Not receiving WU on 4P

The most demanding Projects are only available to a small percentage of very high-end servers.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby terrabyte » Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:48 am

Hi everyone,

Hoping I'm not the only one having this problem but my 4P opteron machine hasn't received a work unit for 10 hours now after completing and posting a WU this morning.. Running the Hardocp linux image which is 6.34 I believe with bigadv turned on.

Code: Select all
[10:35:45] + Attempting to get work packet
[10:35:45] Passkey found
[10:35:45] - Will indicate memory of 32174 MB
[10:35:45] - Connecting to assignment server
[10:35:45] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[10:35:46] Posted data.
[10:35:46] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[10:35:46] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[10:35:46] - Attempt #8  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.


Keep getting this error, tried rebooting 3 or 4 times and no difference. Haven't changed anything and she's been 24/7 for months now and never had this issue. Odd thing is, my 2P intel machine running the v6 client with bigadv picked up a WU today straight away! My GPU clients and my v7 bigadv client don't seem to be affected either, just this one, very strange!

Any help or advice is much appreciated.
terrabyte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:28 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby ArVee » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:17 pm

Well if nothing else is working, try deleting queue.dat and the work subdirectory.
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=25342
ArVee
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:25 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby bruce » Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:08 pm

128.143.231.201 (pmks04) seems to be out of WUs. I'm notifying the appropriate person.
bruce
 
Posts: 23698
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby Grandpa_01 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:47 pm

Have you recientley changed anything in the config of the Hardocp linux image, was it previously working or is this a new install.
Image
2 - SM H8QGi-F AMD 6xxx=112 cores @ 3.2 & 3.9Ghz
5 - SM X9QRI-f+ Intel 4650 = 320 cores @ 3.15Ghz
2 - I7 980X 4.4Ghz 2-GTX680
1 - 2700k 4.4Ghz GTX680
Total = 464 cores folding
User avatar
Grandpa_01
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:36 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby bruce » Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:08 pm

What are you asking?
Grandpa_01 wrote:Have you recientley changed anything in the config of the Hardocp linux image, was it previously working or is this a new install.
I suppose that depends on what you mean by "Hardocp linux image" and who "you" refers to. Since you might be replying to my post, no matter what you're asking that wouldn't change the fact that the server is (was?) out of WUs.
bruce
 
Posts: 23698
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby terrabyte » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:24 pm

ArVee wrote:Well if nothing else is working, try deleting queue.dat and the work subdirectory.
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=25342


Awesome, thanks for that! Tried it this morning and it immediately started a downloading a new WU! Maybe now I'll get something other than a constant stream of 8101's too :P.


bruce wrote:I suppose that depends on what you mean by "Hardocp linux image" and who "you" refers to. Since you might be replying to my post, no matter what you're askingthat wouldn't change the fact that the server is (was?) out of WUs.


I believe he's referring to me. Thank you for notifying them :). I've deleted the queue.dat file like arvee suggested and I've been assigned a new server now, which fixes my problem, but others could have the same issue.

Grandpa_01 wrote:Have you recientley changed anything in the config of the Hardocp linux image, was it previously working or is this a new install.


Nope, as I said in the OP, no changes recently and she's been going 24/7 for months now. Just all of a sudden sent one work unit in and wouldn't receive another!



Thanks for the help guys. Looks like it's sorted now! I'll remember the fix if this happens again in the future!
terrabyte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:28 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby Grandpa_01 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:37 am

bruce wrote:What are you asking?
Grandpa_01 wrote:Have you recientley changed anything in the config of the Hardocp linux image, was it previously working or is this a new install.
I suppose that depends on what you mean by "Hardocp linux image" and who "you" refers to. Since you might be replying to my post, no matter what you're asking that wouldn't change the fact that the server is (was?) out of WUs.


It should have switched to .201 if .202 is out of WU's then to the smp server which is what it normally does. So I was wondering if something had been changed in the config. :ewink:
User avatar
Grandpa_01
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:36 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby Joe_H » Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:00 am

Grandpa_01 wrote:It should have switched to .201 if .202 is out of WU's then to the smp server which is what it normally does. So I was wondering if something had been changed in the config. :ewink:

The .202 WS is not and has not been a bigadv server in a very long time. 128.143.231.201 is the only bigadv WS. In any case your comment is not applicable here, the problem was that the AS was not connecting the system in the OP to any WS at all. As mentioned, this has been an ongoing, intermittent issue with the V6 client for both CPU and GPU folding setups.

The problem may have been made more evident the last couple days as 128.143.231.201 is showing a slightly lower number for WU's available, but the log for that server does not show any long period of not assigning WU's. As for the known "bug" with the V6 client, that is not going to get fixed at this stage or be investigated much. If possible, upgrading to the V7 client is strongly recommended.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby Grandpa_01 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:28 am

Joe_H wrote:
Grandpa_01 wrote:It should have switched to .201 if .202 is out of WU's then to the smp server which is what it normally does. So I was wondering if something had been changed in the config. :ewink:

The .202 WS is not and has not been a bigadv server in a very long time. 128.143.231.201 is the only bigadv WS. In any case your comment is not applicable here, the problem was that the AS was not connecting the system in the OP to any WS at all. As mentioned, this has been an ongoing, intermittent issue with the V6 client for both CPU and GPU folding setups.

The problem may have been made more evident the last couple days as 128.143.231.201 is showing a slightly lower number for WU's available, but the log for that server does not show any long period of not assigning WU's. As for the known "bug" with the V6 client, that is not going to get fixed at this stage or be investigated much. If possible, upgrading to the V7 client is strongly recommended.


Just curious but what is not applicable about asking if the config has been changed. And what is wrong about being curious about why the server did not switch to a different server, it should have, what server is irrelevant. The fact is it should have switched to the next available server.
And by the way v6 is still on Stanford's home software page and a large portion of the bigadv folders still us it and have no plans on switching to anything else in the near future. It is the preferred client for many of us. I do use v7 on my smaller smp / gpu machines but for dedicated Multi Processor machines I prefer v6.
The image I and many others use is optimized for bigadv folding and out preforms v7, it is simple to install and is much easier to use and has far less problems. I would not recommend v7 over it and I very seriously doubt anybody else that is using it would.
v7 still has the same problem of not connecting from time to time and the easiest cure for it is to reinstall it so I do not see where that is any better.
User avatar
Grandpa_01
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:36 am

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby Joe_H » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:05 am

The message was "No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit", not that it tried and could not switch to another. That means the AS was seeing a request it could not fulfill, not that a server was empty and it had to switch to another.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby 7im » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:37 am

I am also curious how v6 could outperform V7 when they both use the exact same fahcore and the fahcore does all the work?!
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby tear » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:55 am

V7 consumes more CPU time "doing nothing" than v6 [run each for 24 hours and compare cumulative CPU times].

Kraken installation on V7 is more complex so shall the process fail benefits of affinity setting are gone (== lower performance on multisocket boxes such as terrabyte's).
One man's ceiling is another man's floor.
Image
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby tear » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:58 am

Hey terrabyte, buddy.

Next time you encounter issues with product in question feel free to post in its support forum.
No point in distracting FF staff from really important stuff.

Cheers,
tear
Last edited by tear on Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby bruce » Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:00 am

What gives you the right to imply that the implication that FF staff does not feel that bigadv is important. Anything that gets more science done is important and we're glad to help with it.

He is posting in the bigadv support forum.
bruce
 
Posts: 23698
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Not receiving WU on 4P

Postby tear » Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:08 am

"As for the known "bug" with the V6 client, that is not going to get fixed at this stage or be investigated much. If possible, upgrading to the V7 client is strongly recommended."
This.
tear
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:08 am
Location: Rocky Mountains

Next

Return to SMP with bigadv

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron