GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby Hyperlife » Mon May 24, 2010 10:42 pm

Hi all,

I've attempted to run the new GPU3 core (Core 15) under Linux/WINE without success. The new client will run but the core is unable to recognize a CUDA device. My system is running Ubuntu 9.04, the 195.36.24 driver, and v2.3 of the toolkit.

This thread is for discussion on getting the core to work under Linux.

Ideas? Success reports?
Image
User avatar
Hyperlife
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:38 am

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby toTOW » Tue May 25, 2010 12:18 pm

I guess it will require an update wrapper which allow the client/core to identify the CUDA version available ...
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8894
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby Shelnutt2 » Tue May 25, 2010 11:37 pm

I will get on this :)
OCforums, T32

Linux Lober!
Shelnutt2
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:37 pm

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby jimerickson » Wed May 26, 2010 12:52 am

thank you Shelnutt2!!
jimerickson
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: ames, iowa

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby sarkeizen » Wed May 26, 2010 6:03 pm

Hmmm...that seems different than what I'm seeing. Either the GPU3 vista or XP console client downloads Core 11 and attempts to execute it (it fails).
sarkeizen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby bruce » Thu May 27, 2010 1:45 am

The Windows client is supposed to use CUDA to detect which type of GPU you have. The assignment server then will assign the appropriate WU to you. Most or maybe all of the FahCore_15 projects are being sent to Fermi hardware since it cannot run FahCore_11 WUs. The older GPUs are probably getting FahCore_11 assignments.

Stanford is operating a beta test and things like this will probably change as time goes on.
bruce
 
Posts: 21185
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby jimerickson » Thu May 27, 2010 1:58 am

but thats not the way its working out. i have an ENGTX480 running under wine on ubuntu 10.04 and it always tries to give me a FahCore_11 which doesn't work.


Code: Select all
# Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.30r1

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: Z:\home\jimerickson
Executable: Z:\home\jimerickson\Downloads\Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-631\Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe
Arguments: -forcegpu nvidia_g80

[01:55:43] - Ask before connecting: No
[01:55:43] - User name: jimerickson (Team 45104)
[01:55:43] - User ID: 3091BBD03A5E8A76
[01:55:43] - Machine ID: 2
[01:55:43]
[01:55:43] Gpu species not recognized.
[01:55:43] Loaded queue successfully.
[01:55:43]
[01:55:43] + Processing work unit
[01:55:43] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
[01:55:43] Core found.
[01:55:43] Working on queue slot 01 [May 27 01:55:43 UTC]
[01:55:43] + Working ...
Warning: Ignoring unknown arg
Warning: Ignoring unknown arg
[01:55:43]
[01:55:43] *------------------------------*
[01:55:43] Folding@Home GPU Core
[01:55:43] Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
[01:55:43]
[01:55:43] Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
[01:55:43] Build host: amoeba
[01:55:43] Board Type: Nvidia
[01:55:43] Core      :
[01:55:43] Preparing to commence simulation
[01:55:43] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[01:55:53] - Looking at optimizations...
[01:55:53] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[01:55:53] Examination of work files indicates 8 consecutive improper terminations of core.
[01:55:53] - Expanded 73813 -> 383588 (decompressed 519.6 percent)
[01:55:53] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=73813 data_size=383588, decompressed_data_size=383588 diff=0
[01:55:53] - Digital signature verified
[01:55:53]
[01:55:53] Project: 6606 (Run 7, Clone 85, Gen 92)
[01:55:53]
[01:55:53] Entering M.D.
Reading file work/wudata_01.tpr, VERSION 3.1.4 (single precision)
Reading file work/wudata_01.tpr, VERSION 3.1.4 (single precision)
Reading sasa-enabled ir 0 0
Initializing Nvidia gpu library
cudaMemcpyToSymbol: SetSim copy to cSim failed invalid device symbol
[01:56:00] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr:  807580560 3425219036 3031766891 1791027541 4021278974
[01:56:00]
[01:56:00] Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
[01:56:00]
[01:56:04] CoreStatus = 63 (99)
[01:56:04] + Error starting Folding@Home core.
^Cjimerickson@odysseus:~$
jimerickson
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: ames, iowa

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby ChelseaOilman » Thu May 27, 2010 2:22 am

jimerickson wrote:i have an ENGTX480 running under wine on ubuntu 10.04 and it always tries to give me a FahCore_11 which doesn't work.

You can't see the reason why?
[01:55:43] Gpu species not recognized.


Running the GPU client under linux isn't a supported configuration. Your on your own to figure out how to get it to work. PG isn't going to help.
User avatar
ChelseaOilman
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:47 pm
Location: Colorado @ 10,000 feet

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby jimerickson » Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am

Shelnutt2 said he would help with this.

besides this is a linux specific thread. why jump on me?

what's further more i didn't ask for PG help.

and yes i could see the reason why. thats why i posted in this linux specific thread.
jimerickson
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: ames, iowa

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby ChelseaOilman » Thu May 27, 2010 3:27 am

jimerickson wrote:what's further more i didn't ask for PG help.

I didn't mean to offend you. This is the official F@H help forum. I'm not really sure why this discussion is allowed to go on in this forum other than PG might get some useful info out of it.
User avatar
ChelseaOilman
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:47 pm
Location: Colorado @ 10,000 feet

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby Ravage7779 » Thu May 27, 2010 3:35 am

So move the thread to the correct forum....it is relevant to those running gpu's under linux.
Get more Mac OS X folding help from the friendly experts @ http://www.foldingathome.org/index.html
Image
User avatar
Ravage7779
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby Hyperlife » Thu May 27, 2010 4:52 am

Um, this is in the correct forum. Note the title includes the word "unofficial" and "3rd party support."

jimerickson, what version of the driver and toolkit do you have installed?
User avatar
Hyperlife
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:38 am

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby jimerickson » Thu May 27, 2010 5:06 am

Hyperlife:

driver == 195.36.15
toolkit == 2.3
jimerickson
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: ames, iowa

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby bruce » Thu May 27, 2010 6:05 am

jimerickson wrote:Hyperlife:

driver == 195.36.15
toolkit == 2.3


The developers have decided that they need the latest drivers (197.45) and CUDA 3.0 in Windows for OpenMM to work correctly. That may mean that you're out of luck until you can upgrade to a comparable version.
bruce
 
Posts: 21185
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU3 (Core 15) & Linux discussion

Postby 7im » Thu May 27, 2010 6:14 am

No offense, but this early beta test is at a time when Stanford is closely watching the data returns to make sure the new stuff is working correctly and sending back proper results. Is this really the best time to be playing games with live work units? This is almost as bad as those people who cherry pick and dump the WUs they don't like.

Any developer worth their salt would have a few copies of already completed WUs copied prior to completion and stored away to play with and wouldn't be damaging the project like this by downloading and aborting live work units. :roll:
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Next

Return to unOfficial Linux GPU (WINE wrapper) (3rd party support)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron