GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed[solved-GPU id issue]

If you think it might be a driver problem, see viewforum.php?f=79

Moderators: slegrand, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed[solved-GPU id issue]

Postby DownshiftArtist » Sun May 04, 2014 12:24 am

Ok, from the beginning

1. Folding for over a week on my new GTX 570 averaging about 20,000 PPD.

2. I needed a second card to run a third display so I installed a GTX 260, not for folding, in the lowest PCIe slot on my MB

3. I booted up and installed latest drivers on the 260. Once my displays were set, I opened F@H client which immediately started folding on my 260 instead of my 570.

4 I discovered that the 260 somehow usurped the GPU 0 slot in F@H (??)

5. Deleted the GPU slot on my client and created a new one for the 570, with the same exact settings as before

6. Now my 570 only does < 9,000 PPD.
Last edited by DownshiftArtist on Thu May 15, 2014 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby PantherX » Sun May 04, 2014 2:46 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum DownshiftArtist,

What F@H client version are you using? Also, please post the log file which contains the system configuration and F@H settings (viewtopic.php?f=59&t=26036).

What was your driver version when only GTX 570 was installed in your system? After you added GTX 260, what was the driver version you installed? Have you ensured from GPU-Z (or any GPU monitoring application) that the WUs fold on GTX 570 and not GTX 260?
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby 7im » Sun May 04, 2014 2:58 am

Nv drivers newer than 327.xx are known to fold much slower. Install the 327 drivers for your card.

Nv is working on a fix. So is fah.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Sun May 04, 2014 9:36 pm

PantherX wrote:Welcome to the F@H Forum DownshiftArtist,

What F@H client version are you using? Also, please post the log file which contains the system configuration and F@H settings (viewtopic.php?f=59&t=26036).

What was your driver version when only GTX 570 was installed in your system? After you added GTX 260, what was the driver version you installed? Have you ensured from GPU-Z (or any GPU monitoring application) that the WUs fold on GTX 570 and not GTX 260?


I didn't think of that before but you are correct, the FAH Client, 7.4.4 thinks it's on the 570, but it's folding on the 260. But when I tell it to fold on the "260", it doesn't fold at all, just stays at 0.0%. I also tried doing a clean install of 7.3.6 but it's the same exact problem.

I'm using the same drivers from before the 260 install, the 335.23, but I may try rolling back to the 327.xx as 7im suggested.
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby P5-133XL » Sun May 04, 2014 11:05 pm

Could you please copy&paste the log specifically including the system and config portions? You may need to click refresh to get the system and config portions.

You can manually fiddle with opencl-index and gpu-index values to get the slots to work as you want them to with the current installation. However, it would probably be easier if you simply let the current WU's finish (click the finish button in the advanced control) and then re-install the entire folding client (do not save the data for that will keep the current config) and let the install process rediscover the the video cards.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Sun May 04, 2014 11:49 pm

P5-133XL wrote:Could you please copy&paste the log specifically including the system and config portions? You may need to click refresh to get the system and config portions.

You can manually fiddle with opencl-index and gpu-index values to get the slots to work as you want them to with the current installation. However, it would probably be easier if you simply let the current WU's finish (click the finish button in the advanced control) and then re-install the entire folding client (do not save the data for that will keep the current config) and let the install process rediscover the the video cards.


Current log after re-installing 7.4.4
Code: Select all
23:46:00:Saving configuration to config.xml
23:46:00:<config>
23:46:00:  <!-- Network -->
23:46:00:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
23:46:00:
23:46:00:  <!-- User Information -->
23:46:00:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
23:46:00:  <team v='37726'/>
23:46:00:  <user v='DownshiftArtist'/>
23:46:00:
23:46:00:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
23:46:00:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
23:46:00:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'/>
23:46:00:</config>
23:46:00:WU00:FS00:Slot ID 0 no longer exists and not yet downloaded, dumping
23:46:00:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
23:46:24:Saving configuration to config.xml
23:46:24:<config>
23:46:24:  <!-- Network -->
23:46:24:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
23:46:24:
23:46:24:  <!-- User Information -->
23:46:24:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
23:46:24:  <team v='37726'/>
23:46:24:  <user v='DownshiftArtist'/>
23:46:24:
23:46:24:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
23:46:24:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
23:46:24:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'/>
23:46:24:</config>
23:46:37:WU02:FS02:0x15:Finished fah_main status=59
23:46:37:WU02:FS02:0x15:mdrun_gpu returned 59
23:46:37:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU memtest failure
23:46:37:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:46:37:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@home Core Shutdown: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR
23:46:38:WARNING:WU02:FS02:FahCore returned: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR (124 = 0x7c)
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:Starting
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Family/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah/FahCore_15.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 2632 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 1 -gpu-vendor nvidia
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:Started FahCore on PID 4600
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:Core PID:4696
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:FahCore 0x15 started
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:*------------------------------*
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@Home GPU Core
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Version                2.25 (Wed May 9 17:03:01 EDT 2012)
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Build host             AmoebaRemote
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Board Type             NVIDIA/CUDA
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Core                   15
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device info vendor=0 device=0 name=NA match=0 deviceId=1
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Window's signal control handler registered.
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Preparing to commence simulation
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Looking at optimizations...
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=02/wudata_01.ckp
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Created dyn
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Files status OK
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Expanded 124478 -> 503186 (decompressed 404.2 percent)
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=124478 data_size=503186, decompressed_data_size=503186 diff=0
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Digital signature verified
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Project: 7627 (Run 19, Clone 0, Gen 71)
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Assembly optimizations on if available.
23:46:38:WU02:FS02:0x15:Entering M.D.
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:Tpr hash 02/wudata_01.tpr:  2054105036 1578141803 2005172731 4130713685 2128584856
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device id=1
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:Working on Protein
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:Client config unavailable.
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:Starting GUI Server
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:Finished fah_main status=59
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:mdrun_gpu returned 59
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU memtest failure
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@home Core Shutdown: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR
23:47:43:WARNING:WU02:FS02:FahCore returned: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR (124 = 0x7c)
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:Starting
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Family/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah/FahCore_15.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 2632 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 1 -gpu-vendor nvidia
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:Started FahCore on PID 7700
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:Core PID:4448
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:FahCore 0x15 started
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:*------------------------------*
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@Home GPU Core
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Version                2.25 (Wed May 9 17:03:01 EDT 2012)
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Build host             AmoebaRemote
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Board Type             NVIDIA/CUDA
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Core                   15
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device info vendor=0 device=0 name=NA match=0 deviceId=1
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Window's signal control handler registered.
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Preparing to commence simulation
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Looking at optimizations...
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=02/wudata_01.ckp
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Created dyn
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Files status OK
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Expanded 124478 -> 503186 (decompressed 404.2 percent)
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=124478 data_size=503186, decompressed_data_size=503186 diff=0
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Digital signature verified
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Project: 7627 (Run 19, Clone 0, Gen 71)
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Assembly optimizations on if available.
23:47:44:WU02:FS02:0x15:Entering M.D.
23:47:46:WU02:FS02:0x15:Tpr hash 02/wudata_01.tpr:  2054105036 1578141803 2005172731 4130713685 2128584856
23:47:46:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device id=1
23:47:46:WU02:FS02:0x15:Working on Protein
23:47:46:WU02:FS02:0x15:Client config unavailable.
23:47:46:WU02:FS02:0x15:Starting GUI Server



same issue as before. Currently folding on the 260 but for whatever reason thinks it's folding on the 570.
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby P5-133XL » Mon May 05, 2014 1:42 am

Again, I'm telling you it is much easier to Finish the WU's (Click finish in the advanced control and wait for them to stop processing the current WU's) then re-install from scratch (do not save data) which forces the install to re-detect everything, than fixing this manually. However, If you want to do this manually, I need the system portion of the log, as well, to be able to instruct you in the process to fix this manually and even then there will be a certain amount of fiddle because I can not tell which GPU is where (6 possible settings for 2 GPU's). Click refresh in the log tab and you should be able to scroll up to the top which is where the system portion resides.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby PinHead » Mon May 05, 2014 3:50 am

As P5-133XL mentioned there is not enough of the log to see which card is assigned to FS02.

But it seems you might have a memory issue.
Code: Select all
23:46:40:WU02:FS02:0x15:Starting GUI Server
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:Finished fah_main status=59
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:mdrun_gpu returned 59
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU memtest failure
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:
23:47:43:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@home Core Shutdown: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR
23:47:43:WARNING:WU02:FS02:FahCore returned: GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR (124 = 0x7c)


If you OC, you might want to back off some while you get the slots sorted out.
PinHead
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:43 am

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby P5-133XL » Mon May 05, 2014 5:12 am

Pinhead,

There was a good reason why v6 needed a flag to separate Kepler from Fermi. If the client is incorrectly identifying the cards then the wrong core can end up being used and thus producing memory errors and failing. So I would not yet jump to the conclusion that the Memtest error is a HW problem.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Mon May 05, 2014 12:06 pm

P5-133XL wrote:Again, I'm telling you it is much easier to Finish the WU's (Click finish in the advanced control and wait for them to stop processing the current WU's) then re-install from scratch (do not save data) which forces the install to re-detect everything, than fixing this manually. However, If you want to do this manually, I need the system portion of the log, as well, to be able to instruct you in the process to fix this manually and even then there will be a certain amount of fiddle because I can not tell which GPU is where (6 possible settings for 2 GPU's). Click refresh in the log tab and you should be able to scroll up to the top which is where the system portion resides.


I did a complete uninstall before reinstalling. And when I say COMPLETE,that includes data and registry entries. I can't wait for it to "finish" because that will take nearly 2 days. It still can't seem to identify the two cards correctly. It has GPU 0 as the 260 and GPU 1 as the 570 but its the opposite. The only way it can correctly identify where the 570 is, is if I uninstall the 260. But as soon at the 260 is back in the mix again, it somehow forgets where everything is.

As for the log, FS00 was my CPU but I don't fold on that because it crashes my computer for some reason, so I removed the slot. FS01 is s the 570, but it keeps folding on the 260 and FS02 is the "260" but can't seem to work as it's using the wrong core (I'm assuming) for a 570, which is what the slot actually is.

Is there any other way to tell the client what hardware is where other than "auto-detect"?
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby 7im » Mon May 05, 2014 2:12 pm

Yes. P5 will be along shortly to provide a link to the Fredfoobar post that has those instructions. Please install GPU-Z while we wait.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Mon May 05, 2014 2:51 pm

Already have GPU-Z installed. I have that, HWmonitor and MSI Afterburner.
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby bollix47 » Mon May 05, 2014 3:19 pm

Image
bollix47
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Mon May 05, 2014 4:06 pm

bollix47 wrote:https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=199379#p199379



Awesome! I'll give this a try tonight, thanks!
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: GTX 570 Folding at less than half speed suddenly

Postby DownshiftArtist » Tue May 06, 2014 1:01 am

Worked like a charm :) Thanks again, everyone, for the help.
DownshiftArtist
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:41 pm

Next

Return to V6 GPU3 beta (including Fermi) OpenMM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron