Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby Craynon » Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:37 am

I've got MPICH2 setup on two computers of mine and am trying to run FAH on both through that, but only the master pc appears to be doing anything: it's CPU usage is 100% and the other PC is idling around 4-8, with MPIEXEC using almost nothing, which according to the MicroMart magazine article from the 12th of July should be doing most of the work on that PC.

Here's a screenshot of the only visible error:

Image

Any help would be appreciated.
Craynon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby bollix47 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:18 pm

Welcome to the folding support forum Craynon.

The mpiexec requirement has been gone for quite some time and is not necessary for 6.34. You should just change to the fah directory and type fah6 with any needed arguments such as -smp -verbosity 9.

Is that article online? Can you provide a link to it?
bollix47
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby Craynon » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:25 pm

The PDF of the magazine can be found here

I think there may be some confusion, what I'm trying to do is basically set up a computer cluster, with both computers contributing to the same WU.
Craynon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby bollix47 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:27 pm

Clustering is not supported by fah. You would need to run a separate client on each computer.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby Craynon » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:31 pm

Apparently not, if you're running it through MPICH2. It basically takes the slave computer(s) processors and adds them to your own, so FAH should see 6 cores (4+2) instead of just the 4 of the master PC.
Craynon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby bollix47 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:34 pm

There are numerous posts in the forum concerning clusters:

e.g. viewtopic.php?p=213751#p213751
bollix47
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby 7im » Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:40 pm

Clustering is not supported. Even if you managed to hack some computers together, the interconnect speeds are too slow, so the client folds too slowly to finish before the deadline. Good luck.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Help needed: MPICH2 and Folding

Postby Craynon » Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:39 pm

7im wrote:Clustering is not supported. Even if you managed to hack some computers together, the interconnect speeds are too slow, so the client folds too slowly to finish before the deadline. Good luck.

Fair enough.

I mostly chose Folding as a proof of concept for myself, but I guess I can find some other programs that support clustering properly.

Cheers anyway.
Craynon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:35 am


Return to V6.34Beta SMP2 with passkey [Not Bigadv]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron