2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby user123 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:07 am

There's a PC with an Asus P5KR motherboard (one PCI-e x16 + one PCI-e x4 slot).
Can I put a GT 430 (Fermi card) in the x16 slot and a 8600GT (non-Fermi card) in the x4 slot and fold using both cards at the same time? What problems may I face?

Will I have to run two instances of F@H GPU?

The PC runs Windows XP 32-bit and has 2 GB RAM.
user123
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby beer » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:26 am

Hi

When I did have a similar setup (geforce 9600 and geforce 560 ti) I did have some problem with the V7 client. I could not manage to configure it so it would fold on both GPU ans SMP at the same time. So I ended up with FAH GPU Tracker V2 (http://fahtracker.com/) witch I have been stuck with since. (for over a year. I dont know how the v7 is atm)
For me it was easy to setup but there is 3 drawbacks. 1: it cannot use cores that is intended for v7. 2: I have to start it manual (but I dont mind since I rarly restart my mashine) 3: Only one CPU client (either single or SMP) and 7 GPU clients
beer
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:18 am

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby jaxawier » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:48 am

It usually works fine with mixed setup,at least on v6, might need to run Cuda-Z to get their exact position as slots goes,sometimes I have to use switches like:
-forcegpu nvidia_fermi -gpu X for fermis and -forcegpu nvidia_g80 gpu X for pre-fermi,X = slot 0 or 1 as cuda-z reports it (it report cards as 0 or 1 in a two card setup).

disclaimer: it is supposedly enough nowadays with only -gpu X but I dunno,after I picked up folding again recently and got minor issues switches seems to help sort them out in mixed setups,dunno why but it did.
Note: It is with version 6xx and manual setups with shortcuts and eventual switches applied in the shortcuts here.
Another thing,I´m running gts 450 and gtx 460 on drivers in the 260-versions,no problems there while it might be issues with downclocking on very new drivers,had some of that but that is on 5xx-series of cards.
Image
jaxawier
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby bruce » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:32 pm

Quite a bit of work has been put into accomplishing something like this in V7. The very early V7 beta versions had all of the disadvantages of V6 right up to the point that "beer" switched to Tracker. Since then a lot of development work has been put into getting more than one GPU folding at the same time (along with SMP). There still are a few cases where the GPUs are not automatically configured properly. (Sometimes it picks the GPUs in the wrong order.)

V7 is not limited to folding GPUs plus only one CPU/SMP WU, but I don't really see the need to have more than one.

A GT 430 plus a 8600GT may use enough CPU support to impact the speed of SMP, but probably not. You may want to do some tweaking to get the ultimate throughput but the default settings are probably very close to ideal except for the possibility of needing to interchange the index settings to associate the right GPU with the right slot.

Personally, I'd recommend V7, but either one will probably work fine for you.
bruce
 
Posts: 21083
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby kiore » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:40 pm

Just seen this, have been considering replacing my current 3 GTX 260's with 2 GTX 560ti's. But could I run a GTCX 260 as well as the fermi's, had thought this was not possible.. But if it is in v7 would consider replacing the 260's one at a time.
Am still running v6 for the 260's.
Image

Intel i7 3820, 1 gtx 980ti and 1 gtx 1080 in win 7. V.7
kiore
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby HaloJones » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:15 am

Can do it with v6 as well. I run a 465GTX and an 8800GT in the same machine along with an SMP client
Image
4x 970GTX
HaloJones
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:16 am

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby domboy » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:47 pm

HaloJones wrote:Can do it with v6 as well. I run a 465GTX and an 8800GT in the same machine along with an SMP client


Yup, I've done it too with V6, though with a 450 and a 220GT. As jaxawier previously posted, it's the switches that make it work:
-forcegpu nvidia_fermi -gpu X
for fermis and
-forcegpu nvidia_g80 -gpu X
for pre-fermis

Without those switches, I think what usually happened was the second client started would try to use the same core as the client already running, and just sit there.
domboy
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:42 pm
Location: Wilmington NC

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby kiore » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:05 pm

domboy wrote:
HaloJones wrote:Can do it with v6 as well. I run a 465GTX and an 8800GT in the same machine along with an SMP client


Yup, I've done it too with V6, though with a 450 and a 220GT. As jaxawier previously posted, it's the switches that make it work:
-forcegpu nvidia_fermi -gpu X
for fermis and
-forcegpu nvidia_g80 -gpu X
for pre-fermis

Without those switches, I think what usually happened was the second client started would try to use the same core as the client already running, and just sit there.


Quick question re this, a long time since I have needed to set up a new client the switches are added in additional client parameters?
kiore
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby 7im » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:26 pm

Other than the above hardware specific recommendation, you don't need to add any others. Some add -verbosity 9, or -advmethods, but not a requirement, and neither change the PPD.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby csvanefalk » Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:52 am

As someone who is considering buying a 1080Ti and leaving my existing 970 in the same box, I was just wondering if this is a concern as of 2017?
Gigabyte X79-UD7, Intel i7 3930K, 16 GB DDR3, Fedora 17
My folding stats http://fah-web2.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=0&username=svanefalk
csvanefalk
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 10:28 am

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby JimboPalmer » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:06 pm

Use the latest drivers from Nvidia's website.
http://www.nvidia.com/drivers/results/118524
The Beta 7.4.16 software is better than the 7.4.4 version.
You are better off installing the hardware then reinstalling the 7.4.16 software, The software finds cards better as a new install than it does adding hardware to an existing install. (in my opinion)
https://folding.stanford.edu/beta/
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
I did not set out to have a brain transplant, but then I changed my mind.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: 2 different Nvidia cards in the same computer

Postby Nathan_P » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:43 pm

It should work, I've just rebuilt one of my rigs and it has a 750ti and a 1080 in it, both folding away with no issues
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands


Return to NVIDIA specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron