Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby kylewingate » Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:30 am

I'm stuck. Normally I would just run folding in the GUI. However, I am unable to get to the desktop from where I am. So, I would like to run remotely from somewhere else. I followed the how to guide, but get stuck when trying to untar the file. Here are the results I get when trying:

tar -xzf FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

I am running on a new mac pro with 10.5.6, i think.
kylewingate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:12 am

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby susato » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:37 pm

Hello kyle and welcome to the forum!

Rather than untarring the file at the destination, can you download and untar it where you are, fix the permissions if necessary, (chmod +x fah6) and then copy the executable over the network to the correct directory on the MP? It's not that big, 316 Kb.
susato
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby kylewingate » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:52 am

Might be able to do that. I will try. Thanks for the response.

I also now have a new problem. I tried the Gui with InCrease. I have not been able to get InCrease to control the client, but that doesn't seem to be that big. The big problem that increase shows is this:

-------- FAHlog.txt tail of Unit at ~/Library/Folding@home --------
###############################################################################

Folding@Home Client Version 6.24R1

http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /Users/kyle/Library/Folding@home
Executable: /Applications/Folding@home.app/fah6


[07:42:17] - Ask before connecting: No
[07:42:17] - Proxy: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80
[07:42:17] - User name: anonymous (Team 0)
[07:42:17] - User ID: 2F2F204A61766153
[07:42:17] - Machine ID: 1
[07:42:17]
[07:42:17] Loaded queue successfully.
[07:42:17] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[07:42:17] Cleaning up work directory
[07:42:17] + Attempting to get work packet
[07:42:17] - Connecting to assignment server
[07:42:17] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server response
[07:42:17] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server 2 response
[07:42:17] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[07:42:17] - Attempt #1 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[07:42:33] + Attempting to get work packet
[07:42:33] - Connecting to assignment server
[07:42:33] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server response
[07:42:33] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server 2 response
[07:42:33] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[07:42:33] - Attempt #2 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[07:42:49] + Attempting to get work packet
[07:42:49] - Connecting to assignment server
[07:42:49] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server response
[07:42:49] + Could not authenticate Assignment Server 2 response
[07:42:49] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[07:42:49] - Attempt #3 to get work failed, and no other work to do.


And it keeps going and going and going. Some of my buddies are currently folding, and I might ask them if there was a special set up to get this to work. We use a web http proxy, but don't control it, and that has already caused me some problems. Any ideas on what I can change?

Edit: Had to take out the proxy address.
kylewingate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:12 am

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:23 am

The current version of FAH does not work successfully with many modern proxies. The only support currently available is for a proxy with basic authentication or no authentication and most modern proxies insist on one of the more advanced authentication methods.

Some people have been able to circumvent that problem by installing a local proxy on their machine. FAH can talk to that local proxy without authentication and the local proxy can authenticate itself with your main proxy.
bruce
 
Posts: 21407
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby kylewingate » Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:34 am

Hadn't thought about doing that bruce. It looks like it wasn't the proxy, but a firewall in this lab I am sitting in. I was able to get set up in front of it, and a buddy helped me set up the command line version. I AM FOLDING NOW! WOOT!

Thanks for all the advice.

Kyle
kylewingate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:12 am

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby susato » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:50 pm

Great news Kyle - Delighted to see that you've solved that firewall problem and that you're already Folding away. It won't be long before that first work unit goes home to Stanford... maybe as soon as this afternoon, if you're folding with the -smp 8 flag.

Once you get a bit of experience Folding with that snazzy new Mac, please do consider adding other machines in your lab. The more the merrier!
susato
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby chriswadams » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:39 pm

I'm having the same problem as the OP, except I'm trying to install FAH locally, on a machine running Bodhi Linux (an Ubuntu derivative). I tried unzipping the 'FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz' file, on a second OS (Fedora 15 - LXDE) and got the same results:

Code: Select all
gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors


Any suggestions?

Chris Adams
chriswadams
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby calxalot » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:57 pm

use gunzip
calxalot
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby Hyperlife » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:10 pm

The following worked fine on one of my Ubuntu rigs:

Code: Select all
tar -zxf FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz

Maybe your file is corrupted somehow? If it doesn't work, can you run the following and post the result:

Code: Select all
md5sum FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz
Image
User avatar
Hyperlife
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:38 am

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby codysluder » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:52 pm

Welcome to the FAH support forum. chriswadams.

\You might try the V7 beta which comes as a .dmg
viewtopic.php?f=67&t=19795
codysluder
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby chriswadams » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:02 am

Hyperlife --

Here is the md5sum for the FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz file:
4ed7319ecbfac3ac3c26220e3ac849ea

I couldn't find a md5 checksum anywhere on the FAH site.

To codysluder:

Thanks for the welcome! It's nice to be here.

-- chriswadams.
chriswadams
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby 7im » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:21 am

MD5s are on the right hand column of the Client Download page. (See link at the top of this page)

P.S. The MD5 you posted doesn't match what's on the DL page.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Can't extract FAH6.24.1-OSX-Intel-Console.tgz

Postby chriswadams » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:53 pm

7im,

Unbelievable. As usual, the best place to hide something from me is right in front of my face! :oops:

Thanks 7im!
Chris A.
chriswadams
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:59 pm


Return to Intel Mac V6 client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron