geforce 8400 gs PCI

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

geforce 8400 gs PCI

Postby supertech2011 » Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:39 am

Is it possible to Fold using a PCI video card? I currently have a Dell dimension 2400 desktop with a P4 3gig cpu folding with no problems. I installed a PNY geforce 8400 gs pci video some time ago to increase the video resolution and it works great. However when I attempt to run the GPU client I get an unstable machine error and it shuts me down for 24 hours. It has never succesfully completed any WU using the GPU. Am I just wasting my time and electricity?

Thanks.
supertech2011
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:15 pm

Re: geforce 8400 gs PCI

Postby 7im » Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:41 am

Hello supertech2011, welcome to the forum.

Yes, possible to fold on PCI cards, but not worth it on the low end. The performance is lousy. Keep a fah client running on that P4, and then save your pennies by not running fah on the GPU to save up for an upgrade. ;)
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: geforce 8400 gs PCI

Postby supertech2011 » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:45 pm

Thanks for the info. I am currently running two other custom builds. One has a phenom II 965 cpu and HD5870 GPU. The other has an AMD athlon 6000+ dual core cpu and hd4830 gpu. Both are running one cpu and one gpu each. I run the 24/7 for a while, then turn off folding for a while. I'm considering building a folding farm if I can find some inexpensive parts. Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks again.
supertech2011
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:15 pm

Re: geforce 8400 gs PCI

Postby HendricksSA » Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:28 pm

Supertech2011, welcome to the Fold. When looking for those parts, please keep this in mind:
http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011/03 ... oards.html

Also, search around here for threads about power consumption. I've already discovered those low-end farms can end up costing you in power use. For example, see viewtopic.php?f=38&t=17469&p=173642&hilit=power+consumption#p173642 and viewtopic.php?f=38&t=17616&hilit=power+consumption
HendricksSA
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:34 am


Return to NVIDIA specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron