Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERROR 0x

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERROR 0x

Postby shunter » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:08 pm

Not sure where to post this but here goes. Since early this morning I keep getting similar messages to the one listed below as fah crashes out. I've uninstalled / deleted and reinstalled the software but the same happens. Also noted that on initiating fah the window shows the following:-

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6.exe -license). Further
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

Folding@Home User Configuration

4 cores detected
Unable to connect to 'microland:8676',
sock error: generic socket failure, error stack:
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1228): unable to connect to microland on port 8676, exha
usted all endpoints (errno -1)
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1275): unable to connect to microland on port 8676, No c
onnection could be made because the target machine actively refused it. (errno 1
0061)


--- Opening Log file [September 12 23:04:37 UTC]


Is this anything to do with the problem and what does it mean?
Any help / answers would be great

Thanks

Shunter


Code: Select all
[15:27:31] Verifying core Core_a3.fah...
[15:27:31] Signature is VALID
[15:27:31]
[15:27:31] Trying to unzip core FahCore_a3.exe
[15:27:33] Decompressed FahCore_a3.exe (10057216 bytes) successfully
[15:27:38] + Core successfully engaged
[15:27:43]
[15:27:43] + Processing work unit
[15:27:43] Core required: FahCore_a3.exe
[15:27:43] Core found.
[15:27:43] Working on queue slot 01 [September 12 15:27:43 UTC]
[15:27:43] + Working ...
[15:27:43] - Calling '.\FahCore_a3.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 01 -np 4 -checkpoint 15 -forceasm -verbose -lifeline 1864 -version 630'

[15:27:44]
[15:27:44] *------------------------------*
[15:27:44] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[15:27:44] Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
[15:27:44]
[15:27:44] Preparing to commence simulation
[15:27:44] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
[15:27:44] - Not checking prior termination.
[15:27:44] - Expanded 1769048 -> 1957708 (decompressed 110.6 percent)
[15:27:45] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=1769048 data_size=1957708, decompressed_data_size=1957708 diff=0
[15:27:45] - Digital signature verified
[15:27:45]
[15:27:45] Project: 6973 (Run 0, Clone 109, Gen 180)
[15:27:45]
[15:27:45] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:27:45] Entering M.D.
[15:27:50] Mapping NT from 4 to 4
[15:27:52] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps  (0%)
[15:37:27] Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps  (1%)
[15:48:00] Completed 10000 out of 500000 steps  (2%)
[15:58:59] Completed 15000 out of 500000 steps  (3%)
[16:08:47] Completed 20000 out of 500000 steps  (4%)
[16:18:31] Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps  (5%)
[17:00:50] CoreStatus = C0000029 (-1073741783)
[17:00:50] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0xc0000029
[17:00:50] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
[17:01:06] Trying to send all finished work units
[17:01:06] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[17:01:06] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[17:01:06] Cleaning up work directory
[17:01:06] + Attempting to get work packet
[17:01:07] Passkey found
[17:01:07] - Will indicate memory of 1917 MB
[17:01:07] - Connecting to assignment server
[17:01:07] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[17:01:08] Posted data.
[17:01:08] Initial: 8F80; - Successful: assigned to (128.143.199.96).
[17:01:08] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[17:01:08] Loaded queue successfully.
[17:01:09] Sent data
[17:01:09] Connecting to http://128.143.199.96:8080/
[17:01:10] Posted data.
[17:01:10] Initial: 0000; - Receiving payload (expected size: 1769560)
[17:01:22] - Downloaded at ~144 kB/s
[17:01:22] - Averaged speed for that direction ~150 kB/s
[17:01:22] + Received work.
[17:01:22] + Closed connections
[17:01:27]
[17:01:27] + Processing work unit
[17:01:27] Core required: FahCore_a3.exe
[17:01:27] Core found.
[17:01:27] Working on queue slot 02 [September 12 17:01:27 UTC]
[17:01:27] + Working ...
[17:01:28] - Calling '.\FahCore_a3.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 02 -np 4 -checkpoint 15 -forceasm -verbose -lifeline 1864 -version 630'

[17:01:28]
[17:01:28] *------------------------------*
[17:01:28] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[17:01:28] Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
[17:01:28]
[17:01:28] Preparing to commence simulation
[17:01:28] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
[17:01:29] - Not checking prior termination.
[17:01:29] - Expanded 1769048 -> 1957708 (decompressed 110.6 percent)
[17:01:29] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=1769048 data_size=1957708, decompressed_data_size=1957708 diff=0
[17:01:29] - Digital signature verified
[17:01:29]
[17:01:29] Project: 6973 (Run 0, Clone 109, Gen 180)
[17:01:29]
[17:01:29] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[17:01:29] Entering M.D.
[17:01:34] Mapping NT from 4 to 4
[17:01:35] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps  (0%)
[18:51:18] CoreStatus = C0000005 (-1073741819)
[18:51:18] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0xc0000005
[18:51:18] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
[18:51:21] Killing all core threads
[18:51:21] Killing 3 cores
[18:51:21] Killing core 0
[18:51:21] Killing core 1
[18:51:22] Killing core 2

Folding@Home Client Shutdown at user request.
[18:51:22] ***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2)
[18:51:22] Killing all core threads
[18:51:22] Killing 3 cores
[18:51:22] Killing core 0
[18:51:22] Killing core 1
[18:51:22] Killing core 2

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.


Image
shunter
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:22 am
Location: Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:15 pm

I have no idea what's going on here, but have you tried V7, the latest generation of the F@h software? Not sure what OS you are running, but it's recommended for Windows, and works fairly well under Linux. It has a nice GUI, so if you're interested you might like it better than v6. Download on the main page: http://folding.stanford.edu
Pen tester at Cigital/Synopsys
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby P5-133XL » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:27 pm

0xC0000005 is a Windows error implying that an application is trying to access memory that it is not entitled to. It is commonly a sign that you have some bad RAM or your memory controller is having an issue.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby 7im » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:35 pm

I think we can reel this one in. ;) Please start by updating to version 6.34 of the SMP client. Anything less will have work assignment problems.

http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011/11/not-getting-smp-wus-heres-a-fix.html
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby Leonardo » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:10 am

shunter, go ahead and update to v7. I, too, was a holdout, not moving out of 6.34 (Windows) until just a couple months ago. I have to admit, v7 has been a pleasant experience. Now as to my Linux clients...
Image
User avatar
Leonardo
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:09 am
Location: Eagle River, Alaska

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby shunter » Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:46 am

Thanks for the help. I'm running 6.34 and have been since 7im & co answered my last problem. I've tried the new version on a Linux pc but got nowhere as everything was hidden and I could not access the ip address so gave up as I prefer the older methods for the moment.
Anyway looks as though its more serious and is a pc issue as the system has now crashed twice since I first posted and MS indicate motherboard / RAM issues as noted above so will have to start going down that avenue.
Many thanks
Shunter
shunter
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:22 am
Location: Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby bollix47 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:06 am

[17:01:28] - Calling '.\FahCore_a3.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 02 -np 4 -checkpoint 15 -forceasm -verbose -lifeline 1864 -version 630'



According to the log you supplied you're running 6.30, not 6.34. Either you started an old client or your client hasn't been updated.

Upgrading should solve your problems but If it doesn't help and you're having other problems that point to memory try taking your memory sticks out and cleaning the contacts with something like a pencil eraser. Might sound a bit weird but I've seen it clear up memory problems in the past. Could have been just the re-seating of the memory though.

A search for "MPIDU_Sock_post_connect" shows numerous posts about this problem related to deino and MPICH but 6.34 doesn't use those technologies so those error messages should disappear or will be just cosmetic errors.

http://www.google.ca/search?q=MPIDU_Soc ... l=en&meta=
bollix47
 
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby Napoleon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:58 am

P5-133XL wrote:0xC0000005 is a Windows error implying that an application is trying to access memory that it is not entitled to. It is commonly a sign that you have some bad RAM or your memory controller is having an issue.

Apologies for being a thread resurrectionist, but the quoted post got referenced from a more recent topic. So here goes nothing... you could also compile and execute a complex program like:
Code: Select all
// Foobar.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
#include "stdafx.h"

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
   // "Accidentally" writing past last array index ==> 0xC0000005
   unsigned *a = new unsigned[10];
   a[10000] = 0xDEAD;
   return 1;
}


Then take a look at Windows Event Viewer after Foobar.exe has crashed... yep, you guessed it. :wink:

- EventData

Foobar.exe
0.0.0.0
50fe4ee1
Foobar.exe
0.0.0.0
50fe4ee1
c0000005
00001007
10d24
01cdf87b32ba492c


Granted, FahCores got to be thoroughly tested and debugged, so one's first instinct is to suggest a RAM/OC problem. I'm just implying that "commonly" isn't the same as "always". :wink:
Win7 64bit, FAH v7, OC'd
2C/4T Atom330 3x667MHz - GT430 2x832.5MHz - ION iGPU 3x466.7MHz
NaCl - Core_15 - display
User avatar
Napoleon
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:31 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Fah crashing with Client-core communications error: ERRO

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:57 pm

Napoleon wrote:Granted, FahCores got to be thoroughly tested and debugged, so one's first instinct is to suggest a RAM/OC problem. I'm just implying that "commonly" isn't the same as "always". :wink:


Very true.

Error c0000005 has most frequently been identified with memory / overclocking errors, and they have the advantage of being something that can be fixed by the Donor. It also has been reported to be associated with specific corrupt WUs which apparently cause the FahCore to attempt to improperly reference invalid memory locations. (If this happens repeatedly on the same WU, your Moderators will report a corrupt WU and remove it from distribution, but that requires checking the database, which the Donor cannot do.) An actual bug in Gromacs is the least likely possiblity because it would be highly repeatable and that would have been found more quickly than a corrupt WU.
bruce
 
Posts: 20837
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to V6.34Beta SMP2 with passkey [Not Bigadv]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron