Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby JediPearce » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:43 pm

I keep getting this message:
[18:02:19] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:02:19] Passkey found
[18:02:19] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:02:20] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:02:20] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:02:20] - Attempt #39 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.

Any ideas how to fix it?
JediPearce
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:41 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Macaholic » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:34 pm

Welcome. See this previous thread for help. :)
Fold! It does a body good!™
User avatar
Macaholic
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:57 pm
Location: 1 Infinite Loop

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:38 pm

There are some threads in this forum about going to the V7 beta if you are interested in that. If you want to stay with V6, if you do not have the "-advmethods" option set in your folding client, try adding that. Some of the projects for OS X and version 6 require that flag. You may also need to set the "-smp" flag.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby 7im » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:17 pm

Yep, must have v6.29 or higher, must use -smp (in v6.xx), and optionally adding -advmethods flag could help...

Also, showing us more of the log would help. The start up section with the ########### and right after that showing the user name, etc.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby McAddress » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:40 pm

Hello,

I'm stuck there too. Seems like it doesn't pick up WUs. My log follows, thanks!!!

Code: Select all
Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

2 cores detected


--- Opening Log file [February 1 21:17:31 UTC]


# Mac OS X SMP Console Edition ################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 6.29r1

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /Users/jm/Library/Folding@home
Executable: /Users/jm/Library/Folding@home/fah6
Arguments: -smp -verbosity 9

[21:17:31] - Ask before connecting: No
[21:17:31] - User name: doomster (Team 143016)
[21:17:31] - User ID: 1DB78CC02CD8A7FB
[21:17:31] - Machine ID: 1
[21:17:31]
[21:17:31] Work directory not found. Creating...
[21:17:31] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[21:17:31] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[21:17:31] Cleaning up work directory
[21:17:31] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:17:31] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:17:31] - Autosending finished units... [February 1 21:17:31 UTC]
[21:17:31] - Detect CPU.[21:17:31] Trying to send all finished work units
 Vendor: GenuineIntel, Family: 6, Model: 15, Stepping: 6
fah6(8083,0xb0501000) malloc: *** error for object 0xb04ff29c: pointer being freed was not allocated
*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
[21:17:31] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[21:17:31] - Autosend completed
[21:17:31] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:17:31] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:17:33] Posted data.
[21:17:33] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:17:33] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:17:33] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:17:51] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:17:51] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:17:51] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:17:51] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:17:52] Posted data.
[21:17:52] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:17:52] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:17:52] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:18:15] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:18:15] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:18:15] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:18:15] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:18:16] Posted data.
[21:18:16] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:18:16] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:18:16] - Attempt #3  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:18:45] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:18:45] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:18:45] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:18:45] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:18:46] Posted data.
[21:18:46] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:18:46] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:18:46] - Attempt #4  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:19:39] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:19:40] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:19:40] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:19:40] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:19:40] Posted data.
[21:19:40] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:19:40] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:19:40] - Attempt #5  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:21:02] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:21:02] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:21:02] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:21:02] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:21:03] Posted data.
[21:21:03] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:21:03] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:21:03] - Attempt #6  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:23:50] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:23:50] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:23:50] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:23:50] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:23:51] Posted data.
[21:23:51] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:23:51] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:23:51] - Attempt #7  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[21:29:15] + Attempting to get work packet
[21:29:15] - Will indicate memory of 3072 MB
[21:29:15] - Connecting to assignment server
[21:29:15] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[21:29:16] Posted data.
[21:29:16] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[21:29:16] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[21:29:16] - Attempt #8  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
McAddress
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:33 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:42 pm

Welcome to foldingforum.org, McAddress.

7im wrote:... adding -advmethods flag could help...
bruce
 
Posts: 21420
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Ravage7779 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:15 am

-smp without a qualifier on osx is redundant. It's smp folding all the time or nothing, -smp flag or not. The only time it is useful is if you want to run fewer than the max number of cpu cores. -advmethods is almost always recommended with the v6 client for os x, working well or not.

If I remember right, your client is out of date. Think the latest was 6.29r3. Try updating, adding the -advmethods flag as suggested and see what you get.
Get more Mac OS X folding help from the friendly experts @ http://www.foldingathome.org/index.html
Image
User avatar
Ravage7779
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:25 am

For the console client the latest version is what he has, 6.29r1. Last I checked there were no changes to the actual client executable between that and the one provided in the full installer for console and Control Panel that is listed as 6.29r3.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby McAddress » Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:25 am

Adding the -advmethods did the trick. I am folding! Thanks!!!

I have also installed InCrease which makes it easy to check status and stuff but it doesn't control anything (for example: Start, Stop, Edit Unit Configuration are all greyed out. Do you happen to know why? (not sure if I should post a new topic for this). Thanks anyway!
McAddress
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:33 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Ravage7779 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:36 am

I have a big huge thread on the team board that explains how to set up increase complete with pics to walk u thru the whole shebang. A good idea to read the whole thing before starting, it covers a lot of ground.
User avatar
Ravage7779
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby iRateGamer! » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:38 pm

How do you add the "-advmethods" flag on a mac? Help me!? Google didn't help at all so you all are my only hope!
iRateGamer!
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:21 am

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Joe_H » Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:14 pm

Using the V6 folding client, in the Folding@home control panel in System Preferences stop Folding. Then go to the Advanced tab. Add -advmethods to the "Extra parameters" line. Restart folding.

If you are using folding from a command line in Terminal, then the command is fah6 -advmethods.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3896
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby iRateGamer! » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:13 pm

It doesn't seem to be working as it takes me to a new command window... This is what I get:
-bash: fah6 -advmethods: command not found
iRateGamer!
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:21 am

Re: Folding @ Home "Can't get work instructions."

Postby Ravage7779 » Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:20 am

try ./fah6 -advmethods -verbosity 9
User avatar
Ravage7779
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:42 pm


Return to Intel Mac V6 client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron