FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

The most demanding Projects are only available to a small percentage of very high-end servers.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:02 am

well i'm getting an error: could not write local file. any idea why? this is after a reboot of the host system

it says this inside the VM:

FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
fat_free_clusters: deleting FAT entry beyond EOF
File system has been set read-only
Image
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:15 am

First guess: Maybe the virtual file system ran out of space?
bruce
 
Posts: 22623
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:19 am

well after restarting everything again, it now works! the disk was 4.4GB used out of 5 GB, so that should be good, right?
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby Grandpa_01 » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:46 am

twoodcc wrote:well after restarting everything again, it now works! the disk was 4.4GB used out of 5 GB, so that should be good, right?



I doub't you have enough disk space there if you are running bigadv WU's. The bigadv folder I have on my desktop is 9.86GB when a WU is running. Or are you talking about the size on the VM
Image
2 - SM H8QGi-F AMD 6xxx=112 cores @ 3.2 & 3.9Ghz
5 - SM X9QRI-f+ Intel 4650 = 320 cores @ 3.15Ghz
2 - I7 980X 4.4Ghz 2-GTX680
1 - 2700k 4.4Ghz GTX680
Total = 464 cores folding
User avatar
Grandpa_01
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:36 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby leexgx » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:00 am

i do not think the backup is working, notfred used to restore from backup looks like frednotfred is not doing this as it trashed an work unit when i started the VM back up

and i just got an file system panic so i got the file system is read only so that work unit is gone as well most likely, will mess with it later on
Image
leexgx
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:05 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:31 pm

leexgx wrote:i do not think the backup is working, notfred used to restore from backup looks like frednotfred is not doing this as it trashed an work unit when i started the VM back up

and i just got an file system panic so i got the file system is read only so that work unit is gone as well most likely, will mess with it later on


did you get the same file system error i got? (look a few posts up)

all i did was restart the host machine, and then it worked!
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:02 pm

well now i have this client running, but i can't access the status via the ip address in my browser
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby rickoic » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:10 pm

I've had that problem occasionallly also, but it seems to straighten out after the completion of 1-2 wu's.

Fold on
Rick
Duel 2.8 3 250's Quad 2.4 285. 260, Quad 2.4 3 250 , i7 2.27 2 250 GPU's, i7 2.24 2 250 GPU's, i7 3.06 bigadv, duel Xeon 2.27 bigadv, AMD Phenom ][ 3 250 GPU's, Laptop GT 130M.
I'm folding because Dec 2005 I had radical prostrate surgery.
rickoic
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:22 am

well now i'm getting a new error:

FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
clusters badly computed (10 != 9)
File System has been set read-only

what gives? should i just start over? it finished and uploaded 1 WU, and i was about 14% into the next one
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:48 pm

well i've got it working again, but i can't view the status via fahmon or a web browser. is there a way to see the log file inside the VM?
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby linuxfah » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:57 pm

twoodcc wrote:is there a way to see the log file inside the VM?


tail -f /etc/folding/1/FAHlog.txt
linuxfah
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:28 pm

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby twoodcc » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:48 pm

linuxfah wrote:
twoodcc wrote:is there a way to see the log file inside the VM?


tail -f /etc/folding/1/FAHlog.txt


thanks, i got that to work!!
twoodcc
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:41 am

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby rickoic » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:23 pm

VMWare 3.0.1 available, however when I upgraded to it and tried to start it on a i7 960 it told me that it only worked with 4 cores.

Luckily I had 3.0.0 saved so I could reload it.
Fold on
Rick
rickoic
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby Biffa » Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:13 am

vmware-vmx.exe only using 75-80% CPU

Seems no matter what I do I can't get vmware-vmx.exe in this version to use more than 75-80% CPU and my frame times are suffering

i7-920@3.9Ghz 6GB RAM

Frame time is currently around 46 minutes per frame :(

Any ideas?
Image
User avatar
Biffa
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: FredNotFred VM for -bigadv units [beta]

Postby codysluder » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:19 pm

How much RAM do you have, and how much is allocated in the vm?
codysluder
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

PreviousNext

Return to SMP with bigadv

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron