Where are the big units

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Where are the big units

Postby WBG4 » Wed May 04, 2011 4:12 pm

OEOTS wrote:you might have set them to -Bigadv, but they won't run it ;) as there is a minimum of 8 cores (reported by OS) for -bigadv, so they will doing regular SMP's

Good to know!


Right now I am not getting any work units :( I'm getting

"[13:18:15] - Connecting to assignment server
[13:18:15] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[13:18:16] Posted data.
[13:18:16] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[13:18:16] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[13:18:16] - Attempt to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry."

Lame
Image
User avatar
WBG4
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo CA

Re: Where are the big units

Postby bruce » Wed May 04, 2011 4:23 pm

New projects will be released "soon"
("soon" is intentionally undefined on this forum).
bruce
 
Posts: 21416
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Where are the big units

Postby SpockLogic » Wed May 04, 2011 8:04 pm

bruce wrote:New projects will be released "soon"
("soon" is intentionally undefined on this forum).


That must be the forum's equivalent of "Your check's in the mail". :D

Currently I've got an 8 core MacPro and a 4 core i7 Hackintosh that have been sitting idle for over 7 hours waiting for work.
SpockLogic
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:51 pm
Location: On the edge of insanity.

Re: Where are the big units

Postby 7im » Wed May 04, 2011 8:46 pm

Not quite. Usually the check never arrives. Here, the "soon" does eventually arrive. ;)
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Where are the big units

Postby WBG4 » Wed May 04, 2011 9:46 pm

Let's hope I am now almost to 90 machines sitting idle :(
User avatar
WBG4
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo CA

Re: Where are the big units

Postby 7im » Wed May 04, 2011 10:42 pm

WBG4 wrote:Let's hope I am now almost to 90 machines sitting idle :(


http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=185541#p185541
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Where are the big units

Postby 7im » Thu May 05, 2011 12:20 am

Soon seems to now. ;)
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Where are the big units

Postby Joe_H » Fri May 06, 2011 2:13 am

7im wrote:Soon seems to now. ;)


You may have spoke too soon. The SMP server for OS X units has been being hammered for the last 10 hours or so with a load average of around 50. It has been in double digits and over 20 much of the last 24 hours. Makes it a bit hard to get a new unit.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Where are the big units

Postby 7im » Fri May 06, 2011 2:48 pm

WBG4 with 90 systems posted in another thread, and seemed to be getting work.

At least the server is up and has work units now, busy or not, it's an improvement. ;)

And once the spike in demand balances out over the next few days, it should be back to normal, soon enough. :lol:
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Where are the big units

Postby Joe_H » Fri May 06, 2011 3:29 pm

Yeah, it is getting back to "normal", hope it holds for a while. This server has been having this same problem periodically over the last month or two, though this last one was the worst I recall.

At least I am getting work again. Though it is still subject to waits. One machine I restarted last night got a WU right away, another took an hour before it finally connected. The first finished its unit and then took almost an hour before getting another this morning. At least that one will be steady for the next 24 hours, it was from Project 6040 taking 15-16min per frame.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Where are the big units

Postby Fully_Loaded » Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:35 pm

Still no big work units - so frustrating
Fully_Loaded
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:03 am

Re: Where are the big units

Postby Joe_H » Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:31 pm

Yeah, still no bigadv units as the OS X client is not available yet. But there is a shortage that is effecting the Linux and Windows bigadv folders now too.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Previous

Return to Intel Mac V6 client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron