GPU client on Quadro FX580

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU client on Quadro FX580

Postby Picky88 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:22 pm

Hi there,

I am trying to get folding@home working on my graphics card, a Nvidia Quadro FX580. I have installed the CUDA toolkit, and have the latest nvidia drivers. When I start the install for the cuda driver, it says that I am trying to install an older version than the one I currently have. Should I go ahead and install the older version? Currently When I start the gpu folding program I get a message saying "At present your gpu is not supported or you need a current driver."

I am running Windows XP Pro 32bit.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,

Picky
Picky88

Re: GPU client on Quadro FX580

Postby bretth603 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:34 pm

Well, I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what I think I know.

You don't need the CUDA toolkit, only the latest driver. The driver includes CUDA support. You can use the Nvidia Control Panel to check the driver version you have installed (software version). I wouldn't install an older driver. There have been changes and bug fixes for the Quadro cards in the newer drivers.

You will need to use the "-forcegpu nvidia_g80" flag to fool the folding@home client. This basically forces the client to think you have a g80 chipset (which you don't). It will get rid of that message when you start f@h.
bretth603

Postby Picky88 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:50 pm

Adding the extra forcegpu command has sorted it. Many thanks!
Picky88

Postby Picky88 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:27 pm