Every once in a while...

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Every once in a while...

Postby draeh » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:38 pm

Every once in a while one of the 2 cards in my rig will stop working.

Here's the weird part...

When I restart the first card, the second will stop. If I restart the second card then the first stops again. The cores are still running, but no work takes place. Using nvclock shows that the card is idle (temps are all idle). I'm not sure what fixes this. I usually end up rebooting the box and starting fresh.

That being said, on ubuntu server, is there an automated update? If so, how can I stop it? IIRC, ubuntu has critical updates set to be automatically installed by default, but I'm no expert on the subject.

Time for some digging.
draeh

Re: Every once in a while...

Postby draeh » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:44 pm

Well, I found the unattended-upgrades log file and nothing was installed last night when this latest occurrence happened.
draeh

Postby bruce » Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:33 pm

draeh wrote:Every once in a while one of the 2 cards in my rig will stop working.
. . .
Time for some digging.

Just a suggestion (or guess, really. no factual basis) What drivers are you using and are there later ones?
bruce
Site Admin

Postby draeh » Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:55 pm

I'm using CUDA v3.0 with driver 256.35 as described in the headless guide in this forum. There are both newer versions of CUDA and the driver, but I hesitate to change them for fear of killing work units.
draeh

Postby rwh202 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:14 pm

Hi, first post here, but I seem to be having the same issue.

This has happened twice recently on a pair of GT430s - in both instances the first card was folding a 6800 unit and stopped as soon as the second card picked up another 6800. Power draw and temps on the first card dropped to idle but core15 was still running at 0% cpu.