641\Folding@home-Win32-gpu.exe -forcegpu ati_r800

with an ATI V8800 card.

I didn't use it since April, at that time it was working. Now, in August, I get the "can't get work units" error that others are reporting on this thread.

I tried adding -advmethods but that didn't help.

can anyone advise How I can fix this? the SMP 6.34 version I'm running still works ok.
gigajeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:00 pm

Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:59 pm

gigajeff wrote:Hi, I'm running 6.41 on windows 7,

Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-641\Folding@home-Win32-gpu.exe -forcegpu ati_r800

with an ATI V8800 card.

I didn't use it since April, at that time it was working. Now, in August, I get the "can't get work units" error that others are reporting on this thread.

I tried adding -advmethods but that didn't help.

can anyone advise How I can fix this? the SMP 6.34 version I'm running still works ok.


You will have better response if you post in a forum section for GPU folding on PC's instead of this one for Mac OS X SMP folding. I don't know what your V8800 card is equivalent to in the consumer video cards, but folding on cards prior to the AMD HD 5000 series was deprecated over a year ago. WU's started drying up for the ATI 4000 and older cards this Spring and have all but stopped earlier this Summer.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Zagen30 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:18 pm

According to Wikipedia, the V8800 is analogous to a 5870, so it should be able to get work.

In order to get work that the 5000+ series cards can run, you need to upgrade to v7, as the AMD OpenCL core that the current work needs is not supported by the v6 client. v7 is the download found on the main FAH page.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:42 pm

Which page is that from? Doing a little digging myself, I found a comparison page, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison ... _3D_series, that lists the V8800 as supporting OpenCL v1.0. That would make it more comparable to a 4000 series card as far as F@H is concerned unless the V8800 can be updated through firmware or other means to support v1.1 of OpenCL.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Zagen30 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:53 pm

That was exactly what I was looking at. I missed the OpenCL version at the far right, and was just looking at architecture and core specifications, in which respect it looks very much like a 5870 (Cypress XT, 1600 shaders, etc.). On the other hand, the spec page at AMD.com lists it as supporting OpenCL 1.1 (as well as OpenGL 4.1, vs. the 4.0 that WP lists), and I'd trust AMD's page over Wikipedia in this case.
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby gigajeff » Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:59 pm

gigajeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:00 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:16 pm

Then the card should be good as long as you upgrade to the V7 client. Tried finding the OpenCL level on the AMD site, it is not the best site for searching.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby gigajeff » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:17 pm

Hi,

I installed version 7, but it thinks I have no GPU
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14314213/no-gpu.jpg
gigajeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:00 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:33 pm

You may need to add the gpus.txt file to your V7 install, see the instructions here - viewtopic.php?f=83&t=21205.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby gigajeff » Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:35 pm

Joe_H wrote:You may need to add the gpus.txt file to your V7 install, see the instructions here - viewtopic.php?f=83&t=21205.



Ok, that worked, :) now it can see my GPU. However it thinks that CUDA is not supported.

Worse, it seems unable to download anything, as you can see in this screenshot:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14314213/cant-download.jpg
gigajeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:00 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:57 pm

gigajeff wrote:Ok, that worked, now it can see my GPU. However it thinks that CUDA is not supported.

Worse, it seems unable to download anything, as you can see in this screenshot:


Well, I would be concerned if it did report that CUDA was supported, that only applies to nVidia cards. :wink:

As for getting work, it has been a while since I booted one of the Mac's into Windows and ran the Windows V7 client to utilize the GPU for folding. I seem to recall having to set the client type to advanced. There are a couple of projects currently available for advanced or regular folding using the OpenCL folding core listed on the project summary page.

If you could post the text from the beginning of your log file up to the point the client attempts to get work, that would be more useful than a screenshot for troubleshooting. Enclose the log text in Code markers using the option from the full editor and it will be in a scrollable box.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby 7im » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:21 pm

Joe_H wrote:Then the card should be good as long as you upgrade to the V7 client. Tried finding the OpenCL level on the AMD site, it is not the best site for searching.


That's why it's convenient to use the Supported GPUs List from the V7 install guide. Which then has links to the specs for most of the cards listed.

OpenCL 1.1 is what that Specs Page says for a V8800.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:40 pm

Your first link goes to AMD's Driver Compatibility page, how about a link to that Supported GPU's List you mention. I have not seen it linked in any of the different V7 installation guides I have checked so far.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby 7im » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:34 pm

First link is for AMD Stream Processing, aka AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing (APP) Technology, aka OpenCL on GPUs.

First link includes paragraph titled "Supported Devices:" That's your "supported gpus list"

And that first link with supported GPUs section is also linked from V7 Install Guide.

Please look again. ;)
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby gigajeff » Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:07 pm

oh, i mixed up CUDA with OpenCL :oops:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2012-08-06T14:32:53Z ***********************
14:32:53:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
14:32:53:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
14:32:53:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2012 Stanford University
14:32:53:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
14:32:53:         Args: --lifeline 456 --command-port=36330
14:32:53:       Config: C:/ProgramData/FAHClient/config.xml
14:32:53:******************************** Build ********************************
14:32:53:      Version: 7.1.52
14:32:53:         Date: Mar 20 2012
14:32:53:         Time: 19:37:42
14:32:53:      SVN Rev: 3515
14:32:53:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
14:32:53:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
14:32:53:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
14:32:53:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT
14:32:53:     Platform: win32 XP
14:32:53:         Bits: 32
14:32:53:         Mode: Release
14:32:53:******************************* System ********************************
14:32:53:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
14:32:53:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
14:32:53:         CPUs: 8
14:32:53:       Memory: 23.99GiB
14:32:53:  Free Memory: 20.86GiB
14:32:53:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
14:32:53:   On Battery: false
14:32:53:   UTC offset: 2
14:32:53:          PID: 2184
14:32:53:          CWD: C:/ProgramData/FAHClient
14:32:53:           OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
14:32:53:      OS Arch: AMD64
14:32:53:         GPUs: 1
14:32:53:        GPU 0: ATI:3 AMD FirePro V8800
14:32:53:         CUDA: Not detected
14:32:53:Win32 Service: false
14:32:53:***********************************************************************
14:32:53:<config>
14:32:53:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
14:32:53:  <gpu v='true'/>
14:32:53:  <smp v='false'/>
14:32:53:
14:32:53:  <!-- User Information -->
14:32:53:  <team v='215710'/>
14:32:53:  <user v='RedFuckingOstrich'/>
14:32:53:
14:32:53:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
14:32:53:</config>
14:32:53:Trying to access database...
14:32:53:Successfully acquired database lock
14:32:53:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:"AMD FirePro V8800"
14:32:53:WARNING:WU00:No longer matches Slot 0's configuration and there are no other matching slots, dumping
14:32:54:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:DUMPED project:8014 run:7 clone:454 gen:66 core:0xa4 unit:0x000000646652edca4f9b08c53625d8c5
14:32:54:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.58:8080
14:32:54:WU01:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
14:32:54:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
14:32:54:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
14:32:55:WU01:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
14:32:55:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
14:32:55:WU01:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
14:32:55:WU01:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
14:32:55:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
14:32:55:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
14:32:55:WU01:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
14:32:56:WU01:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
14:32:56:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
gigajeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:00 pm

Next

Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron