Server reports problem with unit.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Server reports problem with unit.

Postby joe53 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:57 am

What am I to make of this?

Not only is a 15 hour WU apparently wasted, but I cannot get any new work unit after 2 hours, and over a dozen attempts ...

Code: Select all
[02:44:09] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
[02:44:14] CoreStatus = 64 (100)
[02:44:14] Sending work to server
[02:44:14] Project: 10129 (Run 48, Clone 2, Gen 2)


[02:44:14] + Attempting to send results [November 8 02:44:14 UTC]
[02:44:34] - Server reports problem with unit.
[02:44:34] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[02:44:34] Cleaning up work directory
[02:44:35] + Attempting to get work packet
[02:44:35] Passkey found
[02:44:35] - Connecting to assignment server
[02:44:36] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.65.75).
[02:44:36] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[02:44:36] Loaded queue successfully.
[02:44:36] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
joe53
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Server reports problem with unit.

Postby Leonardo » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:33 am

Joe, take a look - viewtopic.php?f=18&t=19976.

Pande Group has been reconfiguring servers intensively for the last week or so. The road is a bit bumpy right now.
Image
User avatar
Leonardo
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:09 am
Location: Eagle River, Alaska

Re: Server reports problem with unit.

Postby joe53 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:04 am

Leonardo

Thanks for that info.

I'm donating my computer to a good cause, but have very limited tolerance for software that does not perform as advertised. I wil cut Pande Group some slack for a while.

Best regards

Joe
joe53
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Server reports problem with unit.

Postby Leonardo » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:11 am

Considering that Pande Group is leading the most aggressive, audacious distributed computing project on Earth and has done a lot of innovative pioneering work, I've gladly cut them some slack on many occasions. No, I'm not an apologist, but I have a lot of respect.
User avatar
Leonardo
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:09 am
Location: Eagle River, Alaska

Re: Server reports problem with unit.

Postby codysluder » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:03 pm

I doubt that you're looking at a server problem. Whenever I got the message Server reports problem with unit it was a sign that my overclock was too close to unstable. I reduced it and no more WUs have ever had that message.
codysluder
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm


Return to V6.34Beta SMP2 with passkey [Not Bigadv]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron