Page 2 of 2

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:20 am
by N0OA
I wonder if this has anything to do with the slot count starting at zero and the work queues starting at 1 :-)

N0OA

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:52 am
by mmonnin
Queues start at 00
05:39:42:WU00:FS00:

WU 00 and Slot 00

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:54 pm
by bruce
Slots and WUs are not expected to line up. When a new WU is downloaded, it is assigned a new WU number and the previous WU keeps its number until it finishes uploading. Slots are numbered from 0 in the order they were created. WUs also start at 0 but every new WU gets a new number and the number of every uploaded WU is temporarily retired. Every log entry contains both a WU number and a Slot number so you can search by either method.

In your case, WUs 1,2, and3.are already on your system. Any one of your slots might finish next. Suppose it happens to be GPU 1 / slot 01. WU 00 will be downloaded for it just before WU 01 finishes. WU 01 will be replaced by WU 00 to be processed in that slot and WU 01 will be uploaded. Briefly you will have WUs 0,1,2,3 but then it will become 0,2,3.

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:58 pm
by 7im
Not that it will change the arrangement, but you can remove the bigadv and bigbeta settings. Those are not supported by GPU slots, and you would need 16+ cores for either to work with SMP slot.

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:22 pm
by N0OA
N0OA wrote:Did you ever figure this out?
00 gpu:0:GK107 [GeForce GT 640]
01 gpu:1:GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]
02 smp:8


I just moved the GT into an older box and replaced it with a GTX660. With dual GTX cards, the issue went away. Lesson learned - don't mix GT and GTX cards in the same machine :-)

N0OA

Re: GPU 0 using GPU 1 and GPU 1 using GPU 0??

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:45 am
by bruce
That's a known issue. V7 sometimes enumerates GPUs in an unexpected order.

It should also be noted that NVidia, themselves, made two types of GT 640's. Some are GK107 and some are GF116.