Dynamic Load Balancing

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Dynamic Load Balancing

Postby PinHead » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:24 am

I have searched the FAQ, the Forum and the WiKi; but I can't seem to find information on this. It occurs from time to time but does not show up in the logs.

At the end of a WU, it will dump out a some stats on the dynamic load balancing such as amount of imbalance, time in imbalance, etc. Again, this info doesn't seem to get written to the logs. Unfortunatly I restarted the client so I wasn't able to grab a screen shot; but here it is turning on.

[23:57:31] Completed 142885 out of 500000 steps (28%)

NOTE: Turning on dynamic load balancing

[00:00:59] Completed 145000 out of 500000 steps (29%)
[00:08:45] Completed 150000 out of 500000 steps (30%)
PinHead
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:43 am

Re: Dynamic Load Balancing

Postby 7im » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:41 am

Really? Forum search turned up a couple threads... this one is good.
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=20569

And one when it doesn't load balance...
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=13324

Sometimes the google forum search works better than the normal forum search. ;)
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Dynamic Load Balancing

Postby PinHead » Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:01 am

7im wrote:Sometimes the google forum search works better than the normal forum search. ;)


So did you use the google version? I used the generic search and returned 0, I used the advanced search and returned 0 ( but I did only search in a few threads, not general ).

Either way, so it's an internal Gromacs mechanism.

Haven't come across the why or what it means, seems to help some people and hurt others.

I'll keep poking around.


P.S. Think I'll just PM you my search criteria from now on, seems to work better from your computer. :oops:
PinHead
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:43 am

Re: Dynamic Load Balancing

Postby bruce » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:51 am

As an internal GROMACS setting, it's something that the pande Group scientist is responsible for, not you. That's why it's not documented as part of FAH. If you're a scientist who wants to study your own projects externally to FAH, you're welcome to download the GROMACS code directly and use your own choice of settings in accordance with their documentation..
bruce
 
Posts: 20828
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to V6.34Beta SMP2 with passkey [Not Bigadv]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron