Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved- NOT]

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved- NOT]

Postby uncle fuzzy » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:39 am

This may just be a coincidence, but I couldn't run my GPU clients after installing SP2 on Vista Ultimate 64-bit. Three clients (GTX 260/216's) would EUE somewhere between immediately and 10 minutes, mainly from U_M. I fought it for 4-5 hours and couldn't complete a WU on any of the clients.

With work, sleep, and the machine locking up on me, it took 24 hours to fully remove SP2. I still had all EUE's after unistalling it, and finally had to use a restore point to clear the machine.

I've now been folding for over an hour on all 3 clients with no problems. One client just completed a WU.
Last edited by uncle fuzzy on Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
Proud to crash my machines as a Beta Tester!

Image
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby P5-133XL » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:14 am

Did you update a driver in addition to the service pack? Normally, the SP uninstall (as a single uninstall) will restore the OS software but I'm not so sure that the registry is restored back to the original state (DLL registration problem?) but that will be by using the restore point.

Since the uninstall took 24 hours, does that imply you had to uninstall all the individual pieces as opposed to the single sp uninstall?
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby uncle fuzzy » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:56 am

P5-133XL wrote:Did you update a driver in addition to the service pack? Normally, the SP uninstall (as a single uninstall) will restore the OS software but I'm not so sure that the registry is restored back to the original state (DLL registration problem?) but that will be by using the restore point.

Since the uninstall took 24 hours, does that imply you had to uninstall all the individual pieces as opposed to the single sp uninstall?


No driver changes since installing 196.21.

24 hours total - 6 hours sleep - 10 hours work = 8 hours trying to tweak the clients and working on restoring the system.

1 lock up during the SP2 uninstall, and 2 more during System Restore. It only took about 30 minutes to finish the restore when I got home today. For a while it looked like I might have to reinstall Vista to get this thing folding, again.
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby P5-133XL » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:07 am

Perhaps you had a corrupted Vista install that didn't affect your normal usage, but when the SP was installed, the corruption mattered. The fact that both the SP2 was wonky combined with the inability to uninstall without lockups (including the restore points) indicates a problem with either the SP or the original Vista install. Normally, it isn't a corrupted SP in that that is checked when uncompressing but I'm not excluding it.

I'd also do a chkdsk just in case it was a file system problem. Normally I'd also include a RAM/MB check in case the corruption came from them but folding does such a good job of detecting intermittent HW caused data corruption that I'm discounting that potential.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby uncle fuzzy » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:58 am

This is the original OS install- about 1 year, over 8000 GPU WUs, about 1000 SMP (A1's, A2's in VM, and A3's).

It could be due for a reinstall.
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby P5-133XL » Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:48 am

By the way, I discount that your problems are from a valid Vista installation and a valid SP2 installation because the SP2 has been out for almost a year (Apr 2009) and if SP2 was a problem, I would have expected lots of problems to have appeared by now with lots of people complaining. So I assume it is something wrong with your HW or SW rather than a systemic failure.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby toTOW » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:31 pm

Did you try to reinstall your drivers ? Something might have been replaced in the update process which broke CUDA support ...
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby uncle fuzzy » Mon Mar 29, 2010 4:00 am

P5-133XL wrote:...SP2 has been out for almost a year (Apr 2009)

My laptop- Vista32- has had SP2 for quite a while. It only showed up as an update for the desktop- Vista64- a few days ago. It sure looks like they released the two versions separately.

In the 24 hours since I got it folding again I've had 8 completed WUs, 1 EUE, and the system has locked up twice. I just reinstalled SP2 and updated to 197.13 drivers. Folding started fine, but I'll see what happens in the next 24 hours.

In hindsight, it does look like SP2 had some effect on the display driver. Both times I installed it it changed my resolution to minimum and scrambled my desktop. I don't recall having that problem with other updates.
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems

Postby patonb » Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:11 pm

Odd, i've run x64 ULTIMATE SP2 for a year, and have had no issues, and thats a dual gpu setup.

You musta had a bad update.
WooHoo = L5639 @ 3.3Ghz Evga SR-2 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 CM 212+ Corsair 1050hx Blackhawk Ultra EVGA 560ti

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz x58a-ud3r 216-216 @ 850/2000 3x2gb OCZ Gold NH-u12 Heatsink Corsair hx520 Antec 900
patonb
 
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved]

Postby uncle fuzzy » Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:11 am

This is a triple gpu setup- all GTX 260/216's.

No errors with memtest86+. Did a little disk maintenance and downloaded a fresh SP2. 48 hours running after install without a lockup. There were a few EUE's, but over 50 completed fine.
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved]

Postby patonb » Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Okay..... Vista and win7 aren't the greatest for tri gpu.... drivers are touchy.
patonb
 
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved- NOT]

Postby uncle fuzzy » Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:25 am

Seems to happen randomly, but only when I'm also running the SMP2 with the 3X GPU.
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved- NOT]

Postby patonb » Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:27 am

Vistas a bit touchy with 3 or more gpus is my understanding.
patonb
 
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Vista SP2- potential problems [Resolved- NOT]

Postby uncle fuzzy » Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:32 am

Runs fine with just the 3 GPU's. Only locks when the SMP is also running. I'm stating to think it's a mobo issue.
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=14217
User avatar
uncle fuzzy
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Michigan


Return to NVIDIA specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron