GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby Esuich » Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:23 am

for the past few days I have noticed when i hover over the F@H Icon it only reads xx/500. It used to say XX,XXX/20,000 and I have not been accumulating any notable points. I have tried everything in the book...reloaded my OS reinstalled drivers tried a new card with the same results. I am running windows 7 64 bit. When checking the gpu specs with EVGA precision v1.9 it only reads 301 mhz and I am unable to manually adjust the clock.

Ive done a search and noticed that some servers are having problems but my computer at work that is 5 miles away is not having any issues during folding...that computer is running a gts 250 on win xp home.

Is this part of the server issue?
Esuich
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:11 am

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:56 am

Welcome to foldingforum,org, Esuich.

yes, some servers are having problems and that can cause problems for one client and not for another. The loudest complaints seem to be coming from those with NVidia GPUs, but I'm not certain it's limited to them.

Hovering over the icon does provide some information about the status of the current WU, but it's not the easiest information to decipher. I always look at FAHlog.txt -- mostly because it provides detained information in a format I'm most familiar with -- or I use one of the fine monitor programs found in our 3rd party tools forum. Two popular ones are FahMon and HFM.NET but there are other choices.

The numbers XX,XXX/20,000 and xx/500 do indicate that you've completed at least one WU and moved on to another. the official stats indicate that someone named Esuich has completed 279 WU for 139765 points.

You have received credit for at least one NVidia project 5766 and one CPU project 5786 today.

I'm not quite sure how we can help you. Everything seems normal and there's no indication that the server issues have caused you any problems.

If you believe something is amiss, please post the applicable sections of FAHlog.txt for each of the clients that you're concerned about between the tags [code][/code]
bruce
 
Posts: 22873
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby Ren02 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:48 am

The 301MHz thing means that the card is running in 2D mode. 4X drop in production seems about right. One reason for this might be that the card is overheating and it switches to this mode to prevent damage to hardware. Another is that some funky Win7 energy saving feature doesn't consider FAH to be a 3D application and therefore prevents the card from switching to 3D mode.
Does the card work fine during games (or Furmark )? Have you tried older drivers?
Image
User avatar
Ren02
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:16 am
Location: Estonia

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby kiore » Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:07 am

The GTX 260 dropping to 2D is a know issue, a temporary fix is to reboot the system, a permanant fix is to do some thing like "Force 3D clocks" via riva tuner, you can do it on the nvidia control panel but rivatuner works well, this aways used to happen on my GTX 260s.
http://www.overclock.net/other-software ... -help.html
Image

i7 7800x GTX 1080ti , OS= win7. AMD 3700x RTX 2080ti OS= win10
kiore
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby Esuich » Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:15 pm

Thanks for the reply's...
I am unable to pinpoint when exactly this began its been within the past week though...I did not change any of windows 7 settings since it was folding properly...It used to fold quickly and the fan would speed up the core clock would be 626mhz. I have been folding at work too that's why my numbers continue to increase.

I have tried to manually set the clock using precision v1.9 but that is not working. I set it to anything higher than 301mhz hit apply and nothing. I will try Rivatuner when I get home this evening.

I did run furmark and scored a 6025 (approx) while monitoring the core clock it did jump up temporarily to 626 mhz.during the test. I do not use this pc for games.

Dropping to 2D clocks?...is this a software or firmware issue? Is anyone working on a resolution?

I have not tried older drivers. I am having a difficult time finding older drivers for win 7 64 bit.
Esuich
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:11 am

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby kiore » Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:13 pm

The 2D clocks thing affects GTX260's particularly but other NVIDIA cards as well, seems to be an NVIDIA issue, mine would go days without issue then one would just throttle back, I have 4 GTX 260s so I really notice it, haven't had this problem with the GTX 275. If I'd know how superior their were to the 260s for folding I would have got 3 275s rather than 4 260s. Figures at the time suggested only a small difference, but my experience is that the difference is much bigger, faster, cooler more overclockable.
kiore
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:44 pm

Which driver version are you using? This might be important:
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=13495#p131789
bruce
 
Posts: 22873
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby Esuich » Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:59 am

Tried riva tuner with no luck.

I was using 162.21 the latest drivers nvidia provides, after reading the thread bruce posted I downloaded and installed the cuda drivers.

I am able to overclock again but GPU usage is null. When I load FaH program on startup my other computer that still folds correctly, it uses 99% of GPU usage going on.

This is extremely frustrating. I'm almost convinced its a win 7 64 bit issue or somethings wrong with the F@H program.

I tested the card in a win xp machine and it performed flawlessly. I even bought a new gtx 260 just because I thought this one was going bad.
Esuich
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:11 am

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby 4ndr3w » Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:43 am

Hi guys. I want to know one thing: your evga precision. Is it 1.9.0? or 1.9.1? Because 1.9.0 caused everyone to be unable to OC PERIOD (on 196.21). As soon as I upgraded to 1.9.1 it worked as normal.
Intel e7400 OCed @ 3.6GHz (360x10) // Asus p5q-e // gskill 2GB (dual channel) // EVGA gtx 260 c216 OCed @ 675/1458/1152
nzxt alpha // ocz modular 700watt

Image
4ndr3w
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby Haitch » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:09 am

Esuich,

Are you sure about the 162.21 driver version? I'm running a GTX260 on Win 7 x64, and my drivers are 196.21

H.
Haitch
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:34 pm

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby toTOW » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:32 am

There's a known bug with some 196 drivers (196.21 WHQL) and overclocking tools. You need the latest 196 beta (196.34) to be able to overclock again.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8802
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby 4ndr3w » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:17 am

really? my gtx260 is working just fine with 196.21 and evga precision 1.9.1...
4ndr3w
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby DonMarkoni » Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:24 pm

4ndr3w wrote:really? my gtx260 is working just fine with 196.21 and evga precision 1.9.1...


EVGA Precision 1.9.1 has a workaround for 196.21's bug. It was released cause of it.
Rig: Rampage IV Extreme, i7-3930K @ 5GHz, AData 4x2GB @ 2400MHz 9-11-9-27-1T, GTX680 Lightning @ 1200/6000
User avatar
DonMarkoni
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Belgrade,Serbia

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby 4ndr3w » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:11 pm

Yes... I know. That's what my first post says... http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=13486#p132669
4ndr3w
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: GTx 260 @ 301mhz?

Postby DonMarkoni » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:43 pm

4ndr3w wrote:Yes... I know. That's what my first post says... http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=13486#p132669


Oh... Yeah... I wasn't paying attention... :oops:
User avatar
DonMarkoni
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Belgrade,Serbia


Return to NVIDIA specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron