Regarding 6903 proteins

The most demanding Projects are only available to a small percentage of very high-end servers.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby vsekh » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:34 pm

From Kasson's announcment here he says that 6903 is available on bigadv: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=18825

Will these proteins ever become available to fold on Windows machines?

TIA
vsekh
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:52 pm

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby DrSpalding » Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:06 pm

I hope that it comes soon, but I am unsure if it will ever be released as a 32-bit core. The Windows cores are all 32-bit and running as a 12 thread core instead of 8 would seemingly require about 50% more memory. The 8-thread SMP core A5 I am running right now on a P6900 WU is consuming 1.25GB of RAM. 50% more puts it near the standard 2GB user limit for 32-bit Win32 processes. To do more on 32-bit, the Pande Group would have to build the 32-bit client as Large Address Aware (LAA) images to allow 3GB of user memory space and test the hell out of it to ensure that there are no issues with using pointers with the most-signficant bit being set, since normally, the user space is located in the first 2GB (0x00000000 to 0x7FFFFFFF) range. It would be better to just go to 64-bit. IMO of course.
Not a real doctor, I just play one on the 'net!
Image
DrSpalding
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby 7im » Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:19 pm

12 core on 'nix is using 2.8 GB of memory. They would have to limit the core count to 12 or 16 to stay under the 3 GB limit for a 32bit win fahcore.

A 64 bit win fahcore should be possible.
Please do not mistake my brevity as dispassion or condescension. I recognize the time you spend reading the forum is time you could use elsewhere, so my short responses save you time. Please do not hesitate to ask for clarification if I was too terse.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 13279
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby bruce » Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:34 am

This might become the first FahCore that requires 64bit Windows. I know nothing about when this might happen or even if that's a realistic guess, but it sure wouldn't surprise me. Those folks running Windows on 12-core hardware probably already have the 64-bit version anyway, so I doubt it's a problem.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16833
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby Amaruk » Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:04 am

vsekh wrote:From Kasson's announcment here he says that 6903 is available on bigadv: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=18825

Are they actually available to -bigadv?

Public psummary does not currently list them, but the beta psummary does. :?
Image
User avatar
Amaruk
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:57 am
Location: Watching from the Woods

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby bruce » Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:10 am

Amaruk wrote:
vsekh wrote:From Kasson's announcment here he says that 6903 is available on bigadv: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=18825

Are they actually available to -bigadv?

Public psummary does not currently list them, but the beta psummary does. :?


Yes, they're available to -bigadv. I think you've discovered a psummary bug.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16833
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby sfield » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:41 am

Go 64bit ... the 64bit mdrun is 5-10% faster than the 32bit mdrun on windows (due to low-level optimization differences). Other benefits relate to NUMA enhancements and support for > 64 cores.

bruce wrote:This might become the first FahCore that requires 64bit Windows. I know nothing about when this might happen or even if that's a realistic guess, but it sure wouldn't surprise me. Those folks running Windows on 12-core hardware probably already have the 64-bit version anyway, so I doubt it's a problem.
sfield
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:36 am

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby ElectricVehicle » Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:33 am

I'm running a 12 core computer, 12GB RAM with Windows 7 64 bit. It has to Windows 7 so going to Unix as the host OS isn't an option for this particular computer. Sure would be nice to let those 12 cores loose on 6903 BIG Bigadv !! With 12GB RAM, RAM is not a problem, and if it was, I could upgrade it to 24GB.

So when / how can we run Project 6903 on a computer with Windows 7 64 bit as the host OS?
ElectricVehicle
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:41 pm

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby tjmagneto » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:13 am

I would like to know too but I realize these things do take time. :egeek:
Image
tjmagneto
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby Amaruk » Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:19 am

bruce wrote:Yes, they're available to -bigadv. I think you've discovered a psummary bug.

Thank you Bruce. I see it's fixed now. :)
User avatar
Amaruk
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:57 am
Location: Watching from the Woods

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby PantherX » Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:39 am

ElectricVehicle wrote:...It has to Windows 7 so going to Unix as the host OS isn't an option for this particular computer...
I am not sure but have you considered running a Linux VM? I am not sure what effect (negative/positive) it will have on the TPF and on your system.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 6252
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby the animal » Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:06 am

PantherX wrote:
ElectricVehicle wrote:...It has to Windows 7 so going to Unix as the host OS isn't an option for this particular computer...
I am not sure but have you considered running a Linux VM? I am not sure what effect (negative/positive) it will have on the TPF and on your system.

I'm pretty sure VMWare can only do 8 cores.
the animal
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: TeAm Anandtech

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby ElectricVehicle » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:53 am

VMWare is cool except for the 8 core limitation. I searched it appears that limitation still holds. When I was running it 8 core the TPF is slightly worse, but I think it was less than a 10% hit, which if you must use a virtual machine isn't too bad. And of course, there's the more serious hit of being limited to 8 cores on hosts that have more than 8 cores. Thanks for the suggestions anyway!
ElectricVehicle
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:41 pm

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby Grandpa_01 » Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:21 am

Have you thought about Virtual Box.

On the "Processor" tab, you can set how many virtual CPU cores the guest operating systems should see. Starting with version 3.0, VirtualBox supports symmetrical multiprocessing (SMP) and can present up to 32 virtual CPU cores to each virtual machine.

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch03.h ... -processor
Image
4 - SuperMicro H8QGi-F AMD 6xxx=192 cores @ 2.8Ghz
3 - SM X9QRI-f+ Intel 4650 = 192 cores/threads @ 3Ghz
2 - I7 980X 4.4Ghz 2 - GTX680
1 - 2700k 4.4Ghz GTX680
Total = 419 cores folding
User avatar
Grandpa_01
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Regarding 6903 proteins

Postby Amaruk » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:35 am

Thanks Grandpa_01.

Dual-booting now, but this might come in handy in the future... :)
User avatar
Amaruk
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:57 am
Location: Watching from the Woods

Next

Return to SMP with bigadv

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Magpie [Crawler] and 2 guests