Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby lambdapro » Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:58 pm

Last week I picked up a PCI 9500GT card that I was going to add to my AGP 3850 machine. It did not practically work. But once I was able to get it running with the 3850, just not on reboot.
Now, my friend and I have a GTX250 and GTX260 respectively. Since the problem with the AGP appeared to be ATI and nvidia driver incompatibility, I am wondering if this PCI card should work if added to a PCIe setup. Has anyone tried this for two GPU folding?
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby Nathan_P » Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:17 pm

Not to my knowledge but in theory it should just be the same as setting up normal multi GPU folding.
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby lambdapro » Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:28 am

I tried it without success. Tried simply adding the card. Trying uninstalling, then powering up. But no luck.
David
lambdapro
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby Arnette » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:19 pm

Ive tried a 4870x2 and a 9800 gt together and could never get them to work. It kept detecting my 9800 GT as an AMD branded card and would error out as soon as it tried to engage the core. I fiddled with it for hours but was unsuccessful.

What version of windows are you running? If you're running windows 7 and feel like playing around with it you might want to try installing drivers for both cards, and putting proper flags into each GPU client. (-gpu 0 -forcegpu ati_r700) (-gpu 1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80) etc.
Our Folding@Home Teampage --> http://www.lbsfolding.info
User avatar
Arnette
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby bruce » Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Arnette wrote:What version of windows are you running? If you're running windows 7 and feel like playing around with it you might want to try installing drivers for both cards, and putting proper flags into each GPU client. (-gpu 0 -forcegpu ati_r700) (-gpu 1 -forcegpu nvidia_g80) etc.


I can't be certain, but I would also try other combinations including (-gpu 0 -forcegpu nvidia_g80). At one point, someone determined that the NV and ATI enumeration schemes work independently of each other. When you start a client, it will configure that client for EITHER ATI or NV, not both, so it's possible that you'll need to run remove the first card, start with a fresh client installation, and get the second card running (say on the NV g80), then add the first card back in and start a second fresh installation for it (say on the ATI R700).

Mixing both brands is not supported by the Pande Group, but if you can make it work, go ahead. Many people have tried -- most have given up, but a few have succeeded.
bruce
 
Posts: 22852
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby domboy » Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:24 pm

Guys, according to the title of the thread (and inferred in his first post), he's not trying to mix brands. He's trying to add a PCI 9500GT to a system that has either a GTS250 or GTX260, and fold with both (or all three?). I'm pretty sure those are all nVidia cards...

I once had a PCI and a PCIe card in the same system and folding... granted they were both ATI cards, and I haven't had to opportunity to try the same thing with two nVidia cards. But I would think it should work... they should all use the same driver to start with (unless there is something really strange about the PCI card that requires a different driver from the PCIe cards, but I kind of doubt it).
domboy
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:42 pm
Location: Wilmington NC

Re: Adding PCI 9500GT to GTS250 or GTX260

Postby Arnette » Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:47 pm

Oh i misread that. Yes, they should work properly. You shouldn't need to do anything too fancy except for installing the nvidia drivers and tagging them -gpu 0 and -gpu 1
User avatar
Arnette
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to NVIDIA specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron